We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip Recommended”
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$367.02*
and up
Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business based in Queenstown, New Zealand, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focused on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mount Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Trip Recommended”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Whilst staying in Queenstown we decided to visit Milford Sound. At the recommendation of our concierge we booked Air Milford to fly us in and out with a cruise in between.
What a fantastic experience flying over the mountains and landing in Milford, cruising the lake them flying back.
We went in a Cessna flown by Rupert who provided an informative narrative both ways and was very friendly and helpful.
It's worth the trip don't be put off by the cost , just go for it !!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Public Relations Manager at Air Milford, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Steve,

Firstly we hope you had a safe trip home, and that the rest of your holiday in NZ was as enjoyable as your trip to Milford Sound.

These days it is not uncommon for our guests to book the excursion on arrival to Queenstown, with the benefit being your hotel concierge has probably done a 'familiarisation' trip with us (and possibly other companies) to Milford Sound. So they have first-hand knowledge of the product, and can recommend the best option specific to your needs. With Easter time a busy period for us however, it is always preferrable to secure a pre-booking before making your trip to NZ - we would hate for anyone to miss out! Please refer to our website for more details on how to do this.

We appreciate taking the time to leave us with your thoughts on the Fly/Cruise/Fly excursion. It motivates the Air Milford team to continue providing the safest, and most enjoyable scenic flight service in the region.

Sincerely,
Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    26
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Did the fly cruise fly trip to Milford sound with family. Air Milford were superb - great little plane, friendly staff, quality pilot. All very professional. Felt 100% safe all the way. I strongly recommend anyone visiting Milford sound takes the flight option. The cruise down the sound is nice, but nothing compared to the fabulous and spectacular views over the southern alps from the light aircraft. Really, it is worth twice the price you pay. Make sure you book trip for the start of your stay in Queenstown. It seems a lot of flights get moved or cancelled due to unpredictable weather, so give yourself maximum flexibility in case that happens.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyBoyBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Owner at Air Milford, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you very much for you great review. It was very nice to meet you and we really enjoyed showing you our fantastic landscape. I hope you manage to come back and visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The return flight was truly spectacular and one of the most memorable things we did in new Zealand. Not cheap but worth every penny. Our pilot mart was friendly and informative. The whole process was very efficient. Weather cancelled the flight two days running then the third day managed to get out with prefect weather so would recommend booking early on in stay in queenstown incase needs rescheduling. We did early morning flight which meant that a lot of day trippers hadn't arrives so the sound was quiet which we liked
Would not miss this trip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kcav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, General Manager at Air Milford, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and making a great review.
We were very glad that you hung in there with the weather and made yourselves available to go as soon as the weather came good. Its always a good idea to go in the morning to get the most out of the day. It was a pleasure to fly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great flight, great views, great team”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had the great joy of booking a trip to Milford Sound with Air Milford as our friend recommended them hightly.

After a few cancellations due to bad weather, we headed off on the early morning flight with Rupert, our pilot, as well as a group of other equally happy travellers.

The flight was stunning, as the weather was amazing, we had the best views of the mountains, valleys and lakes. Rupert was a very good guide and told all about the different places we saw along the way.

Though this is not a cheap option for seeing Milford Sound, it is highly recommended and not to be missed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sus2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Air Milford, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Our most sincere thanks your candid comments. Word of mouth is the best advertising, so it is pleasing to hear that your friends made a worthy recommendation. Rupert will be equally pleased with your feedback too; I look forward to passing this on. With regards to your comments on the weather postponements, this is priceless information for others looking to do this trip. If they can book the excursion at the beginning of their stay in Queenstown, as you did, then the chances of missing out on this 'once in a life-time experience' are greatly reduced. Milford Sound on average receives 7m (275 in) of rainfall per year. This extreme weather only allows us to fly approximately 200 days per year (or roughly 4 days/week). So book early in your trip to avoid disappointment. Conversely, the days that are flyable are something special, you only have to view the pictures people have kindly posted on trip advisor to recognise this.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave trip advisor feedback. Your comments are valuable not only to us, but those looking at doing this trip in the future.
Sincerely,
The Air Milford Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! A unique experience!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had the most memorable experience with Air Milford! We were collected by our bus driver at the terminal after a fantastic cruize of the Milford fiord, and dropped off at the airport. We were greeted by our Pilot, Matt, he was really friendly and made us feel welcome. He got a picture of us two besides the plane before loading and he explained everything that was going to happen, which was great seeing I was a bit nervous;-) We took off and the most amazing views you will ever see appear all around you. The mountains are incredible and it was a totally unique experience seeing it from the air. Matt flew us to one of the world's biggest waterfalls, it was spectacular. We then flew back over what seemed like endless mountains, with streams and rivers and Matt was telling us all about what mounatins had what tracks, a bit of Lord of the Rings sights in there too which made my day. We flew over the Wakatipu Lake back towards QT and flew next to the Remarkable Mountains, to have a really smooth landing.We were really lucky with the weather, no rain and no wind just beautiful sunshine and a comfy palne with a great view! The flight was about+- 45 min, and was worth every penny!! We were greeted by the freindly staff, who even went as far to drop us at home. I don't think you trip of the South Island would be complete without this experience. Thank you to all the staff for making it such a special experience for us.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meags10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, General Manager at Air Milford, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We extend our sincere thanks for your kind report on the "Fly Back" option from Milford Sound. Matt was really flattered to get such positive feedback, so too the greater Air Milford team in knowing we are providing a well rounded product. It was a real treat to for us to fly such a positive, enthusiastic couple that got the most from their experience. Sincere regards, Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing