We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views over the lake”

Scallywags Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scallywags Guest House
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was a great little find. Everything in town was busy and we really did want to stay in town. We ended up here and loved it. It is about 10 minutes pleasure walk into town along the hillside, so not really that far.

The views from this hostel are fantastic and the owner has lots of recommendations on what to do in town. The hostel is really clean and our double room had a large window alongside the whole room...

Great and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a double or twin room as they have the large windows with view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcF187393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Scallywags Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Intentionally looked for smaller hostel in queenstown rather than the rather impersonal experience of a large bland hostel. More through luck than judgement found scallywags and within 2 hours decided to stay twice as long than I ever expected to in queenstown. Genuinely felt like I was part of a family away from home, the people who stayed there, but primarily because of Even who never made me feel less than welcome and always had time to talk and did so to late into the night. A man who every traveller can learn from as to live a full life, to say he is a character is a understatement of the highest order. The hostel itself is clean, tidy. has to have the best bunks in new Zealand, and ultimately a fitting reflection of the man himself!
Really couldn't recommend it highly enough, somewhere that will leave a lasting impression rather than just another hostel you stayed at. Thanks Even for the experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I spent some of my most memorable, relaxing and special time in NZ at this place and wouldn't have had it without this hostel. First of all there were the people staying there and Evan, the owner, who made this a really nice expierence. Evan is a Queenstown local and has tons of knowledge about what to do, from the best hiking trails to where to go skydiving. He knows all of his guests by name and introduces the guests to each other. Be prepared to get a nickname. The beds are simply awesome for a BBH hostel, the best I've seen in this price range so far. The style of the house is special at first, but when you get into it, everything tells a story. If you search long enough you might recover the cardboard Queen Elizabeth from the living room on a photo, doing a bungee with Evan in the 90s... The kitchen is nice and clean, so are the bathrooms. Parking available, lockers in every room. There is no internet and I didn't miss it at all.

The view over the lake and the mountains is absolutely amazing. If you're into mountainbiking you can access the bikepark within 50m from the hostel. The walk to the city centre is 10 min.

Stay there, get into it. I booked one night and ended up staying five. Thank you Evan!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

At first I want to say thank you Evan for a really nice time in Queenstown. The Hostel is not like every other Hostel, it is not like a huge hostel where anybody is doing their own things. When you stay at “Scallywags” more than one night you will see what I mean. Ok, some people would say it’s looking old and you have no internet there. But everything what you can see over there tells a story of his live. And you can always ask him what about. I felt there not like in a hostel, it was more like a big family. Anyway, the hostel is really clean, the beds are perfect for a relaxed sleep and you will find everything in the kitchen what you need for your dinner. Maybe it is a little bit far from the city but for me is 10 min walking not that far. I think, of course he’s got a special personality and he is different but who doesn’t. It is really interesting to talk with him or just relax in the living room and listen to the stories of the others. I would stay anytime again at “Scallywags”! Thanks Evan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had a really good time in the Hostel! The beds are fantastic even for a 2m guy like me:) The kitchen is well equiped and the living room/dinning area invites to have a good talk with the other guests. Evan, the owner, is definetly a character but very friendly and knows all the good spots in queenstown...
I highly recommend it to everybody who doesnt like this anonymus Base- "stuff"
...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The positives about this hostel: it's a short walk from Queenstown bars without being in the midst of things, there is a great deck with a view of the lake and mountains, and everything is clean. Decorations and bedding are all pretty worn, and I don't think have changed since the 1970s.

But the overriding thing about this place is the crazy owner - he makes it hard to enjoy the space, and makes it uncomfortable to spend time there. He actually woke us up one morning, for no clear reason. Minimum night stay requirements appear arbitrary, and the owner's assorted monologues quickly wear on you. With different management, this could be a decent option in Queenstown - until that happens, best to avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChitownGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I stayed in this house for 2 nights. The conditions were reasonable for the price I paid (very small kitchen, few bathrooms, confortable bed).

But I definitely CANNOT recommend it. The owner is a complete MANIAC. He thinks he is doing the guests a favour for letting them stay there. Always walking around to see if you do anything wrong (he has the house full of rules and instructions for the guests, can you believe that, they are everywhere). And yeah, don't interrupt his dinner or his tv shows.. that is definitley a no-no.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank fmarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#41 of 58 in Queenstown
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Butterfli Lodge
Butterfli Lodge
#43 of 92 in Queenstown
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#13 of 92 in Queenstown
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alta Apartments
Alta Apartments
#41 of 92 in Queenstown
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Guest House

Address: 27A Lomond Crescent | PO Box 851, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Scallywags Guest House Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing