We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to town, bathrooms need upgrading, good value”
Review of Caples Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caples Court
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Booked the end unit upstairs which has views of the lake from some of the windows; outside terrace to enjoy the views from (shared with other guests). Only 5 minutes walk into town, spacious room with kitchen, small kitchen table with 3 chairs and 2 easy chairs. Large comfortable double bed. No heated towel rail or extractor fan in the small bathroom space, which is in need of an urgent upgrade. Friendly new owners told me they are planning an upgrade of the rooms. Good value for Queenstown, given it's proximity to town. On the bus route to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 259 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were booked in to stay a few nights after our tramp. When my husband arrived early with a bad back and a depressed ego, (having abandoned our walk), Robin and Kay sorted him out with a few extra nights accomodation and helped him to get around. Although the rooms are in need of a little work, they're very clean, bright, conveniently located and affordable. The hosts were generous with their time, helpful and very service oriented. A drop off to the airport was also no trouble at all. Lovely couple, I'd go back just to see them - and how much they're working to improve Caples Court.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked a studio room with just a garden view which was cheaper I think. There is no lift but that suited us fine. Kay is very helpful and friendly. She helped us to book and enquire about tours which interested us. The location is good, just a short walk (about 20 metres) across the hotel is the pick-up point for tours/buses and a short walk downhill is the main town. The room has a living room and bedroom. Our room has no kitchen and the provisions like coffee, tea, hot chocolate, a kettle, sink, microwave and fridge for basic meal preparation was what we needed. Room is comfortable with a great electric blanket and heaters in the living room and bathroom. High level of cleanliness. Free Wi-Fi too. Choose a room on a higher floor if you prefer the views of Queenstown.

Room Tip: Enquire with the owners beforehand if you would like a room with a view and prefer not to take the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Very obliging hosts who stored our gear whilst we were tramping. They went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The apartments have lake views and are located within an easy walking distance of the centre of Queenstown. We have no hesitation in recommending this place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarkKeaney1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were greeted by Robin & Kay & we also stayed in Room #6 which had a great view of the mountain (you can watch the gondolas go up & down the mountain) as well as the harbor. Amply stocked with all the necessities & the beds were VERY comfortable. We stayed for our last 2 nights in New Zealand before flying back to Auckland & then to the States. We were so glad it was in walking distance to the downtown area where all the restaurants were ....... the parking downtown was IMPOSSIBLE!! This is a great choice if you are exploring Queenstown - worth the $240 we spent per night. Thanks Robin & Kay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LUVU2MUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here last week and was really touched by hospitality of both Robin and Kay. They were friendly and easily accessible. Our room (#6) had very good views and thankfully we did not have to take stairs as we were travelling with elders and our little boy. Caples Court is very near to the town center and that is another big plus. Though the walk back from town center is bit up the hill, cabs from the town center to Caples Court is not that expensive ($7). The room was clean and reasonably priced. I will definately recommend Caples Court.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanmoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great accommodation with a nice view (lake and mountain). The room was clean with good kitchen facilities and free Wi-Fi. It's a short walk to the lake and the town center. The new owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infodaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Lodge
Melbourne Lodge
#11 of 45 in Queenstown
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earnslaw Lodge
Earnslaw Lodge
#14 of 93 in Queenstown
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Peaks Lodge
Blue Peaks Lodge
#34 of 59 in Queenstown
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caples Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caples Court

Address: 20 Stanley Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $112 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caples Court 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Caples Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caples Court Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing