We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What an amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a beautiful resort! Our first impressions were excellent, the smell of freshly baked bread, a lovely spacious apartment and a magnificent view. Queenstown is Such a beautiful city, it was wonderful to come back to our relaxing unit each day. We stayed four days and could have stayed two weeks. We will definitely be back and will recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear BrianE,

I would have to agree that the views and location can not be rivalled in Queenstown. So pleased to see that you loved your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    390
    165
    87
    60
See reviews for
356
431
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bar, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for a special birthday celebration in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment. Our apartment was fantastic - spacious, clean and with views to die for. We would certainly stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful - as a special treat for the birthday girl, we arrived to freshly baking bread & a selection of condiments in our room on arrival.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which had a large balcony that overlooked the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnor0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear OConnor0207,

Thank you for your most positive review and I was thrilled to read that you had such a great time with us. We love to make peoples holidays that little bit more special.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

A highlight of our recent visit to NZ was walking into our 5th floor apartment at Peppers Beacon for the first time and seeing the layout and the view - it truly was a 'wow' moment. We had a 2 bedroom lake view apartment and for the price we paid through the hotel's web site (stay for 3 nights and receive an extra night for free), we couldn't have been happier with all aspects of our stay, including the location, facilities and service.

Everything about the apartment was clean, modern and comfortable and it was serviced daily. All the essentials (and more) were provided for, including all the usual bathroom accessories. And that view...!

The only minor negative was a lack of soundproofing of the door separating us from a one-bedroom hotel room (presumably this became unlocked to make a 3 bedroom configuration). However we accepted this as 'one of those things' and it wasn't really a problem as the door was towards the back of our apartment.

Aside from the physical aspects, what really stood out about this property was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Every time we passed reception we received a smile and usually a friendly comment. The housekeeping staff were also friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The lovely demeanour of staff contributed to a very enjoyable stay in a very beautiful part of the world. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Peppers Beacon to others or to stay there again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernRiversNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear NorthernRiversNSW,

Thank you for your positive review of our great product. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable holiday in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed a whole week there. Nice setup in the room. good place for a family with young baby or you would like to cook yourself. They have free computer/printer and ice machine there. friendly staff and good car park. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qikan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Qikan F,

Thank you for your great review. Hopefully we will see you back again some time for another relaxing vacation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed 4 nights with these guys and I have to say that I was exceptionally impressed. I was in one of the 1 bed room lake view apartments and not only was the view spectacular but the room was well presented and had a spa in it. The small touches like 4 different types of tea and a coffee plunger with coffee included were all part of the charm.
Used room service and it was pretty good.
Proximity to town is excellent.
The real credit to the hotel were the staff! All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They provided me a lot of assistance with booking tours and activities and just generally with getting my bearings around town.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear George183.

Mission accomplished, another satisfied guest. We would love to have you back for another enjoyable holiday next time you are wanting a great escape.

Many thanks and appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Beacon for three nights. Initial reservations about noise from adjoining rooms (guests there for anniversary and wedding celebrations) proved unfounded once Saturday evening had passed.

In any case this was less stressful than the weather! 30+ degrees in Sydney and 20+ in Christchurch had deteriorated to 1degree C by the time we checked in to Peppers. No flying to Milford Sound, no Shotover Jetboat but we did tramp about in the snow on the Crown Range. Jingle Bells anyone?

Peppers Beacon was ok - we enjoyed staying there. Our room was spacious and had a reasonable view of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains beyond. Excellent service on reception from the ever-present Emma (thanks for the loan of the brollies and restaurant recommendations) and we enjoyed the good choice of continental breakfast, nicely laid out and ably patrolled by the amiable Vijay.

A good internal car park allows you to load and unload luggage in the dry and the position of Peppers, just a few minutes walk from the town, means that the restaurants, cafes, adventure booking agents and plethora of souvenir shops are within easy striking distance.

We can certainly recommend Peppers as a good base in Queenstown - whatever the weather!

Room Tip: Book a room with a big balcony for a wider view of Lake Wakatipu
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear CirtusG,

Thank you for your positive comments of our product. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown with a bit of humour about our wild weather. Yes it can have that reputation, being a 'continental' climate. You must come back in Summer and the region is so varied between seasons.

Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recently spent four nights / five days at Peppers Hotel in Queenstown in three bedroom penthouse on floor seven.

Amazing views of the landscape around Queenstown, the Remarkables and district views had difficulty getting off balcony .

Greta holiday destination with plenty of choices, accommodation was fantastic with comfortable rooms , large kitchen , great TV room and fireplace to enjoys the lake view of a few beers.

Ease of access to downtown central only a short walk or plenty of undercover parking in secured parking lot.

Room Tip: Level seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porty2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Porty2099,

Thank you for your positive comments of our product. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great holiday.

Kind regards and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing