We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Milford - Awesome!”
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$378.81*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Nature Cruise and Flight...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business based in Queenstown, New Zealand, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focused on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mount Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and I really enjoy sightseeing Queenstown from a birds eye view. It was our our first time on a small plane but it was an amazing experience. Very great piloting and friendly service! Overall it was an awesome experience, highly recommended must-do activity in Queenstown!

Thank MHThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Mr Thomson,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Air Milford experience. Most of our reviews are on a Milford Sound excursion, so it was neat that you could promote a Queenstown scenic flight. With prices starting from just $120pp for 30minutes around the basin, it’s a huge cost saving on Milford. And what a great way to retrace your steps around the prominent features of the basin – Arrowtown, Coronet Peak, The famous Shotover River, Lake Wakatipu and of course Queenstown.
On behalf of the Air Milford team, thanks for joining us on this trip and providing such a vibrant review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fly cruise fly"
in 70 reviews
"cessna caravan"
in 44 reviews
"nature cruise"
in 35 reviews
"new zealand"
in 108 reviews
"pilot anthony"
in 14 reviews
"reserved seating"
in 11 reviews
"return flight"
in 34 reviews
"stunning flight"
in 10 reviews
"co pilot seat"
in 13 reviews
"small plane"
in 34 reviews
"seater plane"
in 16 reviews
"minute flight"
in 18 reviews
"southern alps"
in 28 reviews
"great pilot"
in 25 reviews
"smooth flight"
in 11 reviews
"ground staff"
in 11 reviews
"bad weather"
in 30 reviews
Filter

940 - 944 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of the most amazing flying experiences we have ever had. The scenery is breath taking and Hank and his crew are highly professional and went that bit extra to make the trip enjoyable and memorable. On this trip the journey really is the destination. The boat cruise was almost an anti climax after the flight in to Milford Sound, and the return journey was as magnificent as the flight in, if not better. The comfort and safety of the turbine powered caravan was also a big part of the trip. Hank is an outstanding pilot and even the most nervous flyer would feel safe and at ease with him at the controls. If you only do one thing whilst in Queenstown, a trip with Air Milford must be it!

Thank CharlesNAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Charles & Annie
We take great pleasure in receiving this informative feedback. One of the difficulties we face is conveying the points you have so accurately discussed, which makes this all the more meaningful. To share the experience with guests like yourselves, is an absolute pleasure and one of the highlights of our job. To then have a facility to review the trip is icing on the cake, so a heartfelt thanks to you both for sharing your professional opinion, and of course to Trip Advisor for making this review public for all to benefit.
Yours faithfully,
The Sproull Family/Air Milford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's hard to describe what one is going to experience when doing this trip. From the beginning on to the very end, everything was perfect. This activity hasnt got a season, all year round you'll find stunning scenery. As I've done it during winter, the mountains were covered in snow, the valleys were green with beautiful lakes, rivers and stunning waterfalls and we even had a cloudless sky. Air Milford is family operated and therefore everything is done with a lot of passion, typical Kiwi hospitality and knowledge (Big thanks to Megan and Antony at this stage who looked very well after us that day). Our airplane (there are three different types) seated 6 (including the pilot) and was in exceptional shape. The windows were absolutely clean and didnt have any scratches, so the photos are just incredible. I even had pleanty of leg space although I'm 196cm in size :) The cruise on Milford Sound itself was operated through Southern Discoveries and offered a very well maintained ship as well as knowledgable and courteous staff.

There simply isnt any reason not to go, especially as the price definately is affordable and worth every single cent. You are being picked up and dropped off at your accommodation, very convenient!

1  Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Tobias,
I wish to start by thanking you for the in-depth review you have provided. Your comments are very precise and backed up with some seriously good photos. I will not forget the day you flew on because it was a -6 Degree Celsius frost that morning – a typical mid-winter day which returns some of the best flying you could ever experience in the region.
I hope that everyone can benefit from your review because it documents the trip so well. On behalf of Megan, myself and the Air Milford team, thanks again for the feedback.
Sincerely,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family of four flew to Milford Sound, had a cruise and then flew back. It was worth the money and we all thought it was the best experience of our week in Queenstown (and we had some great experiences!) The views of snow-topped mountains on the way, resulted in way too many photos and lots of Middle Earth moments. Our pilot, Grant, was professional and knowledgable. Take offs and landings were all smooth and it was a great flight in our new, 10-seater plane. The cruise was on a great, small boat and the two crew were friendly and very knowledgeable about the Sound (fiord). We went from one end to the other and it was just incredible - so beautiful! The birds, seals and a pod of dolphins (at the bow of the boat) made the day incredible. Our flight back went a different route over more beautiful mountains, blue lakes and tall waterfalls. A truly amazing experience.

Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Traveller,

We take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your Milford Sound experience. Unfortunately it was not Air Milford that you travelled with on this occasion, the good news is we know Grant well & I won’t hesitate in passing on your kind comments.
On behalf of the Air Milford team, we are glad your Milford experience was one to remember. If you ever return to NZ we would welcome the chance to have you fly with us.
With thanks,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ash and I were very very please with Air Milford. Hank and Anton was very friendly and sweet. We learned a lot about the Milford Sound. We flew on such a beautiful day. We are so pleased we chose Air Milford instead of skydiving. Definitely one of the best activity we've done by a mile.

Thank Hailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Hailey & Ash,
Thank you for your kind comments. It was an absolute pleasure showing you around this awesome part of the world we live & work in. We had a lot of fun too.
Sincerely,
Antony & Hank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing