We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incompetent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“incompetent service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a nice property. Spacious living areas look out to the lake. Good sized bedrooms and bathrooms. All rooms are well appointed. Plenty of glasses and plates in the kitchen. A quiet 2-drawer dishwasher. Large fridge. A 5-minute walk to the town centre - close, without being hassled by the tourists. Too bad the incompetent service staff spoiled the stay. We were informed that wifi was available. Each staff had different view of whether it was only available in some rooms, whether only broadband would be available, whether there was a trial that allowed only 2 devices to hook in. It took an hour of asking, and then further exploration to sort this simple issue out. Three of us were sharing, and when I arrived, they were able to confirm my existence under the name of the person who make the booking. As my bag was delayed, the reception confirmed that the bag would be brought to my room. But when Air New Zealand called with news of the arrival of my delayed bag, they were informed by reception that I didn't exist. When I asked for a taxi booking, giving my name, a taxi arrived indicating they were there to pick up the person whose name the room was booked under. How incomponent can you get. We decided to stop asking questions as we no longer had confidence in the staff. Queenstown is full of young travellers on working visas, but this reception seemed not to be just itinerant foreign workers. In any case, management needs to pay attention to systems and training. A beautiful facility is otherwise spoiled by the experience of service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Kia Ora Vivian2010_10


Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to read your comments of the property and it location. However it is very disappointing to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay with communication. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 64 3 441 0890 or email: donna.stewart@peppers.co.nz

Regards Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    421
    184
    94
    63
See reviews for
382
464
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here to meet up with some family who were staying elsewhere for my sister's 13th birthday.

We booked one of the cheaper rooms that came with breakfast and stayed for 4 nights.

The room itself, which was on the 7th floor, was clean but also very small. The bathroom was clean and water pressure was fine. The heating in the room was fantastic, it was quite cold weather when we stayed. We were directly by the elevators, the noise from them didn't affect us but other guests that were checking out very early in the morning did disturb us.

The worst bit however, was that our room was interconnecting to the next one. It clearly was right next to their kitchen and we could hear absolutely every word. We were woken multiple times by children crying, adults arguing, people shouting in different languages and also a drunken party. We didn't complain to reception as this was not directly the hotel's fault. Next time though we would definitely ask to have our room changed!

Staff were friendly and greeted us whenever we walked past including maintenance staff which was nice.

Breakfast was good and fresh with a nice selection. A special mention to the man that was around for the breakfast buffet, sorry, can't remember his name but he was relatively new and from Australia. He greeted us every morning and came to us for a chat!

We were looking forward to using the spa and gym but neither was really up to normal hotel standards so we didn't bother.

We would stay here again however not in the same room type we booked just due to the noise from the adjoining room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Kia Ora TravellingCraigs

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed aspects of your stay.
With regards to the noise from the room next door, we would have no hesitation in addressing these issues to ensure you were able to enjoy your stay.
The gym at present has a bike and running machine, we are awaiting a new cable machine to arrive to replace the free weights.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcoming back to Queenstown and also to our property.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay if you have some spare coin, is it worth it? Absolutely ! Book it. If you are staying for longer than 3 or more days, as you do want to sit back on your balcony to enjoy the view, take lake view room, high floor

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Kia Ora Jonny21

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you all back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location and views. Beds and rooms are a great size and comfortable. Kitchen/lounge had every thing we needed. Bathrooms are lovely and clean - children loved the deep bath.
Perfect for our family of 6, would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Kia Ora Sel101

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team. We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This looks like the perfect place to spend your time in Queenstown, BUT there are a few drawbacks. The place is situated in a great place, potentially great views, close to town centre (5mins), free parking, big rooms, great kitchens and living areas in the 2 bedroom apartments. But it comes with drawbacks which are:
1. Beds - the "double bed" is actually two single beds put together - very soft and in our opinion a poor quality bed. Expected much better in this Pseudo 5star hotel.
2. Heating - you have no control of the heating in your apartment. If it is too hot you open the windows, if too cold - tough - use a blanket! The manager claims they can control each apartment - but this was after the fact and in the room there is no control available to you.
3. Leisure Facility - we used the spa once - it is nice but when my daughter was leaving she found several pieces of glass on the floor. Not what you expect!!
4. Scenic Views - we had an apartment on level 7 - the view is terribly obscured by the other buildings of this hotel and the hotel next door. We paid a more than $100 premium for this view! We were very upset and the response from the hotel was "as the room type what you have booked and we have confirmed was what we have allocated you". So to them an obscured view is the same a full lake view which a lot of rooms have. (this is a direct quote from their email)
5. Baths in room - all the pictures show a bath in each room, the room they gave us was with a shower only. We were changed to one with a bath but were asked "why we had not requested this?". So if you want it request it.

Overall the place has great potential but basically you pay too much for this place and you can find better other places for much less money. The service is not great and the beds are extremely poor for a pseudo 5star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Kia Ora Johnandlucia

It was very disappointing to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 64 3 441 0890 or email: donna.stewart@peppers.co.nz

Regards Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved QUeenstown and this hotel, we spent 3 nights at peppers and never hd to take the car out of the car park, walk to town. Room was great, bed was very comfortabl and had everything we needed. Even able too cook your own meals if you desire but with such a great restaurant choice in walking distance why would you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassitaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Kia Ora Tassitaveller

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us.
What was your personal pick of the restaurants, that you tried whist you where in Queenstown?
We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Peppers Beacon in September. It is really a lovely hotel, we stayed in a studio room and we had a separate bedroom with a small lounge dining room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and well serviced during or stay. It had the best heating out of the 7 hotels that we stayed in on our trip. It was freezing when we were there so we were very grateful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Kia Ora Suedill

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing