We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Fun!”
Review of Shotover Jet

Shotover Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.12*
and up
Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: World famous as the ultimate jet boating experience, Shotover Jet has thrilled over 3 million people since 1970, and now it's your turn! Take a unique breathtaking ride through dramatic and narrow Canyons, and hold on tight for Queenstown's only exhilarating full 360° spins. 'Can you handle the canyons?' with award winning Shotover Jet, 'The World's Most Exciting Jet Boating Ride' and the only company permitted to operate in the spectacular Shotover River Canyons.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
st louis mo
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am not a big fan of boats/water in general, but I knew that my husband would like this, so I signed up anyway. He LOVED it - you ride through a narrow canyon gorge in a VERY fast boat with a VERY skilled driver. He does all the work; you just have to sit there and hang on for the ride. You get minimally wet; a little spray from the water but your clothes and shoes don't get wet at all. If you like thrill rides you will love this, and the scenery is spectacular as a bonus! Would definitely do this again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,816
    584
    116
    39
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Thrill”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just like most others have said already--yes, it is a little expensive, but you do not want to miss this experience! Sure there are other jet boat rides that are cheaper and may last longer, but I do not see a way for them to be as thrilling and Shotover. The run through the canyon is amazing. If you can get past the pure thrill of being tossed around inches from the rock cliffs, take a second to look up/around, it's a beautiful area! The staff and our driver were great. We couldn't have asked for a better jet boat experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladenboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Exciting”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was a blast, it was pricey, but very much worth it. 30 minutes of pure excitement. If you don't do anything else make sure you make this the ride of choice

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msmikieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WOW and double WOW”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a bit expensive at $129 each but the ride is absolutely thrilling. Almost 30 minutes of screaming along almost touching cliff faces, rocks and gravel beds not to mention the 360 degree turns. They then seduce you with the chance of a second ride for $19 each if you book straight away. We just had to go for it. It is a very slick operation with photos before, the waving drive pass and the on board video cameras. When you arrive back your driver (oh I want his job) walks back to the shop with you to view your 3 minute video which has been intercut with stock aerial footage. Again a bit pricey at $59 a set for photos and DVD but as we are not likely to be back we succumbed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

An amazing ride in a boat that performs 360 degree turns in 2 seconds, and propels you towards rocks and canyon walls, yet manages to miss by a whisker. The driver is of course highly trained to make this very hazardous operation very safe indeed. It's a thrill a minute and well worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shotover Jet also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Shotover Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing