We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, excellent apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, excellent apartment”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Recently stayed with friends in a 3 bed apartment for 3 nights. Excellent facilities in the large apartment (very spacious) - very comfortable beds and an ensuite for each bedroom. Everything was very clean. Amazing views from the room although the weather prevented us from using the large balcony. Very easy 5 min walk into town. Reception staff were extremely helpful - recommended a restaurant and made the booking resulting in an excellent meal at Bella Cucina. This is a must stay location and will visit again. When visiting Queenstown must try the Fergburgers - again an easy walk from Peppers - and well worth the wait for the best burgers ever!

Room Tip: We had an apartment on the 8th floor and there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora Debbie B,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We, the Team at Beacon, are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything satisfactory during your stay.

We look forward to having you with us again in future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    446
    197
    102
    67
See reviews for
418
498
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent a fantastic three nights at Peppers with excellent facilities in the room and an amazing view. Location was also very good as it was only a short five minute walk to the centre of town. One small issue though is that this was the only place on our travels (and the best that we stayed at) where you couldn't get Wifi in the room. Overall however we loved our time there and would definitely come back in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora Rick L,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Peppers Beacon. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown with us.

With regards to Wifi, we are in the process of rolling out WiFi around the property which will take another couple of months and hoping that by your next stay we would be able to provide you with this service.

We look forward to having you with us again in future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here with the girlfriend for 3 nights in December. Booked a hotel room - there are also studio apartments available, so this review is based solely on the hotel room and the hotel itself, if you've booked an apartment in Peppers they look amazing but haven't stayed in one.
The hotel itself is ideally located, far enough away from all the noise and hustle and bustle of central Queenstown, but within about 5 mins walking distance along the lake front to everything the town has to offer.
As mentioned, we booked a hotel room. It had all that we could want and was clean and tidy. But we managed to have an adjoining room, and the door hadn't been locked between the rooms. So we were able to walk in to some random persons room and them in to ours. However, when we mentioned this to reception it was fixed immediately. Our room also had a nice view over the lake. So if you can try asking for a room at the from of the hotel, as the back wont give you much of a view of anything, even though they say mountain view, the back of the hotel is in a dip so you wont see much of anything at the rear of the hotel.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing three night stay here. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were warm and friendly and Queenstown in general is just spectacular whether in Summer or Winter. Would definitely recommend Peppers to anyone couples looking for somewhere nice to stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. This way you'll get a great view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyIrishMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia Ora JohnnyIrishMan

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was very disappointing to read that the adjoining door to your room was not lock off before you check in, please accept my apologies for this error. It was great however that this was rectified quickly by the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Recently stayed in the 2bed Junior suite 10th floor with hotel/studio next door same level for our family holiday for 2 nights in December 2012.
Excellent assistance getting the last minute reservation from the Resort staff for the Studio/Hotel room next door.
Clean spacious units, a bathroom for each bedroom a great idea...spa bath in master, super views.
Back bedroom a bit noisey with motor camp behind resort over the road, but not too bad.
Parking good and also secured through your apartment key for the evenings. The Hot tub and gym was not really that pleasant, quite hot and stuffy area. Breakfast room also an internal room which is a shame with such a fantastic location and views of the Lake !
Sadly we did not get time for the Breadmaker to enjoy some freshly baked bread in our apartment.
Charlotte at Reception made sure we had all we required each time we asked :)) Thanks

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning at this Resort, so hot evenings can be a bit hard for sleeping....altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia Ora Gay B

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our property is built for the Winter with double glazing, underfloor heating etc, however in the summer we encourage guests to open up the balcony door to allow for the air flow.
I will ensure that your comments are passed onto Charlotte.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at Peppers Beacon for eight nights over Christmas 2012. The service we received from all the staff was great. They did everything they could to accommodate our wishes and made our stay the truly memorable holiday that it was! The view from our balcony can only be described as breathtaking. Queenstown is one of the most picturesque places in the world with so much to see and do. I can't wait to return - this time in the winter. I would definitely stay at Peppers Beacon and recommend it to anyone lucky enough to be going to such a beautiful place.Thank you to all the staff who helped make it so great for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor have the best views of the lake and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia Ora Judith N

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team. We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, the room was great, good size and good bathroom. It also had a good selection of TV channels which was good because I was jetlagged and up at the crack of dawn.

The location was great too, within two minutes you can be in the centre of town, we used the Spa too

I would definitely stay there again on a return.

P.S - Queenstown is amazing !!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Kia Ora Allan22

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It was wonderful that your enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

I hope you have a wondeful New Year in New Zealand.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Peppers Beacon for three nights over Christmas 2012. From the outset the level of service received was extremely disappointing. The member of staff who looked after us at reception had clearly received very little training and had poor communication skills. When we asked to change room we were given conflicting information and were left very confused. Further the staff did not offer to transport our heavy bags to our room, which smelled stale on arrival. Staff training issues aside, much of the problem with this hotel stems from its design: from the dark and dingy reception, to the makeshift gym and spa (no windows), breakfast room with again no windows, it is clear that corners have been cut. This extends right down to noise: we were placed in an adjoining room with a connecting door without proper noise insulation, resulting in a disrupted night's sleep. The makeshift fake Christmas trees dotted around the hotel looked extremely naff and were reflective of the level of service we received during our fortunately short three night stay. The questionable value for money is further undermined by the 1.5% card fee applied on check out. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Push back if you are given a tiny box room at the front of the hotel with noise from the road. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewjsmith114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Kia Ora andrewsmith114

It was very disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Also that you found the property of poor design.
We do have staff training at present as we are about to go into our busy Summer season, however this should never reflect on the service that we are providing to our guests, and for this I do apologise.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Queenstown.


Regards Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing