We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gorgeous room spectacular room”
Review of Glebe Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glebe Apartments
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Greenslopes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic gorgeous room spectacular room”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

we ended up at the glebe by chance after where we had booked had overbooked and had already given us bad service on a previous occasion. So we ended up in the penthouse of the glebe ---- Next time we will go straight to The Glebe gorgeous location brilliant views centrally located. My husband and five teenage children. Thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated the location. travel a reasonable amount and were so happy. Thank you Glebe

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    98
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
235
115
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at the Gebe.
It was a great experience for the whole family! From the moment we checked in the staff were fantastic. The room was outstanding and the views were unbelievable. I continually found myself just looking out across the lake and mountains. The private hot tub helped sooth my sore body after several days on the ski fields. And my wife loved the fact that it is only a 2 minute stroll to town.
This was our 4th time back to Queenstown, and this was by far the best place we have stayed. It will be the only place we stay from now on
Thank you the glebe and See you next year

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cleve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location and very convenient access to Queenstown on foot. Good parking and the apartments are very spacious. Reception were friendly at check-in as well. Unfortunately we were so disappointed with the standard of our room. I was quite shocked with the room standard after reading other positive reviews prior to making my decision to book- it's clear that rooms are of varying standards within The Glebe. We stayed in the Mt Crichton Suite (3 bedroom). It had a view but the decor was very drab and dated. Carpets, walls and curtains all seemed to be a varying shade of brown / beige and the bedrooms were very dark. The bathrooms were possibly the most disappointing. Our shower head actually fell off! The problem was rectified promptly when discussed with reception. The TV functioned terribly and throw in expensive wi-fi and we started to feel a bit ripped off. There's also 3 other apartments that have a clear view directly in (and vice versa), so privacy is an issue but it wasn't too busy while we were there thankfully. It's so disappointing to spend over $600 per night and receive a dated room when you're expecting something modern. There were family photo's in the apartment which just added to a feeling that you weren't on a holiday, but crashing in someone's personal flat! There was also a lingering smell of sewerage from the bathroom. We ended up checking out a day early (no refund) and weren't sad to leave. We did stay at another establishment in Queenstown during the course of our NZ holiday and there is definitely better value elsewhere. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Michelle

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you found the apartment spacious, reception staff friendly.

We would have welcomed your views whilst you were here so we could have addressed any issues that you had. I see you have mentioned your shower head and that this was rectified straight away. If we had have known about the T.V. and a smell in the bathroom this would have been also attended to straight away.

The apartments are all individually owned and our owners like to personalize their apartments. We also find this is a great way to remind people this is someones loved investment.

The carpet and curtains are new however peoples taste in decorating can differ to what you like.

You were not charged for wifi use. Our policy is quite clear regarding cancellation and in your case you gave less than 24 hours.

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any of your concerns.

Kind regards

Anne Henley
anne.henley@theglebe.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We came to NZ for a 'girls' ski holiday & stayed at the Glebe for a week. It was great- a spacious, clean, modern apartment, big enough to for us & all our gear! It's just a short walk from the CBD, which was really convenient, as when we weren't skiing or sightseeing we were in town shopping, eating, socialising & generally having an awesome time. Staff were always lovely- very helpful & happy to be of service. We would thoroughly recommend the Glebe & will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We highly recommend The Glebe for a family vacation - Summer or Winter. The Cecil Peak Suite was the apartment we stayed in for four days. Absolutely fantastic for a family - huge living area and very large bedrooms. The gas fireplace was a huge plus, making the apartment very warm. Cleanliness was A+++++++. Location is so close to the main Queenstown shopping area with an easy walk back. Staff are extremely helpful and polite. Lovely view looking towards city, lake and gondola.
Extremely happy to recommend The Glebe Apartments - you wont be disappointed.
G & S Barlow - Auckland.

Room Tip: Cecil Peak Suite just lovely with brilliant views - highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would highly recommend the Glebe apartment, lovely staff and great views over the town and the lake. The apartment is very close to all the Queensown facilities. The beds were also very comfortable and the apartment very spacious.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AurumWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I highly recommend The Glebe. The service is excellent, staff are so friendly, professional and very helpful. I emailed The Glebe with queries about Queenstown (tours, questions about the apartment, etc) and Helen responded promptly with helpful tips/suggestions. Amy greeted us on our arrival and she was so friendly, accommodating and wonderful, she made us feel at home! We got upgraded to a bigger apartment which made our holiday even more memorable. There's great heating, the beds are very comfortable, the apartment was spacious and clean with all the amenities, car park is provided and best of all, we had a view of the lake! Not forgetting Skye and Ginni, The Glebe's onsite dogs, who were just adorable! I highly recommend this place and I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, General Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Jean

Thank you from all of us for taking the time to write a lovely review. Reading how you felt about the staff and Amy makes me very proud to manage The Glebe. Our dogs are pretty cute and they certainly know it.

We are looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Kind regards

Anne Henley and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Apartments

Property: Glebe Apartments
Address: 1 Beetham Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glebe Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minute walk to town, full apartments and penthouses. We are locals with many years experience and we would love to help with our knowledge of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Glebe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Apartments Queenstown
Glebe Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing