We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, great location!”
Review of Glebe Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glebe Apartments
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The rooms at the Glebe are spacious, modern and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipted. The staff was excellent and very helpful. We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment at no extra cost. The location is ideal, being very close to the main downtown areas without being right on top of them with the accompanying noise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosressis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Glebe Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 543 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

Myself, wife and two young children stayed at the Glebe in April for seven nights. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a three room apartment. This place was massive with all of the quality fittings that you would expect from a five star. The staff were excellent and the location is only 300m from the centre of town. I can't go on about this place enough. I would recommend it to anyone that likes a bit of luxury on their holidays and want to be a stones throw away from the action.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawkman_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Bottom floor-so we didn't have one of the beautiful views. But we did have a nice private patio area, which I really enjoyed. It was nice to sit out with a cup of coffee and just relax.
The Glebe is very close to the main shopping/dining area of the city-so it was great to just leave the car in the parking garage and walk everywhere. We used the laundry facilities, which were free and in our apartment. We also went out to the grocery store and cooked in the apartment one night. (I would advise checking out the kitchen utensils, pots, etc. You might have to improvise on what you cook based on what sort of stuff they have. Our kitchen lacked a large pot but had a panini maker-kind of weird).

The staff was lovely-very helpful, very accommodating. They had a large selection of information of things to do and a very good knowledge of each different activity.

Our apartment was extremely quiet-no noise problems at all and we were facing the main road. We really enjoyed it and I would go back in a heartbeat.

The wireless internet was not free but I am 90% sure that the wired internet was free. (We were in so many hotels during our trip that the internet info is getting mixed up in my head).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I have stayed at the Glebe twice now...unbelievable!! The apartments are cozy, spacious, beautifully furnished, have a laundry, all the cooking utensils to stay in for a quiet night and the floors are heated!!!! The location is sensational, just a short stroll into town and also very close to the bus stop for the buses to the mountains. The staff are very very friendly. There is also a locker and dryer room for your ski gear which is very helpful. There is carparking if you need it

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydcarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We had the best holiday ever and I must say staying at The Glebe helped make it the best. The rooms are so homely, clean and spacious the kitchen is very well equipt. What we couldn't get over was the level of service from all the staff. They are so friendly and no put on, you can tell they love what they are doing and so so helpful. If there was an award for true hospitality they should get it.

I am seriously thinking of buying an apartment in this complex when I find a bit more money. The owners should be proud of their investment here.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed here in December 2009 having booked through a travel agent in Sydney, NSW although we actually live in Israel. The apartments are very easy to locate as you descend to the centre of this beautiful town, being only a few metres on the right from the centre itself. Free underground parking with a security-protected lift to the reception and rooms.

The staff are a joy and very easy to deal with. They are most helpful and will direct you to a large supermarket a few hundred metres away or the smaller one virtually acros the road. Reception also has a good selection of DVDs are no cost, but there is a charity box.

Our room, with one bedroom only, overlooked the side street from the main room and a pretty courtyard in front of the door. The apartment was clean and spacious and stocked with various essentials (fresh milk at reception). All the essentials you would associate with owning your own apartment are here.

Access to the centre of town could not be simpler. You use the pedestrian crossing almost outside the door and walk a few metres and you are there. The entrance to the apartments is a few metres up a very steep climb so use a car if you have a lot of heavy shopping.

Having stayed at a very upmarket in Christchurch, this accommodation compares very favourably and represents good value. We stayed thre nights and there was an offer of three nights for the price of two but, in return, the apartment was not serviced. A good offer if you don't spend too much time in the room.

We were also shown a large apartment with three bedrooms overlooking the lake should we like to return with our family. Wow! The owners are clearly and justifiably proud of their apartment complex.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_kravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We spent a week here just prior to Christmas, with our 14 and 17 year old kids and it was magical. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment several months prior and guessing that the exchange rate would deteriorate, they allowed us to prepay --which became a major blessing. But when we checked in and were lead to our room...we suddenly felt like lottery winners. The wonderful attendant personally opened the door(while casually mentioning we'd been "slightly upgraded") to the Ben Lomond Penthouse and all 4 of us gasped. WOW!!! And I mean that in EVERY aspect...the furnishings...the gourment kitchen...the massive bar...the rooms...the bathrooms....the gigantic stone deck with hot tub...AND THE VIEWS (Ocean Bay, Mountain ~ including gondola going to the top, village). And every single day it got better!
Rainy day? Free DVD's at the front desk and a huge flat screen/home theater in the room with some takeout from one of the great restaurants a block or two away! Sunny? Reading a great book while lounging on the deck (while enjoying the views!). The Glebe's location was second to none! We had an SUV and used the location to pack more than we've ever packed into any vacation -- without it being rushed or stressful ~ we just woke up each morning, checked the weather and decided what sounded best. "Thrillogy" 3-jump Bungy-jumping for the kids? Check. Jet boat ride up the mining creek? Check. Wine tasting? Check. Private plane flight to Milford Sound cruise? Check. Luge racing and spectacular buffet on the mtn? Check. ATV tours on a huge cattle ranch? Check. World class lunch with wine pairings specially created by the chef served outdoors (A Glebe recommendation!)? Check. Shoping at great local markets and making tremendous dinners at home? Check. Having drinks in a bar made completely of ice? Could have but didn't!
And the staff completely blew us away. They were not only wonderful to deal with, but a tremendous source of information and help. We've been blessed to travel all over the world, and I'd still rate this stay as one of the very best I've ever had with absolutely NOTHING I could have improved upon! Except that we had to leave!!! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKofSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Apartments

Address: 1 Beetham Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $183 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glebe Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minute walk to town, full apartments and penthouses. We are locals with many years experience and we would love to help with our knowledge of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glebe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Apartments Queenstown
Glebe Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing