We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of the lake and the Remarkables”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel is situated right on the lake and the room that we had opened onto the lawns hugging the lake-shore. However, the hotel is about 10 mins drive from the town centre and hence only convenient if you have a vehicle with you. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and they ply at intervals of 20 mins or so (a bus schedule is affixed on the bus stop and even the reception will be able to help you with the timings). There isn't any shop/restaurant in the vicinity and hence you will have to drive/ take a bus to the town for meals and sundry shopping. In case you feel like walking, its a beautiful pleasant 30 min walk to the entrance of the Q'town Gardens.

As for the hotel, the lack of proximity to the town centre is more than made up by the proximity to the lake, however, given the nature of the landscape, the hotel is built in steps and hence navigating through the hotel is difficult. The reception is somewhere on the top floor and there are 2 banks of lifts which one has to traverse through to get to certain rooms. The car park is half way through the hotel (so saw 3 levels below the reception and 3 levels above the lowest floor) and lugging luggage wasn't easy for me (so if you are elderly group you may want to pay request a room closer to the reception or car park). However, I would like to mention that as it was peak season I did find it difficult to find parking space in the sheltered parking and had to park the car on the slope off the main road.

The room itself was great, one could see the lake and the mountains sitting on our bed. We had the lowest floor and hence our room door opened onto the lawns of the hotel. The bathroom was adequate. We didn't eat breakfast or any meals at the restaurants hence won't comment on that.

All-in-all, its a good hotel (especially the rooms) at decent rates, a little far from the town, a little inconvenient to get around but with a wonderful view, so depending on your mode of transport and size of luggage you can take a call.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 837 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in Oaks Shores for 3 nights. The apartment is very big and modern with 2 bathrooms which is uncommon. It overlooks Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables offering fantastic views. It's such a pleasure just relaxing and enjoying the tranquility of the lake and the scenic mountains right within the apartment. Staff were sufficiently helpful. We were initially assigned a ground floor unit which didn't have that good views. When we requested for a higher floor unit, we were immediately given one. They also assisted us in making bookings for our horse treking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We'd heard good things about the Oaks from family and thought we'd give it a try. Boy, we were not dissapointment.
Upon arrival, staff were friendly and helpful. When we walked into the apartment you could see straight out over Lake Wakatipu, it was just stunning.
It was large and spacious, with all the conveinence of home, the only negative about this property was the compact bathroom which was a little tricky for me to navigate on crutches.
The location was perfect for us, we didn't want to stay in the middle of the city as we had a rental car anyhow.
We will defiantely go back here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ton3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in late November during a bit of a 'heat wave' in Queenstown. The hotel looks promising when you see it - it's got a spot right on the lake but is about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town.

We tried to check in early (10.30am) but were told no rooms were available. That was fine and we came back with some friends who were also staying at the hotel and had booked in the night before, at around 1.30pm (check in time is 2pm). Long story short but our room still wasn't ready and we asked if they could switch our room number with that of some of our friends in the same booking (same room type/rate and they weren't checking in until the evening) The man she was working with behind the counter - Peter or Paul or something like that - was extremely rude. He spoke in a condesecending manner and was VERY unhelpful. We heard him talking on the phone about other rooms being vacant for weeks. Not surprising.

Rooms are okay. We had a room 'on the lake' and the view was nice. The place is a rabbit warren and very mazelike so quite difficult to find your way around. Housekeeping was non-existent. They made the bed but left dirty cups etc - hard to wash them yourself with no dishwashing liquid or a sink (except for the bathroom).

There is nowhere within close walking distance to grab any supplies or anything to eat. There is a restaurant/bar on site but it was closed when we were there and looked like it had been closed for ages. There is a vending machine though with your choice of about 5 snacks.

Overall this hotel was nothing special. It was booked by a friend of ours and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere 'nice' to stay in Queenstown. Stay somewhere closer to town with a company that actually wants your business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My wife and I first came here (to be joined by a couple of friends 2 days later) and were given a room in the building not on the lakeshore - we didn't like it. We opted for an upgrade for $30 and were given a room in the building on the lakeshore - we couldn't have picked a better view or room. The unit had 3 bedrooms - with the master bedroom and living room having the most fantastic view we've seen anywhere.
The staff cleaned our unit everyday but I regret to say they didn't vacuum it, so the cleaning left some room for improvement. We had a car so it was only a 5 min drive to shotover street. We convinced our friends, who were to stay at the crowne plaza, to move in with us and they were very pleased as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at the Oak Shores "Labour Weekend".2010. 23rd and 24th October.

We had stayed once before and had an issue at that time. There was an awful smell in the apartment we were given . A sewerage type pong !!. We informed the staff and told it was nothing to worry about . We did not get offered to move rooms or even get an apology.
We decided to give them a secound chance this year as the location of the apartment was quite nice and on the lake front.
We were given the exact same apartment again and when we asked about the Smell issue we had before were told "Well I think If It was an issue we would know about it !!"

All seemed ok until bed time !!. When we moved the bed sheets to get into bed they were dirty and covered in hairs. Obviously hadn't been changed from the last occupants.
It was 2am and we did not know what to do. After cleaning the bed as much as possible we more or less lay on the top and hardly had any sleep.
My husband went to complain first thing in the morning. The house keeping lady seemed annoyed and said it shouldn't have happened and would investigate.
When we returned to the apartment the bed had been changed to clean sheets .
We thought that maybe we would get an apology at the least or even a discount seeing as we payed full price for a night in a dirty bed!
We had no apology and since returning home we have sent two emails to The Oak Shores management and have had no reply or acknowledgement that they have even recieved our complaint.
We will not be staying there again and also noticed the cleaning staff were just young backpackers Who did not seem to have a clue !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nissChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Wotif booking, so it was really good value for money. The reception staff were pretty strange, polite and reserved but in a really weird way. A bit standoffish but we kept to ourselves anyway. Self contained kitchen was great for breakfast in the morning. No champagne flutes which was disappointing. There was a crack in one of the mugs when we arrived, but they replaced it (we put a note on it). The electric fireplace was AWESOME! There is a sauna in the complex, not many people used it. One of my mates used it everyday - great for those aching muscles after a day on the slopes.

It's a shame that it's that little bit further away from town. It was about a $10 Taxi fare into Queenstown. They didn't have WiFi, a cable was provided for broadband access and you had to pay for it.

Not a bad place to stay but would probably try some other accommodation next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 58 in Queenstown
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $141 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing