We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place toStay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LakeRidge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place toStay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Loved lake ridge condos! 5 of us stayed here for 8 days and we loved it! easy, close to downtown, well set up, warm. I would recommend to anyone. Views were a knockout! We could walk downtown (my mum had to cab it back). Parking aok after a few practices

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holdend260773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
Wonderful to read that you found LakeRidge Queenstown a 'fantastic place to stay'. Thank you for passing on your comments of the easy walk to town, well provisioned and warm apartment and knockout views for other readers. We welcome you to stay again. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    23
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
84
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a fabulous apartment 10 mins walk into the heart of Queenstown . Very comfortable and warm with a fully equipped kitchen so perfect for a week with the family.
Definitely recommended and we'd stay again if we came skiing again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
Many thanks from management and staff for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all feedback as this enables us to fine tune the services and systems we have in place to ensure guests have as comfortable and relaxing a stay as possible and leave the apartment with high recommendations and wanting to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had 2.5 weeks in New Zealand and we had booked similar apartments for all nights in various parts of the country. However, I am pleased to say that our three night stay in Lakeridge Condos topped our list.

I had previously requested for Apartment 8/9 in my booking for the unblocked views but I understand that probably everyone else requested for the same as well. We got Apartment 4. This was no issue. The master bedroom in Apartment 4 had partial views of the lake, and the views from the living room upstairs were largely unblocked and spectacular nonetheless.

Parking space in the garage was tight for a 4WD but secure. The private garage does not link to the apartment itself so we had to go round the house and enter through the front door.

The kitchen was very clean and fully equipped with crockery enough for 6. Cooking oil, salt, pepper and washing detergent were provided- something I did not find in many apartments I booked with.

WIFI was restricted to 1GB per day, unrestricted number of users. This was sufficient for checking emails and replying whatsapp messages on our mobile phones but it ran out very quickly when I surfed on my laptop. Extra data is available at an additional cost.

I tend to refrain from checking my emails while on holiday and we were 12 days into our trip in NZ when I realised that there was no check-in counter at Lakeridge Condos. A kind neighbour informed us it is a self-check-in process and that we would have received an email with our apartment number and passcode. True enough, there was an email sent to me with these details exactly 12 days prior to our check-in. -- a note to those who may have this habit like me.

The apartment is self-managed. However, cleaning services are available at an additional cost. The service desk is reachable from 0800-2000hrs via the phone in the living room.

Our beds were soft and comfy. Two of the three bedrooms had a TV as well. The bathrooms had under floor heating. One of the bathrooms even had a jacuzzi. Overall, the apartment was well heated during our winter stay and there was a nice fireplace by the living room. Our huge living room was also furnished with an 8-seater sofa and a large couch. There was a DVD player and bluetooth speakers but DVDs are not provided, so bring your own (USB possible). The washing machine and dryer were from Fisher & Paykel and did its job well.

The property is a good 10mins walk to city centre, however the steep uphill climb back may not be so pleasurable for some. I suggest driving if possible- we did not find parking in town a problem. Free parking is available for specific durations- check the signboards.

Our bus pickup point for the Milford Sound tour with Mitre Peak was at Crowne Plaza, just opposite the Real Journeys office. Again, about 10 mins walk.

Overall, a very good stay. New, clean, luxurious, great location and views, and wallet-friendly. Highly recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyjamaszzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
How wonderful that LakeRidge Queenstown topped your list of accommodation options during your NZ visit. All your feedback detailing the comfortable beds, fabulous views, apartment provisioning and location and proximity to downtown is greatly appreciated and the whole team is happy to share the credit. Thank you for your generous recommendation to other travellers. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our stay at Lake Ridge Condos was very comfortable. The space was adequate for the 6 of us ( 4 adults and 2 children) with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The property is in 3 levels with the garage at the bottom, the bedrooms above that and the kitchen, dining and lounge area at the top. We were in the condo at the front, (no 8) hence had unhindered views of the lake Wakatipu with the Remarkables in the background. Waking up to this view was just great. The weather on the days we were in Queenstown wasn't great, so could not sit on the balcony outside and enjoy the views. However the full glass frontage of the living room lets you see the amazing scenery from the comforts of the sofa. The kitchen was fully equipped to let you do any kind of cooking and there was enough cutlery for the 6 of us. The washer and dryer was useful too. The beds were very comfortable and enough towels, linen and toiletries were provided. The bedrooms are on the smallish side. We found the under floor heating alone to be inadequate, and needed the radiant heaters in the rooms to keep us warm. The location is walking distance from the center of Queenstown ( Shotover street is only 10 mins walk from here). The walk back into the condos is up a steep climb for about 50 - 75 meters. The whole process of booking was very efficient. There is no onsite reception. We did not find this to be a problem. There is no key pick up as entry is through electronic code. This makes check in a breeze. Overall this was one of the most comfortable stays during our 3 week tour of South Island. Would highly recommend this place especially for a larger group looking to have a relaxed, comfortable and luxurious stay.

Room Tip: Choose the front condos No 8 and No 7. They give unhindered complete views on to the lake. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
We very much appreciate your comments and take great pleasure that you had a most comfortable stay. We cannot thank you enough for your high praise of our well provisioned apartment, seamless booking processes and keyless access to the apartment which makes for easy check ins. Please do come to stay again when next you visit Queenstown. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Excellent property with magnificent views. Overall, very happy with our stay As there is no servicing of the apartments, the experience could have been better if the mngmt provides extra towels. Especially the bathroom can get wet and we had to bear with the dirty and wet floor towel for few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
Thank you Shirlene for taking the time to review LakeRidge Queenstown. The beautiful location is certainly one of the drawcards of LakeRidge Queenstown and we are very pleased that overall you were happy with your stay. We have taken note of your feedback regarding linen and re visit what is provided. The apartments washer/dryer is often useful situations like yours. We hope you return for another visit in the future. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Wonderful place with a large big living room and kitchen. Would definitely choose to stay here when I travel to Queenstown next time. Very close to the lake and one could have a good view of the lake from the apartment. The garage is a little tight for an SUV but it should not be a concern as there is plenty of parking on the street and very safe. The only thing I would change in the apartment are the beds. They cave in and you wake up with a back ache if you sleep in the wrong posture. The mattresses don't suit such a luxury accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for the condos that are right in the front of the lake from where you can have an un obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank srini3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and wonderful that you enjoyed the apartments' amenities, size and location. Thank you for your comments regarding the beds and we will certainly investigate further as this is the first such feedback we have had. In fact the vast majority of guests send compliments on the wonderful comfy beds.
Very pleasing to know you would choose to stay at LakeRidge Condos again when next you travel to Queenstown. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Six of us stayed here recently for 10 days in a three bedroom apartment (number 6). The view was amazing from the kitchen/lounge area. Kitchen was fully equipped (oven tray was however filthy and covered by foil!). Downstairs there are three bedrooms - main has ensuite which is quite small but not really of a big concern. Bathroom has spa and the toilet is separate. The third bedroom is very small to have two single beds - probably only really suitable for children who couldn’t care less! Apartment had adequate blankets, towels, heating etc. There is a washing machine and dryer which is handy also. The Condos are about 5 minutes walk into town however allow an extra 5 minutes if you choose to walk back as there is a bit of a hill to climb!!! (Think of it as good exercise!) Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Front Office Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Such a pleasure to read your great review - thank you. Glad that you found the apartment well provisioned and warm and also well located to the town centre. You were sure to have visited a good many attractions/restaurants during your 10 day stay. Nice to know that you would recommend the apartment to others and we hope if you are planning another visit to Queenstown that you will choose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, THE TEAM AT STAYSOUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeRidge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeRidge Queenstown

Property: LakeRidge Queenstown
Address: 51 Thompson St. | P. O. Box 446, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LakeRidge Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine 5-Star Qualmark rated luxury 3-bedroom self catering apartments. 5 minute walk to downtown Queenstown. Sleeps 6-7 people. Minimum night stay requirement varies from 2 to 7 depending on the time of year. Immaculately presented with underfloor heating, gas fire and large spa bath. 1GB Free WiFi per day per apartment. All condos have full views of the Remarkables Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu from the top floor - comprising a fully equipped chef's kitchen, dining area and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD and CD player, radio and IPod stereo connection. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. The 3 bedrooms and 2½ bathrooms are on the middle floor; a master king-double, a king-double (splittable) and a third twin/bunk room. The bed configuration can accommodate either 5 singles or 2 couples and 2 singles. The master bedroom has an en-suite bathroom with shower, basin and toilet. The second bathroom has a basin, shower and spa bath and there is a separate toilet with basin. Each condo has its own private garage on the ground floor, plus one off-street car park - all very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the door before putting the car away for the night! And a full laundry (sink, washing machine and dryer) is either in the garage or on the middle level. No keys are required for the condos - entry is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient and although there is no on-site Reception/staff support is available from your condo's VOIP phone. Baby equipment and a foldaway bed for a seventh person are availble upon request, at an additional nightly rate. Relax in front of the fire with a glass of local Pinot Noir, soak in the spa bath after a day in the mountains or just wind-down and admire a truly spectacular Queenstown sunset over the lake and mountains! Perfect for any season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your LakeRidge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeridge Condos Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing