We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views and good food”

Ben Lomond Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Views and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant has fantastic views over the lake to the remarkables and serves the seafood chowder to die for. The staff and service was fantastic and I would recommend stopping for a meal here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tunn-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to begin the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Large room and well located with a very beautiful view ont the Wakatipu Lake. A good cuisine served by a comprehensive a competitive staff. We were in the Rydges Lakeland during January 2010.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I loved the food, I love the tranquility of dining on the sixth floor with a magnificent lake view. An amazing way to start the day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Efficient Service.. Almost :) Good food :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We tried this restaurant on my partner's birthday.. They served the food in just a few minutes after ordering and that was impressive:) seafood marinara was "ok" .. Big serving too! But the steak, although perfectly cooked was too small for its price.. Their desserts are yummy but it was a bit sad that they did not make an effort to write a small "happy birthday" decoration on the plate since i hinted to the waitress that it was my partner's bday and were visiting from wellington! One waitress forgot to attend to us back and totally forgot we wanted a menu :( but overall it was a nice experience ..great view! Didn't think they deserve any "tip" though :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mykiemyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast and Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Breakfast was average, could do better with fresh fruit eg watermelon, all melons. Bacon was poor quality.
Dinner was excellent at all times.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ben Lomond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing