We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riverside walk, excellent wines, first-rate pizza”

Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd.
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.63*
and up
Original Wine Tour
Ranked #89 of 123 things to do in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dine on sumptuous local cuisine in a restored 1893 church, take your pick from a portfolio of award-winning wines whilst you relax and enjoy the alpine splendor. Located 25 minutes from Queenstown, at the Cromwell end of the Gibbston Valley. Qualmark "Visitor Activity" endorsed.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside walk, excellent wines, first-rate pizza”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had been planning to go to one of the bigger wineries in the area but they had no places for Sunday lunch. Disappointment turned to delight when we found this smaller winery on the SH6 at Gibbston. We were warmly greeted and encouraged to enjoy a leisurely walk along the nearby riverside loop before lunch. The menu is limited to a platter or pizzas, which are cooked on an outdoor wood fired oven, and they are really good quality with loads of topping on a tasty crust. We did a wine tasting first and then chose a glass of wine from these to go with our lunch. The wines are outstanding with Harriet Rose being the best rose we have tasted for a very long time. There is no charge for the tasting as long as you buy a couple of bottles and how could you resist such quality at cellar door prices. An added bonus was the friendly and informative explanation about the wines provided during our tasting by the owner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Loved the wine and the host.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was one of four winery's visited on our wine tasting tour. Paula (the owner) came in especially on her day off to open the winery for us. Tasted some lovely wines and the host made it fun as well as educational (so enjoyable), would recommend a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukerau, Southland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The quality of coffee, food, and service, fantastic. Enjoyed by the Duck Shooters Widows Committee.

Helpful?
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“NZ wines at their best”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We chose this vineyard as the pictures of the former church hall I saw on the web looked special. Well the location is charming & great for photo opportunities. However the real attraction was the quality of the wine. It was superb. The owner/staff member was super friendly & informative & we never felt rushed. This was my favourite vineyard of the trip & would not hesitate to recommend it. If you don't try this one & stick to the larger more well beaten path of the wine trail, you are definetely missing out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing wines in a unique location”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Former country church that has been converted to a wine tasting room and restaurant. Remarkable wines and friendly staff (who actually make the wine) to answer questions. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank EliseWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd. also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing