We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Balmoral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge
Ranked #18 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We stayed for three days in the 2- bedroom suite at the Balmoral Lodge in Queenstown. It was fairly priced, very clean, comfortable, and lovely accommodations. The patio table among the roses and other beautiful flowers in the adjoining garden was a pleasure to lounge at. And the view of Queenstown, the Lake and mountains was stunning. Great place, great hosts, and great breakfasts! Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank Sherryby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2007

Absolutely fantastic place to stay, location, rooms & hosts are all excellent.

Cis & Les are wonderful hosts, they gave brilliant advice on what to do with the short time we had in Queenstown. The view from the room was spectacular and what a way to start the day! Breakfast is freshly prepared to order by Les, and my poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

Can't think of a better location, quiet in the evening but still close enough to enjoy the amenities of Queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

It was my second visit over a period of 4 years to this delightful town in South Island and it makes a great base for activities and self drive tours to wonderfully unique beautiful places; accompanied tours an also be arranged very easily by Cis & Les.
We stayed for 5 nights then dashed off to Catlns National Park and Doubfuls Sound and then came back for one more night before we headed up to the West Coast and back to Christchurch via the Transalpine train.
Cis & Les are great friendly hosts and take pleasure in setting you up for the day with a delicious breakfast.
John & Dot

Stayed: March 2007
Thank DukeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Les and Cis were so helpful and entertaining. The room was well equipped, modern and furnished beautifully. Les was kind enough to do some of our laundry, since it was at the end of our trip. The breakfast served was tasty and presented with care to details. Location of the lodge was excellant overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains. They are truly superb innkeepers and my husband and I thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone traveling in the south island of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

The rooms were spacious with amazing views out over the lake.
Our hosts, Cis & Les, were very accomodating with dining and touring suggestions and served an excellent breakfast. The Lodge is also very convenient to town.

We would highly reccomend Balmoral Lodge to any one visiting Queenstown.
Morgan & Marlene, Clifton, Virginia, USA

Stayed: March 2007
Thank VAWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Absolutely perfect! The best place to stay in Queenstown.

Fantastic view, fantastic rooms, fantastic spa baths, fantastic breakfast and most of all fantastic hosts!

The rooms are divine. All the rooms have impressive views. The sitting room for all to use has great views of the lake, mountains, and Queenstown. The breakfast is outstanding.

The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They are very knowledgeable of sites, dining and tourist activities in Queenstown.

We enjoyed our stay immensely!!

Vicki and Jim

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank msworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

We stayed at a B and B called Balmoral,
Where the gardens were green and really floral.
Our hosts were Cis and Les Walker,
We're not sure who was the greater talker?
But with the hosts and views we had no quarrel.

We went to New Zealand to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had an outstanding experience in all respects and plan to go back to New Zealand, to Queenstown and to Balmoral Lodge. We feel privileged that it is only a three hour plane ride from home in Sydney.
Well done Cis and Les and well done Queenstown NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank We_love_cold_places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $200 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Sky TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views. Free unlimited wifi access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, For those with limited walking abilities , you will nneed a car or a taxi. Complimentary snacks in room on arrival.Four Star Plus. Gracious Kiwi Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing