We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better”
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$357.48*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$417.06*
and up
Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
More Info
$375.00*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Nature Cruise and Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business based in Queenstown, New Zealand, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focused on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mount Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's hard to describe what one is going to experience when doing this trip. From the beginning on to the very end, everything was perfect. This activity hasnt got a season, all year round you'll find stunning scenery. As I've done it during winter, the mountains were covered in snow, the valleys were green with beautiful lakes, rivers and stunning waterfalls and we even had a cloudless sky. Air Milford is family operated and therefore everything is done with a lot of passion, typical Kiwi hospitality and knowledge (Big thanks to Megan and Antony at this stage who looked very well after us that day). Our airplane (there are three different types) seated 6 (including the pilot) and was in exceptional shape. The windows were absolutely clean and didnt have any scratches, so the photos are just incredible. I even had pleanty of leg space although I'm 196cm in size :) The cruise on Milford Sound itself was operated through Southern Discoveries and offered a very well maintained ship as well as knowledgable and courteous staff.

There simply isnt any reason not to go, especially as the price definately is affordable and worth every single cent. You are being picked up and dropped off at your accommodation, very convenient!

1  Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Tobias,
I wish to start by thanking you for the in-depth review you have provided. Your comments are very precise and backed up with some seriously good photos. I will not forget the day you flew on because it was a -6 Degree Celsius frost that morning – a typical mid-winter day which returns some of the best flying you could ever experience in the region.
I hope that everyone can benefit from your review because it documents the trip so well. On behalf of Megan, myself and the Air Milford team, thanks again for the feedback.
Sincerely,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 776 of 928 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family of four flew to Milford Sound, had a cruise and then flew back. It was worth the money and we all thought it was the best experience of our week in Queenstown (and we had some great experiences!) The views of snow-topped mountains on the way, resulted in way too many photos and lots of Middle Earth moments. Our pilot, Grant, was professional and knowledgable. Take offs and landings were all smooth and it was a great flight in our new, 10-seater plane. The cruise was on a great, small boat and the two crew were friendly and very knowledgeable about the Sound (fiord). We went from one end to the other and it was just incredible - so beautiful! The birds, seals and a pod of dolphins (at the bow of the boat) made the day incredible. Our flight back went a different route over more beautiful mountains, blue lakes and tall waterfalls. A truly amazing experience.

Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Traveller,

We take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your Milford Sound experience. Unfortunately it was not Air Milford that you travelled with on this occasion, the good news is we know Grant well & I won’t hesitate in passing on your kind comments.
On behalf of the Air Milford team, we are glad your Milford experience was one to remember. If you ever return to NZ we would welcome the chance to have you fly with us.
With thanks,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ash and I were very very please with Air Milford. Hank and Anton was very friendly and sweet. We learned a lot about the Milford Sound. We flew on such a beautiful day. We are so pleased we chose Air Milford instead of skydiving. Definitely one of the best activity we've done by a mile.

Thank Hailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Hailey & Ash,
Thank you for your kind comments. It was an absolute pleasure showing you around this awesome part of the world we live & work in. We had a lot of fun too.
Sincerely,
Antony & Hank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just spent the day with Air Milford enjoying the flight and cruise tour. We awoke to crystal blue skies which gave us views as far as the eye could see! It was definitely the clearest day we have had during our trip in NZ.

It was a magical experience flying above and within the mountain ranges of Queenstown to Milford Sound. We were lucky enough to watch an avalanche down one of the mountains (check out the photo!).

Hank was very knowledgeable about the area and flies with ease! Which of course puts all of us at ease too.

Our Milford Sound cruise was sensational. Unfortunately the road in has been closed for some time, which for us meant Milford was empty. We were the only cruise ship out there! It was a sensational experience as our skipper said "You are so lucky as you won't need to Photoshop out the other boats!"

We were also fortunate to see a pod of dolphins and a baby seal.

Our flight back took us a different route back to Queenstown and again it is amazing!

Don't hesitate to book this tour with Air Milford, it is absolutely magical. The whole team and Milford are fantastic. Thank you Hank and your amazing team for making this our best day in NZ! We can't wait to come back and experience this again!

1  Thank MJL-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Hank & the Air Milford team, I would like to take this opportunity to show our appreciation of your review. I personally remember the day you travelled because Hank was equally as mesmerized about the trip. To see a pod of dolphins is always a bonus and, to witness an avalanche on the eastern face of Mt Tutoko is rare. So a very appropriate use of words describing this trip as a ‘magical experience’.

I must advise future travellers that the Milford road has since re-opened. The good news is that Southern Discoveries can now offer their full range of cruises (including the Encounter Nature Cruise) and accompanying selection of delicious food. Please note that all Air Milford flyers receive complimentary hot soup on the Nature Cruise this winter.

Once again we wish to thank you for sharing this experience with us – for this we are most grateful.
Yours Faithfully,
Antony Sproull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I did the fly cruise fly to Milford Sound. The flight was fantastic with great commentary and the staff at Air Milford were very helpful. Luckily it was a primo blue sky day so the views were awesome. The cruise was great too and even the dolphins put in an appearance.
I would highly recommend Air Milford.

2  Thank PabloInNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Sir,
On behalf of the Air Milford staff, and to use your words exactly, how ‘awesome’ it is for us to receive this feedback. The highlight was definitely viewing the pictures you kindly uploaded - stunning in every sense and what a bonus to snap the dolphins!
We feel very privileged to have such pleasing reviews, and take this opportunity to thank everyone who has helped us achieve our current trip advisor ranking.
Faithfully,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing