We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality accommodation in spectacular location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality accommodation in spectacular location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in peppers beacon for 4 nights in mid July and found it to be extremely comfortable, modern and clean. It was reasonably priced and the staff were a pleasure to deal with. Underground parking was very handy, due to the good location we did not need our car for the few days. Spectacular scenery over the lake every morning when we opened our curtains. Unfortunately one night our sleep was disturbed by a late night party (3.30 in the morning!!) in the overlooking apartments to the rear, in fairness the staff managed to quietened things down quick enough. A great place to stay at any time, especially in the summer when the open area on level 5 could be used for BBQ's etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin C, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Kia ora Ronan K

I would like to extend my sincere thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Peppers Beacon. Queenstown is such a spectacular place to visit and it is so nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the sensational views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables every day.

Please accept my apologies for the late night disturbance. We do all possible to ensure all our guests have a peaceful and comfortable stay, however whilst these particular guests showed a lack of consideration for others, I was pleased that our Night Manager was able to swiftly shut the party down.

We look forward to you one day returning to Queenstown to experience more of the many year round attractions and hope to see you again in the future at Peppers Beacon.

Sincerely

Justin Cave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    391
    166
    87
    61
See reviews for
358
431
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled as a family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) and booked a 2 bedroom garden view room. Upon arrival we were advised we had been upgraded to a Lake View room which was a nice surprise. Trying to park the car initially was difficult as there was limited space in the car park that is accessed at the front of the building and staff had neglected to inform us of the additional car park accessed from a back street but once we got that sorted it was fine. Upon entering our room we were greeted with the most beautiful view!! We were on level 2 and had floor to ceiling windows looking over the lake and snow capped peaks. STUNNING!! The apartment was a perfect layout with the kids sharing a bedroom and bathroom to themselves and my husband and I having a bedroom and bathroom to ourselves so we were able to have our own space. We had an awesome big lounge that was perfect for curling up on in front of the fireplace and reading a book or just enjoying the view. The kitchen facilites in our apartment were excellent and we also had a clothes washer and dryer in our room. Very convenient. I only have one disappointment and unfortunatley this was a common theme in New Zealand. Wifi acces!! This is very expensive. Whenever we holiday in Australia and Bali it is very common for Wifi access to be included in the price of the hotel but not the case in New Zealand. Having 2 teenagers this was annoying as they wanted to share photo's and stories with their friends back home. We ended up purchasing a pre-paid NZ sim and sharing the 2gb data over the course of the week. This worked for us but we would like to see NZ hotels embrace a better and affordable wifi system. Aside from that though, we had an amazing holiday and would definitely stay at Peppers again as the staff were friendly and the apartment was wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin C, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Simone S

Many thanks for your very kind feedback regarding your stay with us at Peppers Beacon in Queenstown. It does give us a true sense of satisfaction when we read or hear of such positive experiences and as with all feedback we receive, I will ensure that yours is shared with our team.

We are very fortunate to have our property situated in such a prime location and we continue to strive for improvements and upgrades to our rooms, facilities and service. We have recently extended our wifi coverage to now cover the entire resort and will continue to work with our service provider to further enhance the overall guest experience in the future. One short term solution is the recent provision of complimentary internet kiosks for our guests. Whilst it is not as convenient at wifi, we do hope that this is received as a small gesture and provides some complimentary connectivity whilst on holidays.

Once again Simone S, thank you for your lovely feedback and should you ever visit Queenstown again in the future, we would love to welcome you and your family back to Peppers Beacon.

Sincerely

Justin Cave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Let me start by stating the amount i paid for 2 nights in the Penthouse. $1,480. We were down there on the 26th and 27th of july 2013. While we have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels over the years, not one has cost me as much as what i outlayed for Peppers Beacon, Queenstown. The payment was made in full 3 plus weeks in advance of our arrival. We were heading down there to celebrate my 40th Birthday hence why we booked the Penthouse. Since it was our first trip to Queenstown, clearly we were not familiar with the transportation side of things. I called Peppers asking if they had a shuttle service that could uplift us from the Airport upon our arrival. The receptionist was somewhat helpful and conveyed it was not a issue. After confirming details or arrival, names and bookings with the Hotel, she then stated at the end of the conversation it would be $24 each. Now i would agree that $48 is not the end of the world. I am not a snob who expects everyone to bow to me or kiss my feet. But i did think it was a little rich not providing a shuttle service free of charge taking into account the monies outlayed for 2 nights. So that wasn't the best start for my 40th or what i now began thinking about where we would be staying.
Upon our arrival at the hotel the greeting was professional and courteous. Though we did arrive early, we were instructed the room would'nt be ready until 2pm. this was fine so we dropped our bags at reception and hit the streets around Queenstown. We received a call from reception just before 2pm stating the room was ready, excellent communication. Once at our penthouse we checked the room over and would say it was of a good standard. It was what we wanted. The Spa was lovely, preset at 41.5 which did feel a little too on the hot side. We tried turning it down but without success. On Friday night we decided to order in as we were a bit peckish. We ordered a Pizza and wedges which were unfortunately absolutely terrible. We had one slice of pizza each and put it in the fridge not to be touched again. The wedges appeared to of had rotten parts of the potato still attached. They also got thrown out. That "meal" which was'nt eaten cost us $55. We obviously didn't order food from there again during our stay. On Saturday morning we departed our room at approx 8am. We returned at approx 2.15pm to find the room had not been serviced. There was no fresh towels, or coffee and the beds were still unmade. Normally the thought of someone i don't know touching my bed is scary, but due to the "Penthouse" accomadation and price i did think this would of been taken care of smartly. We had to call room service and advise it had not been done. They apologised and said they would send someone up shortly, which they did approx 10min later. While we were waiting we decided to put on some music as the penthouse suite has a system which has speakers in the bedrooms, lounge, dinning area and even outside on the wrap around balcony. It does'nt work. I advised the staff of this problem and they said they would send someone up. A short time later another staff member arrived, i explained the problem, he had a look at it and said the system is about 5 years old and he could'nt figure out the problem but would contact another staff member to come and have a look. All we wanted was for the system to work so we could have a few drinks and listen to the radio through this system. the other staff member arrived and after spending about 15min having a look at it, also stated it was a older system and he could'nt fix it. While he was extremely helpful in every way, we ended up with a "Warehouse" $60 mini system. It was a joke and yes i have photos simply because of what should of worked, compared to what we got..it's funny.
On our departure on Sunday morning there was no mention from staff of how was your stay/did you enjoy your stay/was it to your liking etc. Nothing at all. When we got on the plane to head home, my partner advised me she had sent a email to peppers weeks in advance advising them that it was my 40th and could something be arranged to have a simple acknowledgement of this day, she never heard back from them. Im afraid Peppers staying in the Penthouse was a let down. While the room was nice, the service left a lot to be desired.
Would i pay that amount again at a Mantra/Peppers establishment...im afraid not.

Room Tip: Look around very carefully if your spending considerable money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin C, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Kia ora Glenn S

A sincere thank you for providing your feedback regarding your experience at Peppers Beacon. I would also like to thank you for allowing me the opportunity to personally address your concerns and to work with you to achieve a satisfactory outcome.

I am most appreciative that despite this recent experience you have indicated that you may consider returning to Peppers Beacon in the future.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for your recent disappointment and we look forward to you returning soon.

Sincerely

Justin Cave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel while on a round the world trip and the only word I can think of is 'stunning'. We had a 2 bedroom suite it was magnificent and the views were spectacular! Would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel are on the road but you do not suffer from noise. Suites are very large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin C, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Kia ora Roy1347

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent visit to Queenstown and Peppers Beacon. We are certainly blessed with a superb location and I am pleased that your apartment was to your satisfaction and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic views over the lake.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you make the journey down to Queenstown again.

Sincerely

Justin Cave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Beacon in December 2012, such a beautiful time to visit. The property is in the perfect location, right on the waters edge & only a 4-5 minute stroll into town. It's also quite private too. We would often miss it on the drive back from our day trips. I did like the privacy though, because Queenstown is such an adventure-filled village that it was nice to be able to retreat to the room for some peace and tranquilty with a good book & our gorgeous view. We stayed in a 'hotel room', which was very generously sized. I especially loved the bathroom, very modern with lovely fittings and fixtures. The whole property was very well maintained. We loved our stay at Peppers.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms at the front of the property facing the lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0nest_critique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Kia Ora H0nest_critique,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

Your feedback in bery important to us whihc help us in reviewing our standards amd procedures to ensure we deliver the best service to our esteemed guests.

We would be delighted to have you back with us again at Peppers Beacon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our one-bedroom apartment overlooked beautiful lake and mountain views with a huge deck to enjoy it all. Perfect location to walk into town. The only negative was we had to walk through a parking garage to get to our apartment whenever it rained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynntastics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Kia Ora Flynntastics,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and One Bedroom Apartment. Our Apartments are located in the front and back building and you certainly can request one in the front building when you come and stay with us next.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Peppers Beacon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one week in June 2013 and were very pleased with our stay. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen, fire place and laundry. The views were magnificent from our apartment ! We had everything we needed! the apartments were serviced everyday and the staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful( Daniel- who checked us in when we arrived couldn't do enough for us).We used the spa area twice after we went skiing- this area can be booked and used privately. We walked into the centre of town all the time as it was so close! We did some cooking in the apartment as the appliances were all supplied. The week went so quickly but Peppers made it an enjoyable and very comfortable stay. We had a lovely king size bed and it was so comfortable. We also had complimentary bathrobes for our stay and a mobile suitcase rack was supplied for each suitcase so we didn't have to bend down to get our clothes.
We loved it - thankyou to all staff at Peppers Beacon for making a memorable holiday for us- we will return and bring the family next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 237Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Kia Ora 237 Karen,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the best use of the facilities offered. Daniel is ecstatic to hear about your positive comments which of course is of critical importance to all of us.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back at Peppers Beacon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#15 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing