We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deposit refund issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deposit refund issue”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just to share our disappointment in the attitude of cancellation policy.
Your property was our first choice to stay for 11 nights from December 25 - 5th January 2013. At the time we made reservation your new years weekend was blocked with bookings so we would have had to relocate for 2 nights.
Within 7 days of booking we were able to get 11 days in another property in queenstown so we cancelled our booking- clearly 2 months before our stay. As a loyal customer to your brand, I find this unnecessarily mean that you will not refund $400 nz dollars, and insist that we can only use this deposit in nz. I hope you may see this from a customers perspective and be more flexible in future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Kia Ora Sue H

It was very disappointing that encounter issues with our cancellation policy, for this I do apologise. I would however like to investigate this further if I could asked that you contact Dinesh Gandhi dineshi.gandhi@peppers.co.nz , who looks after our reservation department so he can follow this up and come back to you.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    446
    197
    102
    67
See reviews for
418
498
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the staff was able to arrange our luggage storage during our "Milford Track" trip. The breakfast room is not Guten-Friendly but many local restaurants nearby have that covered. The hotel is split into two properties, Levels 1-4 are close to the lake, 5-8 are on the next street behind. Due to construction scaffolding in the front, we got a great deal/upgrade from a standard room to a beautiful suite up front for free. Suites have washer/dryer and a kitchen nice enough to have in your own home. If you need the internet for your computer bring an ethernet cord, broadband is solid but wireless is a bit weak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Kia Ora John K,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. The painting on the exterior of the front building is expected to be finished by end of March and scaffolding will be removed then. We are in the process of having Wifi internet around the property and is expected to be in place in next couple of months.

We do serve Gluten Free Food in our restaurant and I am disaapointed to know that you were not offered this during your stay. This has been addressed to our Chef to ensure that we always Gluten Free option available for breakfast.

We look forward to having you back with us at Peppers Beacon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is right on the side of the lake with stunning views across to the mountains beyond. We could easily sit and watch the boats going back and forth into Queenstown. It is only 5 minutes walk down to the Wharf and the centre of town.

The suite was very well equipped and spacious with a balcony and floor to ceiling windows to take full advantage of the view.

I would suggest you dont have a room in the lower building because the road is very busy and also people walking by can see into the rooms, so ask for a room in the building behind on one of the higher floors 7, 8 or 9.

The breakfast room was very impersonal without any windows although the staff were lovely.
The fitness room was a token gesture, if you use a gym you will have to pay on the door at the one in town.
We had to pay $75 for a weeks WIFI connection which we think is a rip off when it is such a basic requirement for travellers and considering we paid quite a good price fro the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Kia Ora Smith025,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We are glad to know that you overall enjoyed your stay. We would like to inform that we are in the process of upgrading the gymnasium equipment and having Wifi internet around the property which we hope will be in place during your next visit.

We do have rooms in the back building that are away from the main road and will certainly accommodate you in one of those units for your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Peppers Beacon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Without reservations, we stopped by the tourist office in Queenstown, and they found us a great last minute deal on a 2-bedroom suite here. With views over the lake, the room had a well-stocked open-plan kitchen, dining table indoor & out, comfy living room and 2 bedrooms, both ensuite. The decor is neutral and won't wow you, but the place feels modern, is really well laid out & comfy, and the views & outdoor space are fantastic. It is a short (10-minute) walk out of town, but for me this was a plus because it was away from the backpacker bustle of the city centre. The hotel also has a shared outdoor entertaining/BBQ area that you can use, and secure indoor parking. A couple of the staff seemed a bit inexperienced and gave incorrect info but were all friendly and eager. While it is nice to cook in the suite, do yourself a favor and make sure to go to Botswana Butchery for a least one meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora MayWhentee

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have been training staff recently, could I asked you to email me directly on donna.stewart@peppers.co.nz with more inforatmation with regards to this. As I would like to ensure we are giving the correction information out.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

- Nice room (we stayed 5 nights in a 2-room Garden View).
- Friendly staff.
- Great value if you get a special deal.
- Wifi only in reception, and only free for 10 mins. Our plan also had 30 mins wired internet free in our room, which isn't very long so we didn't use it.
- No DVD player in room, but available if you ask for one. (Not region-free).
- Good breakfast! (included in our plan)
- Garden area is safe for small children.
- Easy walk to center of town, and the lake is right across the road.
- Easy underground parking.
- Our room didn't have washing machine, but shared laundry is free.
- Almost nobody else staying there, but lots of painting was being done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Mark S

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team.

The Courtyard Painting as now been complated.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted a value for money over night stay. At $125 per night this was good value for the location B UT .... the smell in the reception area (a very unpleasant
cleanser dominated everywhere even in the out side corridors leading to my room. There was no air con and on a day which reached 29 degrees the rooms were hot.

When asked for Soy Milk the duty manager was not helpful ... he just said 'we dont have that' .. he could have told us that there was a convenience grocery 250 metres away.

The access through a car park dictated by the duty manager was grotty ... there is an alternative through an open courtyard up one further floor but we discovered this by accident

Not a place to linger.

Room Tip: chose a room with a proper balcony ... not just a half door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Mary G

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us.

You are very correct with the title of your comments, “It is the small things that matter”. Here at Peppers Beacon we all very focus on ensure a wonderful guest experience for each individual guest that stays with us.

It is very disappointing to read that you were not directed to the nearest Convenience Store by the person who you spoke with. We do normally carry both soya and rice milk as an alternative to dairy in The Galley our Breakfast Restaurant. I will remind the team that this is also an alternative to the milk in room in future.

With regards to the smell of our chemicals, we use Eco Lab products throughout the property.

Peppers Beacon is built in two blocks, to capture the great Lake views. We do suggest to guests checking in to use the underground car park when checking in to their room in the back building, as there is not any stairs and they can cross easily under cover.
Normally the receptionist staff advises arriving guests also of the facilities that include the BBQ and our lovely courtyard area. I will also remind the team of the importance of this information for the future.

I look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked Peppers Beacon for a second stay, just one night. Super cheap booking on Wotif.com and must have been upgraded from partial lake view to the most fabulous balcony and view over Queenstown and out to the Remarkables. Great room nice and clean, light and airy. The only complaint is the welcome letter told us all about the minibar the booking on wotif.com said there would be a mini bar and the menu in the room spoke of the mini bar of which there was none. Reception was only too happy to bring us beer but unfortunatly it was warm, they also bought us an ice bucket, long wait to cool the beer, but all in all that was the only complaint a fantastic stay and would request room 1003 next time we book.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Ronni 1,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room with the fantastic views of Lake Wakatipu and Remarkables. Thank you for bringing the error regarding Mini Bar to our notice which has now been rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing