We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view, pity about the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and had rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor facing the lake(just to confuse you be aware that the 4 th floor is the 5th floor in the second set of lifts).
The view was magnificent and the location in relation to the town centre was good(a ten minute casual walk).
We stayed in two 2x2 rooms with great balconies and lounge kitchen area but beware the couple who has to stay in the second bedroom which is dark(in one case no window and the other opened to the common area so basically had to keep the curtains closed all the time) and smaller than the main bedrooms which had views out to the lake.
The breakfast was basic continental and the hot was $10pppd extra. Unfortunately the eggs were usually cold and the breakfast room also had no window so was very dungeon like. The hot selection appeared to run out regularly. The staff were friendly but disorganised.
While we were there they were renovating the outside of the upper rooms which you access by a separate lift so there was a lot of scaffolding again not very aesthetically pleasing.
Overall as we bagged the front (good) room an average rating. I think the couple who had to take the second room might have rated their experience differently.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank stan658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear stan658.

Thank you for using Trip Advisor to review your time at Peppers Beacon. I was pleased to see that you found the location perfect and loved the view of the surrounding lake and mountains.
We have made note of your other concerns and these will be addressed within our departments to perfect of guest experience. Thank you once again, as we do value and appreciate hearing any constructive feedback like this.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and we had a wonderful time. We had a Garden View room and we were really happy with the position.
The room itself had 2 bedrooms, quite a reasonable bathroom and a kitchenette which was well stocked with a little dishwasher that made things very easy.
Everything was nice and clean and was serviced every day, so nice to come home to after a hard day sightseeing.
The staff were very nice and friendly, we booked a couple of tours with them and everything went smoothly.
When we booked, breakfast was included, this is a continental breakfast only. If you want hot food the cost is an extra $10 per person. That was not mentioned.
This is our only complaint and it is not really important, but it should be made plain at time of booking.
Our recommendation.......stay here ITS GREAT!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesandVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear James & Victoria,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our little slice of paradise here at Peppers Beacon. I was thrilled to see that you really enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Booked through nz entertainment guide so got a reasonably cheap deal for a hotel room with partial lake views. Can't complain with the description.
The Good.... Location was great. Right on lake front and a short (5min) flat stroll into the town centre. Keep in mind that it is a busy road so can be a little loud from trucks and cars passing in the morning. Car park was easy to find and right off the main road (there is another one at the back somewhere for the rooms in the other building)

The Bad... Has a gym (which is nothing more than a hotel sized room with a treadmill, cycle and 1 piece of equipment). No pool but there is a spa somewhere, no idea where though. Didn't get a tour or explained where anything was.

The Ugly... Room (307) was EXTREMELY tiny and had internal access to another room which was occupied throughout our stay. No draws, but had a small cupboard to hang clothes. The walls are paper thin so you can hear EVERYTHING from conversations in the adjoining room, to people coming out of the lifts 30-40 metres down the hallway. The neighbouring room (308) were watching TV late one night and it sounded like our TV was on it was that clear!!
Room was advertised as having a king sized bed. Extremely disappointed to find 2 old single beds pushed together with 2 single duvet covers. Joined only by a king sized sheet. Not what I was expecting from a 5 star luxury hotel.
Bathroom had a shower and toilet but no extractor fan to remove moisture from the shower or smells from the toilet) - shower had a sign saying to keep the door closed so the steam doesn't set the fire alarm off. Maybe an idea to get the fan that looks like it is there working??? The wooden vanity that the sink sat in was falling to bits (bubbling and flaking from water damage).
The room was next to the neighbouring Rydges hotel which had some outside lights for their stairwell that lit up our room. The first night the light beam was right across our faces in bed. Second night placed some glasses up against the blind it to stop that.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother with a hotel room if you plan on staying here... Unless you get a dirt cheap pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiDerek78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear KiwiDerek78,

Thank you for placing your comments. We value your feedback and will review each issue closely with the aim of improving our products and services wherever possible.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I only had a pocket view of the lake. Hotel is on a great location walking distance to town and is right infront of the lake. Hotel room is nice and toilet is clean and modern. Would love to come back again but will definitely get the full lake view the next round...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Goldie_Lucky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Goldie_Lucky75.

It was great to read your comments and thank you for participating in the website. We would love to welcome you back again and I am sure we will help you find exactly what you are looking for to make your next stay even more comfortable.

Kind regards and many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel has the most amazing views across the lake and is very well situated for walking into Queenstown.
Our first room was on the 10th floor. This was tricky to reach with cases as the hotel is in 2 separate buildings and no-one offered to take us to the room. The living accommodation was big, with a good kitchen area. However, the bedroom had virtually no hanging space and no drawers at all. As we were staying for a week, and wanted to fully unpack, this was a problem. The shower room was small and needed a makeover. Wi-fi was expensive and levels of service were variable.
The additional problem was the scaffolding which reached to our balcony, causing issues around privacy and security. There were workmen power washing and then painting the
building. We were not told about this work when we booked, or indeed when we arrived at Peppers.
Having spoken to Ashley, the duty manager, he apologised profusely and offered to move us to another room. The new room had better storage and a bath but the scaffolding, whilst not touching our balcony, was right beside it. We received a complimentary bottle of wine and a cheese board which we appreciated but we would rather have not had to make a complaint in the first place.
We still enjoyed our stay but feel the company has shown little regard for their guests. They are assuming that the view and location will compensate for all other faults. This is a complacent attitude and not what we expected from such a well known chain. They advertise as being luxury accommodation - to keep this title they need to make significant improvements to their Queenstown property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Alexis E,

Thank you for taking the time to use Trip Advisor. You have raised some very valid points and we thank you for your honesty and praise of the property. It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope you really enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Zealand and got to see some more lovely vineyards and wineries. Your comments have been noted and taken very seriously with the view of making improvements wherever possible.

Thank you again, kind regards and many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is located across the lake. We were given a lake view room, but the view is disappointing as the window was on lake side was very narrow. The rooms are small. The buffet breakfast was good, has many choice.

Room Tip: Book with buffet breakfast, decline supplement for American items, as the buffet as many choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Rangassamy L,

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. It was good to hear from you and understand your thoughts and ideas. We love to improve things at Peppers Beacon whereever possible. We currently have 8 different room types so if you need lots of space amazing views I would recommend any one of our 7 different types of Studios and Suites.

Thank you for staying at Peppers and for your time today.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in Peppers for the month of February in a lakeside apartment and had a wonderful time. The apartment was large with onsuite bathroom, great shower, dishwasher, oven, washer/dryer etc and good equipment with tea, coffee, milk, washing powder replaced daily.There is a good size modern TV in the lounge area and another smaller one in the bedroom if needed. We found staff generally to be helpful with Ashley and Charlotte being particularly helpful and efficient when we needed their help on a few occasions.
The views of the lake and Remarkable mountains are amazing and breakfast on the balcony was a pleasure. We did not use Peppers breakfast facility so cannot comment on that. The location is very handy.
It seems from reading other reviews that getting a room in the right location in the complex is important but we had no complaints.
The complex is very handy to the centre of Queenstown, being about 5 minutes walk and there is a secure carpark. We hope to visit Peppers again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emptyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear emptyhead,

Thank you for using Trip Advisor to review your experience at Peppers Beacon. We really value your feedback and not you great Nationality. It was the place to be this week for sure and we hope you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

It was a pleasure thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $157 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. Prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing