We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational not to be missed Experience!”
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$357.48*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$417.06*
and up
Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight
More Info
$375.00*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Nature Cruise and Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business based in Queenstown, New Zealand, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focused on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mount Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The flight and cruise is an experience not to be missed. After take-off from Queenstown the mountain scenery is superb as the aircraft climbs to the west between the peaks, and the approach into the Milford Sound airport is simply stunning as the flight takes you from the ocean along the Sound. Even better, after the cruise you get to do it all over again!

I was lucky enough to occupy the RH seat in the Cessna C208 Caravan beside the pilot (Matt) who was a very competent and experienced, and had an even better view than any of the other passengers. If you do just one thing in Queenstown, this has to be it.

Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Matt and the Air Milford crew, I want to express our sincere thanks for your recent review. I’ll definitely be reminding Matt how good his so called ‘office’ really is after your comments! On a serious note, we are glad you got to experience being co-pilot – the C208 is definitely a neat platform to view the countryside from.
With thanks,
Antony @ Air Milford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 800 of 928 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Flying in a small plane frwom Queenstown to Milford sound was amazing, this company make it extra special for you. The friendly, knowledgeable pilots really go the extra mile to make your day really special. This was one of those days we will never forget. Thanks guys.

1  Thank Byrne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent excursion with Air Milford. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us.
Safe travels
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went on a trip with a large group of friends visiting NZ. The pilots were exceptional and took us on an amazing tour of the island. There were so many great sights to see, I feel like the pilots really personalized the experience for us. Highly recommended!

2  Thank Aron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Aron,
I’d like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation of your review. It’s definitely reassuring to know that we don’t lose the personal touch, even in a large group situation (such as the case on your tour).
All the best with your studies back home.
Si ncerely,
Antony @ Air Milford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Going to Milford Sound with Air Milford was a fantastic experience! Everything was extremely well organised - no time spent waiting around to be picked up etc. Amazing scenery on the way there and great to fly back a different route! The flight takes you over hidden lakes and its awesome to see the glaciers so close! Amazing would definately recommend! Hank was very informative and friendly!

2  Thank distinctionqtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Air Milford Flyer,
I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback, on a recent flight to Milford Sound. As CEO, and chief engineer, Hank is often restricted to office & hanger duties these days. So when he gets the chance to fly, I think it’s a win win for everyone involved, himself included! I know he will value your comments dearly, and for this we are most grateful.
All the very best,
The Air Milford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The flight through Milford Sound was definitely the best part of our trip. The views are amazing and you don't have to sit on a bus for 5 hours waiting to get to the Sound. Booking with Air Milford was a breeze and they were good about calling us the day of the trip to communicate any weather delays. They are very safe, which means they will not fly unless the weather conditions allow for it. Our pilot, Megan, was great. She pointed out the various sights from the air and the flight was excellent. It truly is a unique experience because they planes are smaller and the pilots really interact with everyone on the plane. It only takes about 35-40 minutes to get to the Sound. You then take a cruise through the Sound and your pilot picks you back up for the flight home. They go a different route so you can see more sights on the way back. They also pick-up and drop-off from your hotel which is an added bonus. Air Milford was a great experience and would highly recommend.

2  Thank ShaylaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Shayla,
On behalf of Megan & the Air Milford team, I wish to take this opportunity to say thanks for your recent review of our business. It sounds as though your Milford Sound experience was one of many memorable times on your holiday down-under.
Kindest regards,
Antony Sproull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing