We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded all expectations”
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$374.48*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$436.89*
and up
Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
More Info
$392.83*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Nature Cruise and Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business based in Queenstown, New Zealand, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focused on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mount Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our flight to Milford sounds with Air Milford was the highlight of our trip to Queenstown.
We could not have asked for a more perfect day. The flight was magnificent with spectacular views. We were well looked after by our pilot who did an awesome job showing us the breathtaking scenery. A must do in Queenstown!
Thank you Milford Air for a fabulous day,

1  Thank VeronicaMcClunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi Veronica,
Many thanks for your Air Milford review. It is great to hear that we are looking after our kiwi friends too, and the far south of Aotearoa still manages to impress with its scenery.
We look forward to hosting you or your friends sometime again soon.
Sincerely,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 763 of 900 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were too tired to get up for the bus to Milford and decided to take a return flight with Air Milford - a great choice. Collected from our hotel we had the most stunning flight. Through picturesque valleys, over majestic mountains, close-ups of glaciers and views of beautiful lakes and waterfalls. Milford itself is majestic and a must see in New Zealand. Unfortunately we had to fore go the cruise of the sound because the weather was threatening to close in and a reduction was applied. Overall this was a memorable experience and well worth the money. I can thoroughly recommend it as an unforgettable experience.

Thank Hillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Air Milford Traveller,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. We are the first to recognise how the weather can influence your holiday, and the consequent disappointment when the weather intervenes your itinerary. Speaking from experience it is the flight portion of this combination tour that leaves guests mesmerized, which you have described so well.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your Air Milford flight.
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We took a bus from Queenstown to Milford Sound, it was a 4 + hour ride, but well worth it, see our review of Milford Sound Select. Our driver, Lester, suggested an option of flying back to Queestown, it was an incredibly beautiful day and we opted for him to make our arrangements.
It was an excellent decision, the 1 hour trip over the "Southern Alps" was breath taking. It was a small plane and everyone had a window seat. If you have the opportunity, and the weather cooperates, do it, you will not be disappointed, and you get back to Queenstown in plenty of time for dinner!

Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review of our Milford Sound ‘Fly Back’ tour. We also appreciate sharing some of your trip photographs – the shot of Milford Sound through the window of the Cessna Caravan is as iconic as they come and proves how spectacular the day of your trip was.
On behalf of Air Milford, we extend our warmest thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been to Queenstown before but missed visiting Milford Sound, so this time we ensured it was to be the highlight of our visit. We had three choices – collect a rental car and drive 300+ kilometres each way on “reasonable” roads (certainly not Highway standard in many spots and slow through the beech forests), take a bus tour (5 hours each way) , or take the more expensive option of flying there in a light aircraft. I had been to Milford before but wanted to do a local flight over the Sound as well, so we chose Air Milford for our adventure. It was the most expensive, but none of the options were cheap anyway, because of the logistics. In addition, door to door time was 5 ½ hours, compared to 15 by bus and 12 by rental car.
Air Milford made all the arrangements seamlessly – pickup, flight to Milford, transfer to cruise then the return arrangements, door to door.
Air Milford picked us up from our hotel in Queenstown and our pilot, Megan flew our first leg over Coronet Peak and Mt Earnslaw at 8,000ft in a Cessna 206 high wing aircraft that did not impede our view, did a loop around Milford Sound past the magnificent Mitre Peak and landed at Milford light aircraft airport. Megan did very well with safety briefings and conveyed points of interest through headphones along the way. Megan set us at ease, forewarning us of possible bumpy spots. We had picked a good day and there were few bumps, despite the rugged mountain terrain. The plane was clean and well sealed against noise and temperature (considering the snow capped peaks and glaciers below us). We were then transferred by bus to the nearby harbour for our 2 hr 15 min. Encounter Nature Cruise on the Lady Bowen with Southern Discoveries. (see separate review).
After returning from our cruise, Pilot Megan met us and flew back over a different route, featuring heavily glaciated hanging valleys, with a few small still active-glaciers. The views over Lake Te Anau were spectacular and the best was kept until last as our return track was along Lake Wakatipu. Once again, we were supplied with commentary and were rewarded with expert landings each end.
Well done Megan and well done to the efficiency of the Air Milford team – no fuss, on time – it just happened to our expectations.

1  Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a real privilege to receive such a thorough review, of your recent Fly/Nature Cruise/Fly to Milford Sound. Coming from Airlie Beach (which is almost a sister tourist location to Queenstown) you have a detailed understanding of the tourist industry, which makes for a very worth critique. End of the day, what’s most important is that the trip met your expectations, and contributed toward what looks like a memorable holiday in New Zealand.

On behalf of the whole Air Milford team, I wish to thank you for the time you have put into this review. It is one of the most detailed recounts we have received, and for that reason we look forward to displaying it in other mediums such as our guest book.

Yours faithfully,
Air Milford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We intended to fly to Milford Sound on our first day in Queenstown, but the trip was delayed several times because of weather. When we arrived at the hangar, we were disappointed to hear that the weather in Milford still was not good enough to cruise the sound, but the flight was still going out. They gave us the option to back out with no penalty or accept a reduced rate for the flight by itself, which we did. Even with partly cloudy weather, the views were still spectacular and this was one of the highlights of our New Zealand vacation. To top it off, the Sproulls are a wonderful family and were very welcoming to us. We highly recommend Air Milford!

1  Thank JulieKDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dearest Julia & David,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your swift trip advisor review, only days after flying you into Milford Sound. Even though the weather is in God’s hands, we take it personally when we can’t offer the scheduled trip due to these constraints. We realise that this trip is often the #1 reason for holidaying in NZ, so in this situation it was a satisfying compromise.

We hope the rest of your trip was filled with similar highlights to those you mentioned here. Safe travels stateside, and we look forward to meeting again sometime in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Sproull’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing