We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel. The view from the balcony was spectacular. We were able to watch the mountains go from clear, to fog, and then to snow capped. We were able to sit at a table to relax on the balcony, to drink coffee/tea, and to take in the awesome views. The hotel staff were friendly and nice. The room was clean and spacious. We had a nice spa tub, which was very relaxing. We were able to borrow a DVD from the lobby to watch on a rainy day. We were easily able to walk to town in about 10-15 minutes. We did laundry at the hotel. The only complaint is the dryer took at least 2 spins to completely dry our clothes (costing $4 per load). Note- We may have had a too large of load and be used to America's hot dryers. However, we were so thankful the hotel had laundry and that we didn't have to take our laundry far.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pineappledancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for your reviews and we appreciate your feedback regarding the laundry. We're constantly evaluating the facilities we offer our guests and will take this into consideration. We never tire of the lake and mountain views either. Thanks again, Kelly and Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived in the early afternoon for a 2 day stay. Room was spotless and comfortable. Walkway was outside the window so if you are enjoying the view people are walking by your windows. Other than that it is a great place to stay. It snowed so we didn't do much walking but town is a short walk.

Room Tip: Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We only have 16 units so we hope your view wasn't interrupted too much. Thanks again, Kelly and Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I used Trip Advisor reviews when lookinf for a motel in Queenstown the Alexis was exactly as I was expecting it to be! I was not disappointed in any way. The room was spacious, bright, clean and airy with a very adequate kitchenette. The view was absolutely fantastic! We enjoyed a walk along the lake and we walked to town every night for dinner. It is a 10-15 walk and up and down some fairly steep hills but it is not a problem if you are reasonably fit and healthy! I loved our stay at the Alexis motel and would definitely recommend it - great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We can show some less steep routes from town that take you through the park. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on all other fronts. Regards, Kelly and Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location, and lovely clean room. The manager was very helpful and friendy. I loved the location and the spectacular view. But all my partner could keep talking about was how clean the room was. We have stayed in plenty of top hotels that are not as clean as Alexis. Scoring it a 5, because we can not think of a single way our experience could have been improved.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our accommodation so it's great to have it acknowledged. Thanks for choosing to stay at Alexis. Kelly & Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

So glad we stayed at Alexis Motel, the autumn weather was fantastic and we had a great view of the golden trees and a clean blue lake! So nice to just walk down the hill and voila your at the lake! We went for walks every evening along the lake! Was so convenient. Walk to town was a bit further than you might like but still doable.The unit we had was quiet even though its near the main road, was equipped with everything we needed, and was very clean! My only bad point was that they only had space for four people by putting 2 beds in the lounge, which I was aware of, but not having your own space to get changed etc is kind of hard for more than one night, so I would probably book an extra room instead next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner unit it gets a truly spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thanks for your review Bella. We never tire of the views across the lake and we've been here for some time! We're sorry you felt you required some more space but we feel it does provide a cost effective solution for our visitors who don't have the budget for a second room. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Kelly and Adrienne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was our first night in NZ and the motel was easy to find from the airport on the main road into Queenstown. A nice friendly welcome from the hosts, who made sure everything was working properly and we had everything we needed. Very considerate as I was travelling with my elderly father, we were able to choose a room at street level so that he didn't have to climb any stairs.
The rooms were spotless and had a great kitchenette for cooking breakfast.
A great view of lake and mountains in the morning was a great start to our holiday.
(My only niggle was dim lighting, which made it hard to study maps, read brochures in the evening).

Room Tip: Ask for room at street level to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Alexis and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you felt the lighting was dim as we may have been able to help you out at the time. We hope to see you again if you ever return to Queenstown. Thanks and regards, Kelly and Adrienne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

like
- The staff is friendly.
- The bedroom is warm.
- The kitchen has fully cooking equipment.
- The view is really great.


dislike
- This motel is close to the main road, it is noisy sometime at night.
- The location is a bit far from the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eakkapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Alexis. We offer a number of different units, most of which are far enough away from the main road not to notice as per other reviewers have mentioned.

We like to think that Alexis is close enough to the town centre at 10 minutes so that you're just away from the busy bars and restaurants, but close enough that you can leave the car behind during your stay in town.

Thanks again for taking your time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you if you are back in Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.6 mi away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#29 of 59 in Queenstown
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#5 of 59 in Queenstown
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lomond Lodge
Lomond Lodge
#12 of 59 in Queenstown
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments

Address: 69 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $124 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexis Motor Lodge & Apartments is the perfect place to stay in central Queenstown where you can enjoy the excellent lake and mountain views form all our rooms. We have free high speed wireless internet, LCD TVs and free underground parking. After a short 10 minute stroll from the centre of town you can relax with a glass of wine on the terrace. You can also walk into town along the lakefront and via the park to have a relaxing stroll. We have 16 luxury units including studios and 1 & 2-bedroom units. Some studio units have spa baths and we have free underground parking. We look forward to helping you with your time in Queenstown to ensure you get the most from your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge And Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Alexis Hotel Queenstown
Alexis Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing