We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a 3 bed, 3 bath. Gorgeous views and nice spacious lounge/dining area, shame about the 3rd bedroom though, felt a little claustaphobic as is so small and bed takes up almost entire room, also no window. Apartment was nice and clean and well furnished, beds comfy. Was raining when we went to go out and taxi's only come to entrance at top of road, not undercover, therefore got soaked. Reception staff very hospitable and helpful, all in all, good stay, but not fabulous.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that our apartments do offer spacious lounge/dining areas apartments with fabulous views. Taxis pickup/set down guests at the reception. I am unsure why they would only pick you up from the top of the driveway unless perhaps there was congestion on the driveway at the time. Thankyou for your comments and I hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    242
    112
    67
    41
See reviews for
232
328
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went here on an Air NZ Mystery trip, so it was booked for us. It is not the sort of place I would usually choose to stay in. The apartment was very spacious, and was comfortably furnished, modern and had everything you could need. The view from the balcony was very good indeed, if you ignored the block in front of you.

It was just too big and bland for my liking. The exterior of the buildings are very ugly (orange rendering), and the complex is a bit of a concrete jungle, with very little landscaping to soften it. The decor is bland and mostly brown. Internet is not free unless you sit in reception, and it is quite pricey. There is currently no restaurant, no bar, no room service, and although they state that the restaurant is being refurbished, I could see no evidence of this. So all in all, these are serviced apartments, not a hotel. It is disingenuous to describe them as otherwise.

The apartment was mostly very clean, although the brown feather quilt on the bed had some dubious stains. The staff at reception were generally helpful and friendly. We were comfortable for our one night stay, and did not spend much time here. Unless you are planning to self-cater, you have to drive into town for meals anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am pleased you found the apartment to be spacious, comfortable and modern. The exterior colour will be included in the review process leading up to the scheduled repaint of the building. Our restaurant and bar is closed at the moment pending the refurbishment work. I apologise about the quilt, this is not the standard we expect from our housekeepers. Thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are from the US and had a great vacation in Queenstown, stayed at Oak Shores in a 3 bed / 3 bath over the Christmas holidays which had a lot of room. The hotel has a great location off the main road, 10 minute drive, 30 walk to town. The views described are amazing, rooms are quiet, stocked with supplies in the kitchen.
Some suggestions to be great and to appease would be to add a small fee to the room per day for service so it wouldn't be a hit or miss, and the units should be thoroughly cleaned and restocked with towels, shampoo, etc. You could tell and post to your visitors to leave the units clean as they found them ( including running the dishwasher and putting them away) and if not then they will be charged an additional sum. The units could use some updating, fans in the rooms, add some color, and add closet space.
Desk staff were very professional, courteous, and helpful. We hope the updating to the Restaurant will utilize the space with the beautiful view to make it inviting and grand. Hopefully your menu and food will be very good so patrons will eat there.
While traveling to NZ or AU you can use your DiscoverCard with those that accept it and there won't be a transaction fee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate and will consider your comments. In particular, we are currently reviewing the rooms for refurbishment. We look forward to the reopening of the restaurant. We hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when in queenstown but this time are really disappointed.

Brought our parents as a treat and this place has gone downhill.

The room is tired and dirty. The couch is disgusting and room overall tired. Had to wash all glasses before I would consider using them.

Mentioned this to the staff who said sorry and would mention it to house keeping.

This place is not cheap so we expect more.

Not sure if we will be back, may be time to look for another property in queenstown

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your feedback. I appreciate that you stay with us regularly and that you brought your parents this visit. I am concerned about your latest stay. The housekeeping team have specific duties regarding preparing rooms including clean glassware and furnishings. I apologise we did not meet your expectations. I do hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friend and I booked a 1 bedroom lake view suite with twin beds and upon our arrival we were given a 2 bedroom suite with lake views which was brilliant. The apartment was very spacious and we had a large balcony with immense views over the lake and mountains.......incredible. They offered complimentary laundry services (washing powder available for purchase from reception) to guests which I thought was a nice touch and we managed to park in their underground car parks each night of our stay. The only 2 downers to our stay was the price of the internet which was relatively expensive and also the room servicing..........one afternoon we came back to the room and my friends bed had been made but her pyjamas that she had left on the bed had been thrown on the floor and the bed in my room hadnt been made at all...........very strange but not enough to ruin our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your comments. Our lakeview apartments are spacious and offer fantastic views. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would like to investigate the housekeeping matter, if you have a chance please send me an email with your details so I can find your booking and the date and the date of the matter (hmshores@theoaksgroup,co.nz). Thankyou. We look forward to you straying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Oaks Shores was the one of the greatest hotel in Queenstown. We've stayed here before and it has been amazing service every time.
The room are spectacular with lots of space for the family to relax in.
Being able to wake up to the lake and the remarkables mountain range is one of the reasons we stay here as the hotel is situated right on the beautiful lake front with access a to the walking tracks.
Will defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golftom1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next time to visit Queenstown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent 4 days here over new years in a delux 1 bed apartment which was lovely but the best part was the balcony very spacious and views of the lake were incredible. Didnt feel the need to go out as sitting in the sun with a glass of wine and just watching the boats go by was the perfect holiday. My only complaint would be the staff seemed to be under alot of pressure with the number of people in the complex and we too had to wait a long time for our rooms to be serviced but the staff were very pleasant when the did arrive I felt a little sorry for them still servicing rooms at 6pm a long day!

Room Tip: one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. I am pleased you had a lovely stay and I agree that the view from the apartments is "to die for". It would be difficult to find something more appealing than settling on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the boats go by. Christmas/New Year is peak season and our team work hard to deliver a professional and pleasant service during that busy period. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Property: Oaks Shores
Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing