We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jimmy, Oscar and Molly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jimmy, Oscar and Molly”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Crown View is in a spectacular location, along a very windy road and up a private drive. Caroll, Reg and Dorothy gave us a tremendous welcome; Dorothy was helping out for a while with the smooth running of the accommodation. The views were incredible and the alpacas (J and O) and sheep (M) were fascinating. A very comfortable bedroom and fantastic bathroom made our stay even more memorable. Sitting out on the terrace upstairs or in the garden was a delight, and with Caroll booking our trips on the jets (Shotover and Dart) and an evening meal at the Amisfield Winery, we were able to achieve all we set out to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here just a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed ourselves. Caroll and Reg are great hosts and wiling to help you out with anything (we even arranged to leave our car and luggage with them when we did the Milford Track. We stayed with them a couple of nights prior to the hike, then another night after the hike. Caroll even gave us a lift to/from the Ultimate Hikes location in Queenstown when we did the Milford Track. Thanks Caroll!!

The views from their house are enviable, and they're just 15 minutes from downtown Queenstown (if you take the back way, which we HIGHLY recommend, as it bypasses all the traffic and stoplights going the other direction).

The rooms were impeccably clean, the breakfasts scrumptious and filling, and Caroll even let us use her washer and dryer (I'm not sure if this is the norm or not, but it was MUCH appreciated).

Be sure to see all the livestock (sheep, alpaca, and chickens), and play with Duffy and Archie (their two dogs).

If you're staying in the Queenstown area for any length of time, do yourself a favor and stay with Caroll and Reg. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the top-left bedroom upstairs (with separate private bath), as well as the one dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Crown View. Amazing view and exceptional location, with a real B&B feel, which is complimented by wonderful hosts. When we were there, the owners were out of town, but, the substitute inn-keeper was very friendly, helpful and just all around great! Breakfast was filling, with good variety. Afternoon "tea" (which was actually wine with crumpets!) was very welcome! I would certainly recommend it. If I'd complain about anything, it is that the main bedroom is MUCH larger than the other bedrooms ... but, that's fine. I guess you get the room that is available at the time of your stay. Would certainly go back if we make a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get the main, big bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 127LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and the stay was amazing!. Carol and Reg do a great job at hosting and make it seem very easy and make you feel very welcome! We got to help with feeding the sheep and chickens and get up close to the alpacas which was fun. The location was great and the views from the house are good enough for any postcard!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great place to stay. Caroll was most pleasant host. Our 5-year old loved it too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very welcoming from the moment you arrive. A great place to stay and not too far from Queenstown. Very friendly and accommodating hosts.

Very nice, clean and spacious room. Excellent bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenvsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at all B&B's when we visited New Zealand. Crownview was another one of our favorites. Its just a few minutes outside of Queenstown which I liked because it was out in the country which was peaceful and quiet. It was in center of all our activities that we were doing so it was very convenient for us. Nice patios all around the house with beautiful flowers. Perfect to sit out and lounge reading or even having your breakfast. Our room was cleaned daily and tidied by Claire (Thank You so much Claire!) Carol is such a sweet heart. She took care of our bookings at the Milford Sound the first day we came in and met her. No worries. She helped us with some great places to eat in Queenstown. We had a long day with the Milford Sound Cruise and Carol was so considerate she packed us up some fruits since it was gonna be a long day til we ate. The breakfast was great with a variety of things to eat and they were very accommodating. Everyone here was wonderful, helpful and the hospitality was superb. Thank you Reg and Carol for opening your home to Chad and I and accommodating us. I felt very comfortable like I was home visiting old friends or family. I enjoy that feeling. I hope to see you in future when I am back that way visiting. Our experiences were very memorable there and so was your hospitality. Brightest Blessing to you Carol and Reg.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieTaylorLoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
5.2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 43 in Queenstown
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Hotel Queenstown
Crown View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing