We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, helpful people and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caples Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caples Court
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, helpful people and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Caples Court. The owners were so nice and helpful, the location was great - especially for the price - and the room suited our purpose perfectly. Also, Sky Movies and Sky Sport and free wi-fi were great.

The owners knew we were travelling with our young son so put us in the bottom unit where he had a grass area to play outside, they also printed off a voucher from one of those one day deal sites for us - neither expected but very much appreciated.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_H85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    67
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
49
124
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whangarei
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A gem in Queenstown - very reasonably priced, clean, comfy bed, view out to the lake, a short walk to shops and cafes. Reception people were really helpful, let us park our car until the afternoon. Tea, coffee, milk supplied, and plunger coffee. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a weekend in Queenstown and stayed at Caples Court. Its 5 minutes walk to town, the single Bedroom unit was clean and sunny - bed was comfy too. It was quiet with nice views and had free to air TV, wifi and good water pressure for the shower.Owners were friendly and directed us to a great restaurant just down the hill. Their nightly rate was affordable and the place was full. We think this place is hard to beat for value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location, lovely hosts and liked the floorplan for the studio - great price too!
Arrived, parked the car and didn't touch until leaving. Booked another night in a week as such good value and location.
Not sure what else can say - great water pressure as well and lots if hit water

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The room we got was top notch with balcony overlooking the town and the couple running the place could not have been more helpful when our car broke down they were offering us lifts into town, to the supermarket, they also gave us a nice discount on the room too as we were staying for a week. The room was really nice complete with kitchenette nice bathroom,flat-screen tv with sky and a comfy couch and bed. Really was excellent all around.

Room Tip: Room 7 is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The location of Caples is really great. You're within walking distance of all the cafes and bars of Queenstown, yet you get to work off at least some of those calories on the hill back to the motel. The owners are very friendly, and fairly new (as she told me she had only been there 3 weeks). The room smelled a little moldy, but I got used to that pretty quickly, and otherwise the room looked perfectly clean. Nice little kitchen and lots of lounging space.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NinaB703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked this hotel months before my trip to Queenstown, and a few days before we were due to arrive I got an email asking if our booking was still required because the previous owners had been evicted. This made me stress a little as I was no longer sure we even had a booking! The website had been shut down and the phone number disconnected so I panicked.

We eventually got a hold of the hotel and all was sorted. Upon arriving to the hotel in Queesntown, my partner and I thought we'd booked a bit of a dingey place and were a little worried. The outside honestly doesn't look flash at all but we bit our tongues and checked in.

All I can say about the lovely couple that now own this property is WOW! I've never met two nicer people in my life and they really did make our stay so enjoyable! We received a friendly smile & a seemless check in, as well as 1GB of free wifi for the week and a bottle of milk for morning coffee. Straight away we knew we'd get the small family hospitality feel rather than the big hotel chain rudeness you'd usually get.

The room was better than expected, with a little dining room table and two chairs, a 2 seater couch, a small kitchen with stove top cooking facilities/fridge/microwave/toaster/kettle etc. The Queen bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was clean and relatively new looking. To say we were adequately warm during our stay there would be an understatement as they had a wall mounted heater, a plug in heater, heated towel racks and also a very powerful hot heater in the bathroom - you almost didn't want to leave the room and go outside! The rooms were also cleaned daily which you usually don't get with apartments so that was a good bonus.

There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs which we sat on almost every day, beautiful views of the mountains (and you can see the luge/gondola) and lots of sunshine. The hotel is a short walk into town and also right where most transer companies pick up/drop off for mountain transfers.

Unfortunately our return flight was cancelled due to weather conditions and this was the first hotel we thought of asking for a room for the night. They had availability and even upgraded us for chosing them again so we had a bigger room and even better views! We were even offered a lift to the airport in the morning.

I can't speak highly enough of Robin & Kay - they know what good service is and absolutely provided it. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Would defintely go with the high level on the far side nearest the water for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caples Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caples Court

Property: Caples Court
Address: 20 Stanley Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caples Court 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caples Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caples Court Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing