We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Special B&B”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Every review mentions Caroll and Reg, and for good reason. The setting is beautiful, the house is nice and homey, the eggs were straight from their little farm... but the hosts are one-of-a-kind. Caroll and Reg are some of the nicest people we've ever met, they go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable, and they are the reason that Crown View was our tied for our favorite B&B experience in New Zealand. The other one was the Walnut Tree in Eastbourne near Wellington. Two anecdotes that describe the quality of your hosts at Crown View...

1) We had to leave at 5:30 AM one morning, and Caroll offered to wake up early to serve us breakfast. It was such a nice gesture, especially since it was our final morning at Crown View. 2) I left my sweatshirt in our room, and Caroll shipped it back to the US; she paid the shipping fee and refused to be reimbursed. Truly wonderful people!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alegaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
710 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Crown View is an excellent place to stay with Carol and Reg to welcome you and look after your every need. Our en-suite room was well equipped and furnished. Breakfast was filling. The views are striking with a dusting of snow on the tops of the highest hills overnight when we were there. Crown View is conveniently placed if you are driving south from Wanaka on the direct road (a ‘must-do’ if you can rather than SH6). Arrowtown is a short drive away and well worth a visit. Queenstown is slightly further – but that’s ‘big-town NZ’ unlike Crown View.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at Crownview B&B in January 2014. Carol and Reg are wonderful hosts, the room cleaned and tidied each day and the property was delightful. The location between the historic and charming Arrowtown and Queenstown is convenient (you will need a car). Thank carol for the lovely cooked breakfasts, cereal and fruit. We feel thoroughly relaxed and ready to move on!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room, which was spacious with its own bathroom and spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turquoise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The only reason that Carol & Reg are crazy, is because they do so much for their guests that you are spoiled for the other B & B's. This is a farm stay - eight acres of peace and serenity. A blind lamb with a club foot that Carol has adopted. Two alpacas, great dogs (little ones) and you get Carol and Reg too!!!! We could not have hoped for a better B & B. If you are going to Queenstown, spoil yourselves and go to the best B & B that you will find!!!!! John & Laurie Horrocks - Canada

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room at the top left - the view out of the bathroom window is like a postcard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at Crown View in Sept 2013 and really enjoyed the two nights there! First, you will receive the warmest hospitality by Carol, whom she never tired of providing the best advice and service. The breakfast is delicious, room is clean & tidy and moreover, the unit is surrounded by excellent view and a tour to farmland will give you a relaxing day. Good locality as well, within 10 minutes to Coronet Peak & Arrowtown, and 20 minutes to Queenstown.

In short, if Carlsberg claim that they are "Probably the beer in the world", then Crown View should be the winner in the B&B category.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keano4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a lovely night stay at Crown View B&B in May 2013. It's not a B&B but instead really given us a warm and homely feel. Carol is such a lovely lady that really make both of us feel like staying at home. The room is perfectly clean and comfortable. Dining hall is so relaxing and it's all yours. Distance to town is about 10 to 15 mins drive. Breakfast is good and we had fresh apples picked on your own after breakfast.

Miss the doggies who accompany us tour around crown view farmland. And of course we missed Carol cute grandson whom we were so lucky to have him accompanied us throughout the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahsiangLWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After spending a few days in Queenstown and then a coach trip to Milford Sound, we welcomed the quiet rural beauty and wonderful hospitality we found at Crown View. The two guest rooms are within the family home, and Carol makes you feel like a member of the family--she is very attentive, welcoming, and accommodating. We also had the pleasure of visiting with her daughter Nicola and young grandson, as well as the family dogs, chickens, and sheep. The breakfasts are superlative and Carol will cook to your order, although don't pass up her homemade granola/muesli and fruit salad. You can eat outside, weather permitting, or inside, generally with the other guests. The room was very comfortable, the shower great. Given the more rural setting, you'll need a car--though don't attempt to find the driveway in the dark the first time you arrive! Nicola kindly picked us up in Queenstown and then took us to the airport the next morning to pick up our car. A real gem of a place and a lovely family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
5.2 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 43 in Queenstown
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Hotel Queenstown
Crown View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing