We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Is there a better "village" than Queenstown New Zealand? We just had the best time. Plenty of activities - adventure plus. The restaurants are amazing thanks to the wonderful local produce.
We stayed at Peppers Beacon - Peppers are a favourite of ours. If you are going to Queenstown you must stay within walking distance of the centre of town. the Beacon is less than 5 mins and you get to walk alongside the beautiful lake which makes it so special.
Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment - we had 2 teenage boys with us. It was huge. Balcony overlooking lake. Gass fireplace. Full kichen. Room was serviced every day. What more can you ask for?? very special
There is only a breakfast room which was fine as you really want to enjoy all the restaurants in town - hence the need to be able to walk. The hotel even had priority booking at some very hard to get into places - apparently part of their gourmet food trail
We went skiing and the hotel helped with hire, getting to the slopes and they have great storage and drying room.
Whole family loved this hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you stay within walking distance of town centre - we saw other properties which were cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havingfun43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Kia Ora havingfun43

Thank you for taking the time to provide your great feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. It is great that you were able to be involved with Peppers Beacon Gourmet Food Trail.
The Gourmet Food Trail is being promoted through all Peppers properties in Australia and New Zealand. This is helping us to align our properties and brand with like minded suppliers and partner that are also passionate about food as we all at Peppers.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future


Kind regards

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Newly renovated with beautiful panoramic views of the lake and surrounding hills and mountains. Excellent walking distance to shops restaurants and entertainment. Safe car parking. Quiet bedrooms fully equipped kitchen with open plan lounge and dining . Gas flame fire in main lounge area for cosy nights. Beautiful bathrooms ensuite to each bedroom. Handy laundry facilities incroom with extra laundry facilities available to anyone requiring multiple loads at same time. Beautiful cosy breakfast room with personalised service from chef. Friendly helpful staff service from every member of staff. Situated directly below Skyline the position views service and standard of renovation made this our most memorable part of trip in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelDanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Kia Ora Rachel

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel faces the lake and the view from our one bedroom apartment were spectacular. This hotel is very well appointed and has great kitchen and living facilities but the shower let it down, I would have to say.However, it was great value for money, warm,cosy and close to everything. We had a very enjoyable stay there.
This apartment would also be ideal with family and friends.

Room Tip: If you get a bargain off the net may well be worth paying a little more for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Kia Ora

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in a two bedroom apartment with our two teenaged kids. We had fantastic service from Leo and James at the front desk - nothing was too much trouble for them. We loved the touch of the freshly baked bread upon our arrival. Beds were comfy, loved the fireplace and having a wine on the balcony in the evening watching the sun go down over the remarkables was...well remarkable! The location is perfect with just a short stroll into town. The only downside was no wireless internet in the rooms. Apart from that it was all lovely and we didn't want to leave - it really felt like a home away from home (but posher!)

Room Tip: definitely worth paying a bit extra for a room with a balcony facing the lake, especially if like us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Kia Ora Miranda

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto James and Leo of their great service.
With regards to wireless internet in all guests’ rooms, we are in the final stages of this project and plan to have this completed in December 2012.
We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a family ski week and while we were amazed at the views and large lounge and beautiful kitchen when we arrived, the trip quickly soured. The soundproofing in this hotel is ABYSMAL. There were people staying in the room which shared our corridor and we could hear them until about 2am. We could also hear the people above us, especially when they used the toilet... yuck... and we could hear all the people walking past on the path outside or drunkenly stumbling down the road that the property backs onto. when the delivery trucks next door arrived at 6am we were abruptly awoken by their clattering and banging. This was not a relaxing holiday as everyone was exhausted.

We also noted that throughout our stay the room was only vacuumed twice. The bathrooms were never cleaned, they just replaced the shampoo and towels. One day they emptied the bathroom rubbish bin but left the bag of rubbish next to the bin (weird).

For the price we paid (rack rate!) we were very disappointed. Sorry Peppers but we won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Apparently the eighth floor is good (it doesnt have the road behind it so it might be quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skikiwi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Kia Ora Skikiwi22

It was very disappointing to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 64 3 441 0890 or email: donna.stewart@peppers.co.nz

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Peppers Beacon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Arrived on an early flight, left our bags with reception and went out exploring.
On our return we checked in, enquired about our bags (which i expected would have been sent up to our room, but no we got an apology as they hadn't got around to this even though it was 4.30ish and rooms are available from 2.) The room was large, very clean & we were surprised to have a view of the lake. The bathroom was small but well equipped with the heated floor being an added extra not often found at hotels. The bed was comfortable & the hotel very quiet. The shower had amazing pressure. The clock radio didn't work but was quickly replaced. The location was great especially during the rain didn't get too wet heading out for meals. The spa was a little too hot & claustrophobic so only used once. The manager introduced herself on departure which was lovely. Kiri helped out on our departure to find out if the airport was open as due to snow some flights were cancelled. Would think about staying again & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Kia Ora NZsmith,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we certainly are looking forward to have you again at Peppers Beacon.

I apologies for the inconvenience caused due to luggage not being delivered to your room. This has been discussed with all the Team members so it does not happen again in future.

Kiri is happy to hear about your feedback and we all are looking forward to have you with us in near future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic views over the lake. Location is very good, only a quick stroll down to the wharfs with a large range of restaurant and bar options. Staff were very knowledgable about the local area, activities and restaurants, and would always take the time to answer any questions about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Kia Ora Mark M,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is ecstatic to know that they were able to assist you so you could have best expereince of Queenstown.

We look forward to having you again with us in nesr future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $147 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. Prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing