We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duffy Chewed on my Driver's License”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Duffy Chewed on my Driver's License”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Crown View was in our top 3 places out of the 13 we stayed after our 30 day Australia/New Zealand/Bora Bora trip.

By early evening of our first day in New Zealand, we arrived exhausted after a long flight from Tasmania. We were greeted by Reg and Caroll, a Westie named Archie, and a Westie puppy named Duffy. We had a glass of wine with Reg and Caroll, enjoyed their humor, unpacked our bags, and drove to Arrowtown to have dinner at The Stables at their recommendation. About 10:00 PM, I panicked because I couldn’t find my driver’s license. Thinking it was a “rookie” at the car rental at the airport, Carol said “No worries, I’ll call them ‘straight away’ in the morning – you get a good night’s sleep." My wife was having a toubling cough so Carol and Reg gave my wife some Vick’s Vaporub.

After sleeping 9 hours and while Caroll was calling the rental company, Reg discovers my driver’s license on the kitchen floor. Duffy had placed it there after finding it the night before, chewing on it, and hiding it. You can’t get mad at a puppy and we all had a great laugh! My driver’s license looks like it is in Braille!

We were breathless at the view of the Remarkables mountain range outside of Caroll and Reg’s window, we could use their computer at any time without charge, and they even did our laundry. On an overcast morning, at Carroll's suggestion, we went to Wanaka up the "wine road" as Caroll calls it and back on the Crown Range road when the sun came out and the sights were spectacular! Beware – this road is pretty windy but it was worth it.

The next day was spectacular and Caroll and I agreed to reserve a plane tour of Milford Sound. Since my wife was feeling worse, Carol set up an appointment with a physician in Queenstown before our noon flight. After getting some Erythromycin, we headed for the airport. The flight-cruise-flight to Milford Sound was amazing! The beautiful sky, Southern Alps, and Tasman Sea were brilliant!

We made it a point to buy some wine for Caroll and Reg as a thank you for their hospitality. BTW, this is the only place we did this! The next morning, we said our goodbyes to Caroll, Reg, and my friend Duffy. They were so supportive of Jan’s health and getting us various appointments and reservations. You truly do leave as friends

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

Trusting in some of the reviews already on this website, we decided to alter our original plans by staying 2 nights at Crown View rather than in Queenstown.

It is not often a place you've already heard great things about actaully exceeds all expectations - but Reg & Carol's fantastic property and their wonderful hospitality make this a rare excpetion.

Everything was just as you could want it - beautiful rooms & facilities, cozy lounging areas, the *amazing* views, delicious breakfasts - the list goes on. But most of all - coming back from a long day out to a relaxing fireside chat over a glass of wine, made the trip so much more than just a stay at a lodging.

We already miss the company of Reg & Carol - and of course Archie & Duffy - the two best westies you'll ever meet ! Throw in the chooks, alpacas, sheep, peacocks, cows and truly the Crown View motto 'Come as a guest, leave as a friend' couldn't be more appropriate.

All we can say further is .. cannot wait to come back !!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed with Carroll and Reg (and their lovely dogs Archie and Duffy) for 2 nights in early August and were thoroughly spoilt for the duration of our stay. Our room was extremely comfortable and beautifully presented, the bed turned down for us each evening and a very well appointed bathroom provided next door for our sole use (the only place we stayed where we could soak in the bath as well as having a shower!). Breakfast was generous and tasted great (with eggs from Carroll's chickens) and we loved the evening snacks we were given to eat whilst enjoying the spectacular views from the front windows of Crown View - out over the snow-tipped mountains. We will definitely be back to stay again if we make a return trip to New Zealand. Thanks Carroll and Reg!

  • Liked — Being completely spoilt by the hosts! - it was luxury
  • Disliked — The only draw-back I can think of is having to drive to get dinner (in Arrowtown or Queenstown)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Such a great place to spend a long weekend, Caroll and Reg make you feel comfortable from the moment you walk through the door.
We will surely go back again and again and again....

  • Liked — The amazing super king size bed!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Giulias81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

All good things said about this place and the hosts (Caroll and Reg) are true. This B&B has remarkable views of the REMARKABLES.

Generous breakfast everyday; Free WiFI; Free Laundry; Easy to book tours through Caroll (with same prices as in the Tourist Information Center in QTW or on site) and very lenient policy towards kitchen use -- We almost emptied Caroll's cupboard to prepare a feast of Grilled Lamb and Salad which our family shared with Caroll and Reg.

Getting there by public transport might limit your travel options around the area. From Crown View, its 10km to Cornet Peak; 7k to the Shotover Jetboat Venue; and 12km to Arrowtown (A must-visit town). And just driving around this area will thrill you with her spectacular views.

A place for privacy and tranquility seekers. One word to describe the place - MAGICAL. It's a "must-experience-kinda-place."


(For people with poor directional skills, like me, i've taken a snapshot of the GPS display of the exact address of this place). PS - Archie may be the star of the show, but Holly could use some credit (both lovely dogs).

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

Crown View B & B became our 'home away from home' for a week. The hosts Caroll & Reg Fraser were so warm and welcoming and the accommodation was 5 star! My husband and I had our own huge room with a king size bed and our two daughers had their own separate room which was fantastic. The bathroom was like being in a 5 star hotel with gorgeous touches such as locally made lavendar bath foam and hand cream. Caroll cooked us up a storm every morning and even allowed us a really long sleep in which was just what we needed. The kids enjoyed playing around the house in the mornings just as if they were at home. We would definately recommend staying at Crown View and would love to go back again - maybe to ski next time!!

  • Liked — The fact that we were actually in a very cosy house and had plenty of room/space.
  • Disliked — A bit hard to find - needs a lilght on at the street entrance!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Actingupdrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at a couple of B&Bs in the South Island during our recent honeymoon, and we must say that the standard of B&Bs there are excellent.

Crown View stood out amongst all the B&Bs we stayed at. Though the owners Reg and Carroll call their premises a 'farmstay', I believe a more appropriate description would be a 'luxurious accomodation housed in a farm'!

They have 2 guest rooms - we stayed 3 nights in the beautiful larger bedroom with a private toilet (with a bathtub and separate shower), and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The living room for guests to relax is tastefully decorated with lovely paintings and little trinkets.

The breakfasts were great and servings were generous! If it's not raining/ too cold, you have the option of having an outdoor breakfast in their lawn, which boasts a spectacular view of the Remarkables!

Reg and Carroll are excellent hosts, and they would always prepare tea with delicious snacks for us whenever we came back from our day tours.

They have a lovely dog Archie as well (and we hear from them that he's gonna get a companion soon)!

The next time we go to New Zealand, we will definitely stay at Crown View!

  • Liked — Reg's and Carroll's hospitality!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank purpledino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#13 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
5.2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
4.7 mi away
Lake Vista Bed & Breakfast
Lake Vista Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Hotel Queenstown
Crown View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing