We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Wine Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bardeaux

Bardeaux
Ranked #77 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An iconic bar and the perfect intimate venue to enjoy a true Queenstown experience... This sumptuous up-market venue is all about service, the huge open fire, knowledgeable staff and great music. Bardeaux’s extensive wine and cocktail menu only adds to the elegant ambience. The range of local Pinot’s is eclectic, backed up by a cellar of vintage wines and champagnes. This bar is sultry and seductive; sitting among all the party and dance bars. Bardeaux is a haven for those who want a night out with friends or a relaxing wine by the big fire after a day on the slopes!
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy Wine Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Bardeaux on the last night of our stay in Queenstown. It was very classy and there was a very cosy open fire burning. There was a wonderful selection of wine,
we'd definitely go back here when next we visit Queenstown

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fire, great music, great bar staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had a brilliant night here, sitting in the comfy leather chairs by the fire, great drinks list - every scotch whiskey you could ever want and great cocktails too. They had a great music playlist -bands - 60's, 70's, 80's

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mazzietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible choice and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Really nice wine bar. Superb atmosphere and a very knowledgable bar man. Great selection of quality wines.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place is right up there as one of the best wine bars I have been too. The atmosphere is great and the selection of food and wine is great. I could only wish it was closer to my home- i would be there every week.

It is not cheap but would definitely recommend it as a bit of a treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellie526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have visited Bardeaux for years but our visit this year was particularly good. In the past we felt that sometimes the customers got in the way of the staff having a good time but the bartender this year was terrific. He had menus out and ready for us as soon as we settled in, the music was laid back and at the right level. Very relaxing atmosphere and set the mood for the evening. When we left we were farewelled and asked invited to come back! Excellent service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balmaingirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardeaux also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Bardeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing