We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual standard”
Review of Glebe Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glebe Apartments
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not up to usual standard”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is 4th or 5th time I've stayed at The Glebe and we're usually so well looked after. This time, due to small numbers were in room 101, which was definitely not the best, no view whatsoever, barely see the sky. Can see that there is work going on but some of the features are getting tired, little things like peeling paint, remotes held together with duck tape, that sort of thing. Stiflingly hot. Fantastic shower though, could have styled in there for. Week were it not for the others in my party.

Room Tip: 102 ok, right on street. Go for a 3 or 4 bed one and see if its got a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof5Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am concerned that you did not feel we had looked after you. We all pride ourselves on customer service. I am confused as to which apartment you were actually in. Apartment 101 is a very large 4 bedroom apartment. You can see the mountains and sky from this apartment. A few months ago we changed to guest select Sky TV giving us 50 plus channels. The remotes supplied by sky were almost all faulty and we did use tape on a couple until the replacements arrived.

We are currently in our quiet period in Queenstown and this is maintenance time. If you were in an apartment that had a little bit of flaky paint I am sure it would be one on our maintenance list.

Heating is a hard one to please everyone some like it hot and some cold. We have underfloor heating and a gas heater and both can be turned down or off.

So pleased you enjoyed the shower.

Please come back again for your 5th or 6th visit and next time if you have any concerns please raise them with us so we can fix them.

Kind regards

Anne Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    98
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
115
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here this weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. It was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful. I would totally recommend this property to stay in. Another bonus to this place was it was in walking distance to Queenstown centre.

Room Tip: Our room was a down stairs room not a great view but was very quiet. They do have other rooms with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Great review thank you for taking the time to write.

I is lovely to read that you found the apartment clean and comfortable. My staff take great pride in their work and enjoy seeing positive reviews like yours.

You don't really need a car if you are staying here. The pick up for activities is either at the door or a short walk to the station building. The other beauty is just a short stroll to all our wonderful restaurants, lake and shopping centre.

I do hope we will see you in not so distance future.

Kind regards

Anne and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in a 'two bedroom'. The set out was great and the rooms kept nice and warm.
Some work needed doing in our kitchen during our stay which caused a bit of disturbance, but we were given a bottle of wine for our hassle which made up for it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for writing us a great review. I am very pleased you found the apartment to be nice and warm. This is very important now winter has arrived and the under floor heating is a winner.

I am pleased you liked the wine and thank you for your understanding. It is very hard to get tradesmen just when you want them in Queenstown. When there is a job to be done sometimes it has to be when they can do it and not when we would like.

We are lucky with our friendly staff they love working here and love talking to the guests.

Please come back soon.

Kind regards

Anne and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am a travel agent from Australia and have had the priviledge of travelling all over the world, but i was very impressed with the Glebe apartments! They were spacious, with everything you would need to live there permanantly, unfortunately we were only there for 4 days. The staff were fantastic. It was a 5 min walk to the city centre but the reception had enough info to be a tourist info centre itself! The beds were very comfortable, and my partner enjoyed having Sky Tv for when it took me a bit longer to get ready, the shower was amazing though with really good pressure. I will definitely be recommending this to all of my clients and if i ever go back to Queenstown I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. I certainly agree with you Queenstown is paradise and I am lucky to live here.

Thank you for the kind words about the staff, I am blessed to have the very best team here. Glad your husband enjoyed our 50 plus sky channels, this is great in the winter when we are snowed in. We get a lot of positive feed back on the water pressure and comfy beds.

If you don't have a car then The Glebe is certainly the place to stay.

I do hope you will come back for a longer stay next time.

Kind regards

Anne and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very nice manager and the apartments were awesome. We had a few rooms as we were down for a wedding. The local is awesome and the rooms are very nice and well laid out. the decks have incredible views (and the ones with spa pools are worth the extra money!) We had a great time. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashhelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. I am so pleased everything went well for the wedding. Our apartments are large and work well for large groups.

Please come back again soon.

Kind regards

Anne Henley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LihueKauaiHawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

wonderful check-in people. Clean unit. Free parking. Limited free internet(negative). Location a 5-7minute walk away from the tourist center. If possible, ask for a unit set-back from the main road.Above expectation. Does not appear to be a/c which might be an issue in the summer.

Room Tip: avoid road front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaJimmy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I am very pleased you found our front office staff wonderful, they certainly enjoy meeting all the lovely people that come and stay.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness and now have the white tick of hygiene.

We don't have air conditioning. The complexes in Queenstown are mostly built for the winter months with under floor heating etc. We don't have a lot of warm months so it is not normally an issue. We do have extra fans if people find it too hot.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Anne Henley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A group of 14 friends stayed in Queenstown in late January for a 50th Birthday. We had booked 2 apartments, but one group of us were upgraded to The Gibson Penthouse. Well this was the most fantastic accommodation, with a beautiful large kitchen, big lounge area, 3 spacious bedrooms and a balcony with view to die for. It was modern and clean and welcoming. We looked directly over to the Lake and could see the Earnslaw chugging its way up the lake, to the left we could watch the paragliders as they floated from the heavens and at night the mood changed to a breathtaking scene of twinkling lights. Anne and girls at reception were so kind and helpful, catering to our every need and more. Honestly we would never stay anywhere else, so thank you so much Anne and Co for such a wonderful holiday we shall never forget. Gail & Max Pollock

Room Tip: Higher floors or corner suites by the road are all fine for views and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandMNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHneley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I was so pleased reading your review it is amazing. I wish I could upgrade everyone but that is just not possible and when we do it is nice that it is appreciated. Our apartments are also very nice and some have similar views to that of the penthouses. Very pleased that you will only stay with us from now on.

The penthouses have the best views across the town and lake. Watching the Earnslaw and lights at night would be my idea of a holiday as well.

Thank you for mentioning the great reception staff. I am very lucky to have the most amazing staff that really care about people and their job.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Apartments

Property: Glebe Apartments
Address: 1 Beetham Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glebe Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minute walk to town, full apartments and penthouses. We are locals with many years experience and we would love to help with our knowledge of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Glebe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Apartments Queenstown
Glebe Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing