We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason this is hard to book!...Because...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2009

...Everybody wants to stay with Carroll and Reg. The rave reviews are well-deserved. After a long day of driving we couldn't have asked for a better place to rest and relax. (We were traveling with our 11 year old son and he insisted on giving Crown View more than 5 stars).
To avoid sounding like a complete copy of other generous reviewers I must add that the plumbing was especially impressive (when you chat with Reg and Carroll please mention the plumbing review -- an inside joke they'll appreciate).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumzaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Crown View Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

Crown View is a very special place and Caroll and Reg and their two Westies are very special people. The drive down to Queenstown from Bruce Bay had been an amazing day, the wow factor for the scenery had gone off the scale, we were on a high and just when you think it can't get any better you arrive at Crown View, where you are greeted like long lost friends.

Our room was on the first floor with en suite shower, beautifully decorated and furnished and with views over the Crown Range. I think it was the smallest of the 3 bedrooms but there is plenty of other space for the exclusive use of guests; a landing area with easy chairs, a balcony to sit out on and a separate guest lounge and dining room on the ground floor. Not that we spent that much time inside, the prime location for the wonderful breakfasts and evening drinks is the large garden table on the lawn which probably has one of the finest views in the Queenstown area.
From a location point of view you get the best of both worlds, it is far enough out of Queenstown to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside and yet close enough to both Queenstown and Arrowtown, (about 15 mins drive from each), to partake of both daytime and night time activities. And on your return from a night out, warm and friendly hospitality is dispensed from Reg and Caroll's lounge, it really is a very easy place to relax.
Things to do while you are there; we highly recommend both Dart River and Shotover Jetboating, the first for scenic value the second for thrills. Sailing the America's Cup yacht NZL 14 on the lake is also good fun, but could have done with a bit more wind.

This was one of the best places we stayed during our 2 month tour of North & South Islands and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Caroll and Reg were great hosts and the accommodation had everything, great location midway between Queenstown and Arrowtown, amazing views, excellent facilities. Caroll greeted us with refreshments on the upstairs deck. Our room was very comfortable with a fantastic bed. Wonderful breakfasts taken on the patio. The only trouble was we compared every other place with Crown View which was very unfair as we decided that the hosts made it exceptional. They certainly went the extra mile!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lroadlesstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We booked the Crown View based on reviews here, and the reality was even better. Traveling with our 2 year old and 4 year old, we were a little weary of what to expect. We shouldn't have worried because from the moment we got there, the whole family absolutely loved it!

We had spent four nights in Queenstown, and then moved to Crown View for our remaining three nights. It was the best part of our trip. For us, we loved the views, location, and especially the hospitality. Caroll and Reg made us feel so welcome and comfortable. And with two small children in tow, that was such a relief. The kids were fascinated with feeding the sheep, alpacas and chickens. My daughter thought collecting eggs each day and bringing them down to the end of the drive for selling was the best thing ever. She still talks about Mr. Boss Man (the rooster). We also loved the two Westies, Archie and Duffy.

We are expats in Hong Kong, and the Crown View provided us with everything we were looking for - a small farm located in a beautiful setting with warm, welcoming and very helpful hosts. The breakfasts were great, and we barbequed out one night while the kids ran around the yard. We just enjoyed being there instead of having to go out all the time. This was our fourth trip to New Zealand, and the Crown View will remain one of the most memorable times.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ginger12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We had an experience with 3 B&Bs in South island and Crown View was the one where the website did not do justice to the offering - reality was infinitely better!

While booking the acco I was a little concerned about the location as it seemed from a map to be in neither QT nor Arrowtown. This is correct - what the map cannot capture is that Crown View is an easy and scenic 10 minute drive from Arrowtown and 12 minutes from Queenstown. And the quiet and setting of the location beats anything available in far busier QT.

The hosts Reg & Carroll give a true experience of staying on a working farm. They are both lovely, warm people and the rooms are spotless. Being able to do laundry (included in the tariff) and dry it on Caroll's lines so it gets the incredible sunshine is an unexpected bonus as are their lovely dogs Duffy and Archie!

We enjoyed Crown View so much that on our first day we spent the better part of the afternoon relaxing in their home with books and never went to the seafood restaurant I'd selected for our second day. Instead we bought Turkish kebabs and after a glass of wine with our hosts we enjoyed their ample grounds and outstanding views for dinner.

We would defi go back to Crown View - QT I'm not so sure!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saandaainhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Highly recommend Crown View B&B.

The views from their lovely home are awesome. You get a nice view of the Queenstown mountains and all the greenery surrounding it. The hosts are superb. They will do everything possible and then go beyond to make sure your stay is super comfortable.

Delicious breakfast, comfortable rooms, nice views and within easy driving distance to downtown Queenstown.

Thanks Reg and Caroll for a wonderful stay! We will always remember our trip to Queenstown thanks to your hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kaunhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

When you hug the owner of your accommodation at the end of your stay, then you know it's been pretty special. We stayed in 6 different places on our trip, most of them quite nice, but this is the one we still talk about.

Caroll and Reg, as said in all the reviews below, are terrific friendly and helpful hosts of a beautifully looked after home.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Great beds and lovely bathroom with a full bath. The breakfast is more than you could hope for. My kids fell in love with their two cute West Highland terriers, Archie and Duffman.

The property, and the views around it, make you want to take up landscape painting.

And it must be said that the price wasn't bad either. For a similar price you can find a small impersonal hotel room, but why would you want that when you can be somewhere as lovely as this?

The house is halfway between Queenstown and Arrowtown, and was a good escape from the busy-ness of Queenstown.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
631 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 57 in Queenstown
894 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
191 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $121 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Bed And Breakfast
Crown View Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing