We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A VIEW”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment at the Oaks Shores,on the main road,very steep going down to it and parking very difficult underground as with alot in Queenstown.
Our large apartment was right down on the front no 103, but oh my god what a maze to get there,it was horrendous,up and down stairs and steps and like metal steps,my sister in law whose is in her early 70`s tripped on them and fell flat,it was awful,she does not have any issues with walking at all.but don't advise any one with walking problems to stay here,its hard enough when you can.
The Apartment was for 4 of us,us from UK and sister in law and hubby from Melbourne,we from UK have stayed in Queenstown quite a few times and on the same road in another beautiful apartment,l wish l stayed there again called the Copthorne,the lounge/dining room were ok and kitchen,the nets were torn and the hem was hanging down,this is not a 3 star it was higher than that, the 2 bedrooms were small. The bed was comfy and bathroom ok,there was a small tv in the bedroom and a small one in the lounge,there was no air con here and it was warm,the wardrobes were a laugh,in our room which was the better it was a very small cupboard,with a few hangars being about 1 foot deep. not much room to hang a weeks worth of clothers for 2 of you and in the other smaller room there was 3 drawers and a tall thin cupboard again taking about 6 items,disgraceful for a 4 star plus apartment,good job it had a washing machine and drier,although it had a good view and terrace with table and chairs outside and a lake,l was absolutely disappointed with it,just to find the reception was a challenge,l would not recommend this place for people other than the under 50`s because of all the steps and corridors,then 2 lifts just to get out its a nightmare to get to your car unless you are very fit. There was nowhere to do my hair and makeup in the bedroom,no mirror, dressing table just a bed and bedside table,thats it,so had to do it in the very hot bathroom, infact we had to leave the windows open all night to get abit of cool air,it was far too hot not to have aircon in a 4 star plus.The room was quite dirty when we got there,l believe they don't come in very often to do it,perhaps that's the agreement,just in occasionally,but l bought some cleaning stuff and dusted and cleaned..............The staff on reception were all lovely,nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: 103 was on the front ground with terrace,nice view for every room though.2 bed aptm.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEANDALBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad that you enjoyed the views from you apartment. The lakefront apartments really do have an unbeatable view!
Unfortunately the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at times but we do try to explain this in detail on check in and on maps located in the elevators. We have recently added signage on every floor and throughout the car park to try and ease the confusion.
I apologise for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you have listed. These issues are not acceptable and I have been addressed with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Mangers.
Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the rooms. This is not usually required due to the lack of heat in Queenstown but there can be summer days when air conditioning would certainly cool the apartments down. We do offer fans in place of air conditioning though.
I am glad that the staff were friendly and were able to help you with any queries you had.
Once again, thank you for your review and I apologise about the experience you had during your stay. I would welcome the opportunity for you to return to Oaks Shores to experience the true service of our property.

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 804 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nothing wrong with the apartment but terrible place to find your room!
We had to lug our cases down the ramp where cars drive then through all sorts of nooks& crannys & lifts to finally get to our room. Asking someone along the way! Never seen anything quite like it .
We feel someone i.e.: a Porter should've shown us to our rooms as they weren't easy to locate.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores.
Unfortunately the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at times but we do try to explain this in detail on check in and on maps located in the elevators.
We have recently added additional signage to every floor and throughout the car park to try and ease the confusion.
Unfortunately being services apartments we do not have porter or concierge services.
Once again, thank you for your review and I apologise about the experience you had finding your room. Hopefully we will see you back in Queenstown soon!


Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was the only place we could get a room at a reasonable price for the Gibbston concert. Now I know why. We read other reviews prior to going there but not before booking. Studio room was ok but had interconnecting door with noisy neighbours. The door didn't block sound like a wall would. Shower had previous occupants hair on the drain and basin taps were not clean. We stayed 2 nights and after the room was 'serviced'after our first night we weren't given a bath mat or hand towel back. No forks in the cutlery only spoons and knives so we ate takeaways with spoons. No kitchen sink but they had dishwash liquid etc...presumably to use in the bathroom basin? Yuck! Rooms were a maze and very confusing to find. I would only go back there if nothing else was available.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realist126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores.
I apologise that the room next door to you was quite noisy during your stay. We do have 24 hour reception so please don't hesitate to contact us in the future should need to re noise complaints.
The issues you have explained about your housekeeping experience are not acceptable and these have been addressed with the Housekeeping Manger. I hope that reception was able to provide you with a bath mat and towel when housekeeping did not.
As you have booked a hotel room, these rooms do not have forks provided. We provide only spoons and knives as the room has a toaster and tea and coffee making facilities for breakfast. As the apartment does not have a kitchen we provide liquid for guests who wish to clean their used items.
Once again, thank you for your review and I apologise about the experience you had with us.
I would welcome the opportunity for you to return to Oaks Shores to experience the true service of our property.

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family here earlier in Feb. I really enjoy the surrounding environment, the hotel is clean and feel cosy. The place is not too far from town centre, 5 mins drive. It is peaceful at night for a good rest and close to the lake for private enjoyment.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Guru_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had some beautiful weather during February so I hope you were able to experience that whilst you were in Queenstown!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at Oak Shores Queenstown . Our experience in this hotel was dreadful . We arrived Friday afternoon , collected key for our room. Arrived at room to find some one else's half drunk yoghurt in the fridge as if that wasn't bad enough the fridge was smelly .... I mean really smelly old milk or something similar had been spilt in the fridge and dried up. The dining table and bedside were very dusty. Floors hadn't been vacuumed either. Finally after phoning reception 3 times and complaining we were upgraded. ... All good we thought !! New apartment had sticky dirty tired dinning table , stains of worrying nature on the lounge cushions. And then to top it off this morning my husband found some dirty underwear underneath the cabinet in the bedroom. We weren't the only ones complaining , when I arrived at reception to return the key . I would NOT recommend OAK SHORES Queenstown , it's DISGUSTING !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thankyou for your recent review of Oaks Shores.
First off, I would like to apologise for the issues that you experienced during your stay.
The issues you have explained are not acceptable and these have been addressed with the Housekeeping Manger since your arrival.
I appreciate your feedback and apologise about the housekeeping standard you were exposed to.
I would welcome the opportunity for you to return to Oaks Shores to experience the true service of our property.

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

8 of us stayed in large 2 level apartment.

4 rooms with ensuites/ bathrooms - large kitchen X2, all facilities to make ourselves at home including spectacular lake views + Large entertainment balcony areas.

Slightly confusing layout.

If you don't have a car , bus stop outside and bus comes every 15 mins to Queenstown or Frankton.

Spectacular location, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and room space of the apartment for the 8 of you.
I am glad that you were able to make yourself at "home" and utilise the apartments facilities.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have lake view from our balcony which was excellent. The two bedrooms we rented were clean, modern, everything that you can ask for. Massive kitchen, with oven, good looking cutlery, big refrigerator complete with dish washer. It was also fitted with mashing machine and dryer with free washing powder plus iron and iron board. It definitely felt like home and makes you relaxed and ease after all the sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the lake view and balcony of the apartment and it felt like home!
The apartments are fully furnished with all needed items so I am glad you used all of these during your stay.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $133 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing