We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments great but........”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter for 6 nights. The place is midway between the airport and Queenstown on the main road...they say a 30 min walk into town but really only 10-15. the walk along the lake into town is really nice. The luxery 2 bedroom apartment is great. both bedrooms with comfy beds and ensuites, full kitchen, dining room, great view of the lake, fireplace, laundry..really exceptional. They have not spared any expense on the apartments. They are comfy, warm and well equipped. My problem is that the services are virtually non existent. Apparently these are self-catering, alhtough I was not aware of this when I booked and was surprised given the cost, so they change the towels every day and make up the beds but that's it! This might be ok for a night or two but for 6 days? I asked for some cleanser to clean the bathtub but there was none to be had. I was a little miffed to read in the guest services booklet that salt and pepper sachets could be purchased from reception. Instead I got some from the ski hill cafe. Certainly these should have been provided as well as some ground cofee instead of only instant and some other basics like sugar. The gym equipment was broken and I complained about this and got a small refund but a gym was one of the main reasons I booked this place. Also, depending on your room and which block you are in, you might have to go outside to get to the gym. not a great thing in queenstown in the winter. WiFi came at a steep cost even if you were willing to use the computers in the reception area. There are a lot of hotels, apartments etc in Queenstwon and so I think that if one wants to do well, they need to have the service to match the lovely apartments.

Room Tip: there are several blocks and so if you want the gym ask for a room that is connected by elevator to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment great with comfortably beds and amazing views of the lake. We do offer different accommodation packages at Oaks Shores which include daily servicing and some which do not. We apologise if this was not communicated with you clearly upon booking. If you do book a package which does not include the daily servicing, as we are a self catering apartment style hotel, we provide guests with basic amenities then it is up to the guest to replenish supplies by either purchasing them at reception or from a supermarket in town. We apologise that it appears some of our gym equipment was not functioning at the time of your stay. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 859 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

After my small disappointment yesterday - with staff forgetting to call us back, not cleaning properly and being told that there would be a 1 brm apartment available on Monday on our arrival, then we were told the only next available 1 bedroom apartment was on the 29th, but Aaron called us earlier in the day to resolve my disappointment and offered us a upgrade. We still ended up taking out our own rubbish but the receptionist did offer to come up to take it out for us. To me the gesture is enough to say sorry, I really appreciate the effort that oak shores has put in to turn my disappointment around. The new apartment we have was great. The room had a welcoming smell of nutmeg and a beautiful panoramic view of the lake. The kitchen was great and we did make good use of it. The location is 7 mins out of town and not too far away from the airport.

Room Tip: I suggest you get the 1 brm apartments they are alot better then the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank So_very_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that we were able to assist you in moving to a more suitable apartment and our staff were helpful. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your new apartment with an amazing view over the lake. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at Oaks Shores. Stayed in an apartment on level 8. So much room to relax and views to die for. Lovely balcony and I spent a lot of time just sitting out on it soaking up the scenery. Our apartment like most are situated down off the road so no traffic noise at all. Underground car parking an absolute bonus although hardly used the car if we went to the centre of town as there is a very picturesque walking track at the base of the complex that follows the Frankton Arm into town. Underfloor heating and log effect gas fire make the winter temperatures un-noticeable once inside. Check-in was very fast and and no problems at all. The best shower I have ever used, Very well appointed kitchen and also the bonus of a washing machine and dryer. If you are not an avid walker consider taxis to and from town but hey youre on holiday so go soak up the atmosphere. Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: The apartments have far superior views than the studio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your Queenstown holiday an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read that you were able to sit back and relax on your balcony and take in the amazing views of Lake Watitipu and The Remarkables. It is truly a view to die for. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom lakeview room on the top level - the view of the lake and The Remarkables was amazing. The apartment was quite big, very modern and clean. We had some noisy neighbours fighting at 4am, we called reception and they were up to the room within a minute to sort out the situation - fantastic service. We ate at the Seasons restaurant on our first night, the food and service there were fantastic too. The whole experience far exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakeview room rather than a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellebelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday a memorable one. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the amazing views of Lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables from your lakeview apartment and you found it to be spacious, modern and clean. It is pleasing to read that you found our staff helpful and that they were able to settle the noise issues you had quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Oaks Shores, (room 906) for the 2nd of a 2 week holiday in Queenstown - we could not get availability for this week in our preferred location within the town centre of QT, hence this choice.
The location is both an advantage and disadvantage. You get excellent lake views from most rooms, however you do need a car to make the 5 minute trip into town.
The complex is essentially 2 separate blocks, interconnected via the underground car parks and external courtyards. Floors 1 - 5 are on the lower block, closer to the lake. Floors 6 - 10 are in the upper block, closer to the main road.
We were on the 9th floor, accessed either via Reception also on floor 9, or via the car park and the lifts. This floor provided excellent views of the lake and the hills opposite, (looking over the roof of the lower block) whilst still being below the road level and therefore avoiding any road noise - something that has been commented on by reviews staying on floor 10 that we could appreciate, given the back of floor 10 apartments do look directly onto the road. Not sure on the views of the lowest floors of this block, ie floors 6 and 7 - my guess is that they would look onto the rear of the lower block in front.
Our apartment was a 2 bedroom, very modern furnished with en-suite to both bedrooms. Both rooms were effectively internal and did not have windows to the outside however the main bedroom had French doors opening onto the dining area, and then overlooking the balcony and lake views. This was very pleasing, although may not work if you are sharing with non-family. The 2nd room had high level windows to the floor corridor, privacy provided by a blind that was permanently down. This room had a lock fitted to the door and my guess is that if you only pay for a single room, you might find this room locked off?? The apartment had an interconnecting studio room attached, being room 906A. This room was occupied by other guests and pleased to comment that very little noise appeared to travel between rooms. Presumably, you could pay for both apartments and have more space. The view from this studio was appalling - looking down the side of the building over a fire escape.
The kitchen had stone benchtops, 2 dish drawers, usual complement of cooking facilities such as toaster, kettle, microwave, etc. A separate cupboard accommodated a washing machine, tumble dryer, ironing board, clothes dryer and powder. (for studios, 2 washing machines and 2 dryers were available in a cupboard off the garage).
The living area had 2 large sofas, tables, DVD, fairly small and oldish flat screen tv, amazing views, and log effect gas fire.
Both bedrooms had underfloor heating, as did both en-suites. The en-suite of the main bedroom had a bath with shower over, whilst the 2nd en-suite had a walk in shower.
Our main issue with the room / furnishings was that the bedrooms had very little storage. The main bedroom only had a wardrobe, so narrow that the hangers were wider than the wardrobe; and 2 bedside tables. The 2nd bedroom was a little better with a chest of drawers and a very small wardrobe. We had to live out of suitcases for the entire week.
As for service, check in was efficient however due to other negative reviews regarding the restaurant, we did not try it so can't personally comment.
During late evening, we phoned reception to report that the remote controls for the DVD / TV's were not working, presumably due to flat batteries. Within about 5 minutes, Paul from reception was at the door with new batteries and provided cheerful and excellent service. A credit to the complex and he should be recognised.
Unfortunately, our 2nd call to reception was less positive. We noticed that the bracket holding the shower above the bath was loose and when turn on, would turn upwards, spraying the ceiling so you could not use the shower without holding it the entire time. The chap at reception commented that since it was a Sunday, no one was available to tighten the loose screw until the following day (if i had a screw driver with me, could have fixed it in a few minutes). Rather than flood the bathroom, we used the shower in the 2nd bathroom. However, sad to report that when we left on the Wednesday, the shower still hadn't been fixed.
In conclusion, whilst we liked the views, large open and modern rooms, there were too many little problems or issues that would not enable us to recommend this complex and would prevent us from staying again.

Room Tip: Floors 8 or 9 in the upper block; or any floors 1 - 5 in the lower block have the best lake views; f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Grant-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a detailed comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments in regards to the storage in the bedrooms and the maintenance issues you experienced to the Hotel Manager for immediate attention. We do hope to welcome you back to an Oaks Hotels and Resorts property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room on level 10 at the Oaks Shores last week for 7 nights. It turned out to be much larger than a normal hotel room, with a balcony (too cold to use in winter obviously!) and even had a view of the Remarkables mountain range which was a lovely surprise!

The room also had a toaster, kettle, complimentary tea and coffee & little milks, mini-fridge, bowls, plates, glasses, cutlery, tea-towel, wash cloth and dish-washing soap (use the bathroom sink), and a hairdryer, all of which were unexpected. This set us up for self-catering breakfast when leaving early for skiing. The heating was wonderful, including under floor heating in the bathroom. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
The staff were friendly (the restaurant manager even kept the place open for us on our first morning 10min after the breakfast session had finished!), and the daily room servicing (making the bed and making sure we had a supply of soap etc.) was great too.
The distance from Queenstown wasn't a problem as we had a rental car, and the parking was plentiful (under cover or up at the top of the drive). I was actually really pleased with the look and quality of the room.
The negatives are few, but need to be said for a fair review:
Noise -the room being up on level 10 was quite close to the road which means traffic noise could be heard. Also, our room was right in front of the elevator which made a clunking noise every time it went up/down, and our room also had an adjoining door to another room (presumably for creating a larger apartment for families etc.) but you could hear the people next door as if they were in the room with you! Luckily for us that room was vacant for the whole week until the last 2 nights! I am a light sleeper, but a cheap pair of ear plugs did the trick for sleeping undisturbed through the night.
Restaurant - the staff were lovely and the coffee was great, but the breakfast was pretty average especially for the price. We chose not to eat there after the first morning, partly because we were self-contained, and partly because there are better value for money places to eat in Queenstown.
Bathroom - just a bit annoying that there was nowhere to put your soap in the shower except the shower floor (or precariously perching it on the tap!).
Overall - we had a comfortable and warm stay, and The Oaks is a happy medium if you can't afford The Rees or one of the big fancy hotels, but can afford something superior to Blue Peaks or one of the other smaller apartment complexes.

Room Tip: Rooms below level 10 would likely get less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffee_Cloud_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on you recent stay at Oaks Shores in Queenstown and for providing such a detailed review for us and for other potential guests. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to be comfortable and well equipped and our staff friendly. We are pleased we were able to be the perfect base for you to experience Queenstown and go skiing. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Oaks shores is located about 6 minutes from queenstown by car and there is a bus stop very close by. The rooms vary in quality and I would highly recommend you get the lake view appartment if your budget allows. The lakeview appartment is very nice and has a very large kitchen. The living area is quite big with 2 sofa's and a dining room table, there is also a very nice built in fire place.

The only let down is if you want to use the "free" internet you need to go all the way up to reception (3 levels up) and sit there while using your 30 minutes free. There is a wifi network in the rest of the building but they charge way too much for it to be worthwhile to use.

Room Tip: Lakeview appartments are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie_3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Shores in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday with friends a memorable one. We are pleased you enjoyed the view of Lake Wakitipu from your apartment and found the room to be well equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#33 of 59 in Queenstown
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $152 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing