We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Package”
Review of Caples Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caples Court
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprise Package”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had booked 3 nights at Caples via the internet. Upon arrival, we were somewhat uneasy at the building's appearance as it seemed a little on the tired side. After receiving the room key from the friendly and helpful manager, we were completely surprised to find that our room was quite spacious and had a fantastic view of the town lakefront - we could see the SS Earnshaw coming and going - as well as a view of the chair lift. There was a bench seat on the verandah/landing where one could enjoy these views as well. The room was very clean and the kitchenette was well equipped. Stanley Street is very busy during the day but traffic reduced significantly at night and there were no noise issues.
The walk downhill into town took only a few minutes; rather than worry about the uphill walk on return, we just thought of it as exercise. Queenstown is full of restaurants and cafes to suit all tastes and budgets, however we cooked own own meal in the unit each night.
Unlike many motels, the laundry facilities are free for guests although it may take a bit of time to complete washing & drying as the machines are also used by staff for the accommodation linen.
There is under cover parking on the premises and our car remained there for the duration of our stay as we walked everywhere. Highly recommend visiting the botanical gardens - just beautiful.
Overall a little gem of a place and one in which which we would definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to return to NZ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    72
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
55
133
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First appearances were a little concerning but whilst olde the unit was clean, comfortable, and had everything you needed,we could walk easily into town, gondola etc and the views were wonderful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: On a busy road so towards the back and on up the stairs to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in Queenstown. The location is great as you can just walk for about 5 minutes to get to the town center. Suitable for long or short stay. Nice view of the whole of Queenstown from the room. Facing the lake. The room is clean as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thenaturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in early August. Room was a good size and had a great view of the town and lake. The small kitchen was an added bonus complete with some basic pots and pans. The walk to town was about 5 minutes. We started cutting through the place next door rather than taking the bigger hill up and I think that was easier. It was quiet throughout the night and morning. My only complaint is that the room did get pretty cold. There was a heater in the room but it wasn’t anything great and it always gets turned off during the day. The bed was warm with an electric blanket.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blr5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. It was a great location - literally up a small hill from the city center (a 5 minute walk). 4 of us stayed here and found it just the right size. The beds were comfy and even had electric blankets which were most useful when the temperature dropped! It had a good lounge/dining area and a small, but clean kitchen. All in all a great stay and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we stayed here for a week, although motel was small, was enough room for two. the view was spectacular from balcony. was dissapointed we had to ask for sheets to be changed after 4 days. toilet or basin was not cleaned once over a week long stay.the free laundry was also used for motel lien, so only could wash at night, and just to add bella the office girl was very nice

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spend 3 days at Caples Court with our family of 4. While it was compact, it was also very comfortable. The two sofas were great for lounging around. We enjoyed sitting on the outside balcony with our drinks. Best of all the beds were really comfortable. We all slept well. The free laundry and dryer were most welcome after three days tramping. The only downsides were the steep short walk up the hill - but its queenstown. And it is on a busy road. We were in unit 6 which had a lovely view through the big window. It did also face another apartment lounge next door - but no-one was there so we had privacy.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caples Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caples Court

Property: Caples Court
Address: 20 Stanley Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caples Court 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caples Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caples Court Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing