We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak Shores 2 bedroom apartment Fantastic views”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When booking a 2 bedroom apartment we opted to pay more for the lake view and it was worth it.

The view was stunning and we enjoyed waking up to it every day.

The apartment was two bedroom and very spacious. The gas log fire kept us very warm.

The staff were fantastic and would definately stay there again.
We had no trouble getting a parking spot very day

Room Tip: Definately pay more for the lake view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment spacious and you were able to enjoy the beautiful views over Lake Wakitipu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 803 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, spacious modern two-bedroom appartment. We were in a 'loft' appartment, with a great view across the lake. End of season pricing, the room upgrade and early check-in / late check-out were all very much appreciated, and helped make our stay much more relaxing. Staff were friendly and eager to help with any queries.

It seems they've listened to the feedback about not having soap dishes in the showers and have now fixed this. Ours had none on check-in as it turned out, but on enquiring we were given one with suction cups to stick to the shower wall.

Some maintenance issues that shouldn't have escaped the eye of a sharp cleaner / maintainer in a routine check (which I presume hadn't been done). Electric blind above the bed didn't work, bathroom extractor fan didn't work. Shower flooded the bathroom if there wasn't a towel jammed up against the door; but that's simply a design fault - the lip on the floor isn't high enough to retain the water. The lounge was large and difficult to heat with just the wall heater; but we struck a cold couple of days. The television is small, and mounted quite high up the wall, but useable.

Those things aside, it was a comfortable stay. Good beds, underfloor heating in the bathrooms, good big lounge / dining room and an amazing view from the lakefront block of rooms. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is great to hear that you found your apartment comfortable, spacious and modern. We are glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful views from your apartment over the lake and that we were able to provide early check in and check out. I will however pass your comments onto the Maintenance Manager and Hotel Manager in regards to the electric blind and bathroom extractor fan. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Myself and my wife were on honeymoon from Aug 20th to Aug 31st. We decided to book an apartment as we felt the extra space would be appreciated for a longer stay. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

We were in apartment 504 which was a one-bedroom apartment and had a lake view, and what a lake view it was. The balcony is huge so you can sit out and enjoy the sunrises and sunsets in an amazing setting. The apartment itself was excellent. Very high standard and very spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped with all appliances and cutlery. Even small things, like dishwashing powder, were supplied so we never had to worry about popping to the shop to buy household stuff while on holiday.

A very useful feature was a wash room contained in the apartment. This room had a washing machine and tumble dryer which proved to be very useful. Again this was fully stocked with washing detergent by Oak Shores.

The room was serviced daily. It's not like a hotel room service but we didn't expect that. They just changed our towels & sheets, made our bed and topped up or free tea/coffee, which is all we needed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout.

In terms of location, it is a 3 min drive into Queenstown. We walked in on 4 occasions - it's a 20-30 minute walk if you follow the main road in or 30-40 if you walk in by the lake (which I would recommend).

There were only 2 small negatives. Firstly the lack of storage space. For such a big apartment there was very little space to put your clothes into - just one wardrobe which had approx 10 hangers and one set of drawers. Secondly, we often could not find a parking space meaning we had to park well away from our apartment.

All in all though, we had an amazing honeymoon in Queenstown, aided by our stay in Oak Shores.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a lake view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StEndas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your honeymoon an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read that you were able to sit back and enjoy the breathtaking views of Lake Wakitipu and you found your apartment of a high standard and very spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the oaks shore hotel last week for our short holidays to Queenstown. We booked way ahead so we got the early bird rate. We were given room 1001A which is right next to Frankton st, it can be a bit noisy at night if you are a light sleeper. The room is cosy and pretty modern with a bit of view to Wakatipu lake. There is no microwave, just a kettle and a toaster which is a bit of a disadvantage. The TV in our room is super small but we are not here to watch TV so it's fine:) The hotel s about 10 mins drive and about 40-45 mins walk uphills to central of Queenstown so choose other hotel if you don't want to hire a car. There s plenty of parking in the car park which is a bonus.
You only have 30 mins free Internet everyday at the reception, or you pay a small fortune to have wireless in your room so we just take out laptops there every night for mail checking.
Overall it's pretty convenient and reasonable price for young ppl who just want a nice room to sleep. Otherwise you can choose other apartments right next to the lake as the view s spectacular and really quiet if you are not on a budget like us:)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lihn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that your room cosy and modern and that you were able to secure a good early bird rate. For future reference we do offer larger apartments with direct views of the Lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter for 6 nights. The place is midway between the airport and Queenstown on the main road...they say a 30 min walk into town but really only 10-15. the walk along the lake into town is really nice. The luxery 2 bedroom apartment is great. both bedrooms with comfy beds and ensuites, full kitchen, dining room, great view of the lake, fireplace, laundry..really exceptional. They have not spared any expense on the apartments. They are comfy, warm and well equipped. My problem is that the services are virtually non existent. Apparently these are self-catering, alhtough I was not aware of this when I booked and was surprised given the cost, so they change the towels every day and make up the beds but that's it! This might be ok for a night or two but for 6 days? I asked for some cleanser to clean the bathtub but there was none to be had. I was a little miffed to read in the guest services booklet that salt and pepper sachets could be purchased from reception. Instead I got some from the ski hill cafe. Certainly these should have been provided as well as some ground cofee instead of only instant and some other basics like sugar. The gym equipment was broken and I complained about this and got a small refund but a gym was one of the main reasons I booked this place. Also, depending on your room and which block you are in, you might have to go outside to get to the gym. not a great thing in queenstown in the winter. WiFi came at a steep cost even if you were willing to use the computers in the reception area. There are a lot of hotels, apartments etc in Queenstwon and so I think that if one wants to do well, they need to have the service to match the lovely apartments.

Room Tip: there are several blocks and so if you want the gym ask for a room that is connected by elevator to...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment great with comfortably beds and amazing views of the lake. We do offer different accommodation packages at Oaks Shores which include daily servicing and some which do not. We apologise if this was not communicated with you clearly upon booking. If you do book a package which does not include the daily servicing, as we are a self catering apartment style hotel, we provide guests with basic amenities then it is up to the guest to replenish supplies by either purchasing them at reception or from a supermarket in town. We apologise that it appears some of our gym equipment was not functioning at the time of your stay. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After my small disappointment yesterday - with staff forgetting to call us back, not cleaning properly and being told that there would be a 1 brm apartment available on Monday on our arrival, then we were told the only next available 1 bedroom apartment was on the 29th, but Aaron called us earlier in the day to resolve my disappointment and offered us a upgrade. We still ended up taking out our own rubbish but the receptionist did offer to come up to take it out for us. To me the gesture is enough to say sorry, I really appreciate the effort that oak shores has put in to turn my disappointment around. The new apartment we have was great. The room had a welcoming smell of nutmeg and a beautiful panoramic view of the lake. The kitchen was great and we did make good use of it. The location is 7 mins out of town and not too far away from the airport.

Room Tip: I suggest you get the 1 brm apartments they are alot better then the hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank So_very_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that we were able to assist you in moving to a more suitable apartment and our staff were helpful. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your new apartment with an amazing view over the lake. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at Oaks Shores. Stayed in an apartment on level 8. So much room to relax and views to die for. Lovely balcony and I spent a lot of time just sitting out on it soaking up the scenery. Our apartment like most are situated down off the road so no traffic noise at all. Underground car parking an absolute bonus although hardly used the car if we went to the centre of town as there is a very picturesque walking track at the base of the complex that follows the Frankton Arm into town. Underfloor heating and log effect gas fire make the winter temperatures un-noticeable once inside. Check-in was very fast and and no problems at all. The best shower I have ever used, Very well appointed kitchen and also the bonus of a washing machine and dryer. If you are not an avid walker consider taxis to and from town but hey youre on holiday so go soak up the atmosphere. Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: The apartments have far superior views than the studio rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your Queenstown holiday an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read that you were able to sit back and relax on your balcony and take in the amazing views of Lake Watitipu and The Remarkables. It is truly a view to die for. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $133 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing