We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were absaloutely over the moon with our one bedroom lake view apartment! The entire apartment was spacious and modern, and went above and beyond our expectations! We loved the fireplace and the balcony space was huge! The kitchen had all the utensils we needed for a three night stay. Oaks shores is perfect for anyone travelling who has a car, the town centre being only a five minute drive from the hotel or a forty minute walk along the lake. I have already recommended this hotel to family back in Australia, we would love to return one day!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am delighted that you enjoyed the views from your apartment. Our lakefront apartments really do have an unbeatable view!

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!


Best Regards,


Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    235
    111
    66
    40
See reviews for
228
321
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious, contemporary, great view facing the lake.

Perfect for travelers with car, you will have a spot to park downstairs. Not so convenient if you plan on going to the town center by foot...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrysydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I am glad to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and our accommdation. The view from our apartments really is something specoial! Especially being situated right on the lake.

We do offer complimentary shuttle from Hotel to town in the morning and later afternoon.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Best Regards,


Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a lovely apartment overlooking the lake and as lucky 8298 said the views were stunning. We understand that the place is a bit of a warren but we found it very easy to get to our room - just one flight of stairs from the car park. The management were helpful and the place was clean and tidy. I could not fault the place.

Room Tip: We were in room 601 which was on the ground floor with access to a balcony patio. It was big and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoolacombeArol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and our accommodation. I am glad that all the staff were very helpful and will pass your feedback onto our team!

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!


Best Regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, but is 3 Km away from the town. The house keeping and room service in the hotel is really poor. They dont change the bed linens, and don't even wash the tea cups provided in the Hotel. The rooms are very far from the reception and there is no service provided for the luggage. However they do have a free shuttle service till town.

Room Tip: Please check the rooms given to you before hand. As the room 508A is very far from the receptions an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pritipase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I appreciate your feedback about the housekeeping service you received and respond as follows . As a serviced apartment hotel our bed lined is changed after 3 nights and we will discuss with housekeeping your comments regarding the ups.

We have recently added signage on every floor and throughout the car park to try and ease the confusion.

I understand that the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at time, but we do try to explain this in detail on check in and on map.

Unfortunately, being services apartments we do not have porter or concierge services.

The shuttle bus is certainly a handy way to get into town and does get quite busy during peak times so booking this is a must!


Kindest Regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The room was fine, reasonably clean and enough room, but wasn't that great to be honest. The room was poorly equipped, we had to ask for glasses and a mug. The toasted set the smoke alarm off every time. I didn't get the feeling it was that clean, the table sides were dusty and hadn't been wiped, and there were crumbs still on the chair rom the previous guests. Housekeeping generally was poor, our room not properly re-stocked and we had to keep asking for basics. Our room was ok but was a corner position with limited outlook, and the route to it was a bit trying. You'd not go if you weren't a confident driver as the car park is an effort to get to on a steep slope. The hotel management may not be able to change that, but the housekeeping issues really need attention. We also had a connecting door to an adjoining room, and it was paper thin - you could hear every word. Average at best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I am disappointed to hear that your had so many issues regarding the cleanliness of the apartment during your stay and apolise that these issues were not sorted out for you, and these issues will followed up with the housekeeping manager.

Unfortunately the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at times, but we do try to explain this on check in and on maps located in the elevators. We have recently added signage on every floors and throughout the car park to try and ease the confusion.

I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you will choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest Regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were at Oaks Shores for a week, and left the place with mixed thoughts. We were in a two bed room, very spacious, the beds were comfortable, the kitchenette had all the amenities, and most of all the view was simply stunning! however car parking was hassle, couldn't find parking most of the days in the underground parking area, hence had to park on the very steep driveway. Finding the reception from the car park on the first day was quiet a challenge too. We booked in two bed and breakfast packages for couple of days, and it turned out to be that booking for a breakfast reservation at the reception the day prior was economical, and I don't still understand their logic! At the point of checking out, I had a discrepancy in the bill, and it took me more than three business days to sort it out. All in all, the stay was fabulous, only if the service issues and the parking restrictions were something that we had better control over...

Room Tip: The lake and mountain view rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the space in the rooms and the facilities of the apartment.
Unfortunately, at peak times of the year there is a large influx of additional cars to Queenstown, as people use one or more vehicles to enjoy the beautiful scenery of New Zealand during summer. This does mean that our usually-ample free of charge car park is filled up much more quickly. I am glad that you were able to find additional car parking on our driveway though.
I would like to apologise about the discrepancy with your account. It should not have taken three days to sort this out.
I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment at the Oaks Shores,on the main road,very steep going down to it and parking very difficult underground as with alot in Queenstown.
Our large apartment was right down on the front no 103, but oh my god what a maze to get there,it was horrendous,up and down stairs and steps and like metal steps,my sister in law whose is in her early 70`s tripped on them and fell flat,it was awful,she does not have any issues with walking at all.but don't advise any one with walking problems to stay here,its hard enough when you can.
The Apartment was for 4 of us,us from UK and sister in law and hubby from Melbourne,we from UK have stayed in Queenstown quite a few times and on the same road in another beautiful apartment,l wish l stayed there again called the Copthorne,the lounge/dining room were ok and kitchen,the nets were torn and the hem was hanging down,this is not a 3 star it was higher than that, the 2 bedrooms were small. The bed was comfy and bathroom ok,there was a small tv in the bedroom and a small one in the lounge,there was no air con here and it was warm,the wardrobes were a laugh,in our room which was the better it was a very small cupboard,with a few hangars being about 1 foot deep. not much room to hang a weeks worth of clothers for 2 of you and in the other smaller room there was 3 drawers and a tall thin cupboard again taking about 6 items,disgraceful for a 4 star plus apartment,good job it had a washing machine and drier,although it had a good view and terrace with table and chairs outside and a lake,l was absolutely disappointed with it,just to find the reception was a challenge,l would not recommend this place for people other than the under 50`s because of all the steps and corridors,then 2 lifts just to get out its a nightmare to get to your car unless you are very fit. There was nowhere to do my hair and makeup in the bedroom,no mirror, dressing table just a bed and bedside table,thats it,so had to do it in the very hot bathroom, infact we had to leave the windows open all night to get abit of cool air,it was far too hot not to have aircon in a 4 star plus.The room was quite dirty when we got there,l believe they don't come in very often to do it,perhaps that's the agreement,just in occasionally,but l bought some cleaning stuff and dusted and cleaned..............The staff on reception were all lovely,nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: 103 was on the front ground with terrace,nice view for every room though.2 bed aptm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANDALBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad that you enjoyed the views from you apartment. The lakefront apartments really do have an unbeatable view!
Unfortunately the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at times but we do try to explain this in detail on check in and on maps located in the elevators. We have recently added signage on every floor and throughout the car park to try and ease the confusion.
I apologise for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you have listed. These issues are not acceptable and I have been addressed with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Mangers.
Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the rooms. This is not usually required due to the lack of heat in Queenstown but there can be summer days when air conditioning would certainly cool the apartments down. We do offer fans in place of air conditioning though.
I am glad that the staff were friendly and were able to help you with any queries you had.
Once again, thank you for your review and I apologise about the experience you had during your stay. I would welcome the opportunity for you to return to Oaks Shores to experience the true service of our property.

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Property: Oaks Shores
Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing