We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hurley's of Queenstown
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We got this hotel on a 'Grab It' deal at $100 a night which included breakfast which was delivered to our room in the afternoon and consisted of muesli, bread, tin of fruit, orange juice. The portions were to last for two days and there was ample. The room was spacious and sufficient parking off road. We had a room at the front on ground floor. Views of the mountains a little restricted by parked vehicles but not an issue. Easy to walk into town but up a hill which may be a problem for some. Internet was extra $10 for 24 hrs. Would have preferred this to have been included but at $100 a night for such comfort we were happy. There is a small gym and sauna, useful if it rains a lot. We would not have considered this hotel had it not been half price because we always look for free wi fi.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    156
    59
    27
    12
See reviews for
66
216
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a clean and comfortable motel. Having stayed in various studio/apartment motels in New Zealand, this one rates high. My husband and I rented the executive studio room (without mountain view) and were not disappointed. The location was great, 5 minute walk from downtown so far enough from the noise but close enough to go back and change for the evening. I wouldn't recommend walking if a person has a disability as there is a steep hill to climb but bus service is right outside the motel and it only takes a few minutes to go downtown.The kitchenette is fully equipped which was great to prepare late night meals. A continental breakfast was included with our package and was very good. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were in Queenstown for a wedding and staff helped us with all types of specific requests. We will stay here again when winter comes along for the skiing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian22255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hurleys after Christmas for a number of nights.Accomodation was fine and we enjoyed our time in Queenstown.Our gripe was with reception when we requested a late check out on our last day.We were told we could have 30 mins and no longer .Having spent nearly a full week onsite the attitude and tone were hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMc186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks for the review and always pleasing to hear you all enjoyed Queenstown. Late check outs are always difficult especially with a 2 bedroom apartment. We had guests arriving the same day as your check out and we do require 2 hours to clean and sanitise the apartment. We are always happy to store luggage if you have a late flight. You can walk into town, then return and change in the saunna room if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed two nights there and we had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped! Located a bit far from the town, not walking distance to shops or restaurant. And the down side would be the pricey laundry service, NZ$4 per session and dryer is totally not efficient! Overall, recommended for all type of traveler.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooh_tyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quality088, Front Office Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Pleased to see you had enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. We are only a 5 minute walk to town and there is a bus service available for your use. Always ask at reception regarding transport options.
Thanks for the comment on the dryer I have had a serviceman take a look at it re not drying clothes sufficiently. Always great to get feedback that is easily fixed.
Hope to see you again in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Let me tell you a little about Hurley's "romantic and luxurious" Honeymoon Suite. It's not romantic. It's not luxurious. If this had been my actual honeymoon, I would have been so very disappointed. Think love-hotel: There were plastic love-hearts on the wall. There were stains on the bedspread. The bathroom was stinky, with wallpaper peeling off in the corners. The "super king bed" consisted of two king singles pushed together, resulting in an uncomfortable (and not very romantic) ridge in the middle. The bed was also made up for 3. Service upon check-in was gruff. Some assumptions were perhaps made about the suite's clientèle. We had to argue our way into receiving the advertised "special welcome basket" which consisted solely of a $7.99 bottle of wine. Sure, the spa bath (in the bedroom) was nice, but it would have been nicer if the tea lights in the candelabra hadn't all been used up. Cleanliness was also an issue - the bedspread was stained in several places, somehow the cleaners had left a giant fluffy mess on our carpet, and the bathroom needed attention. At least the room was nice and big with a well-equipped kitchenette, and being so close to the centre of town we didn't see any reason to spend much time at the motel. So I can't claim it ruined our holiday. In fact, our visit to the Dubious Quality Inn became a source of much hilarity and many jokes.

If this had been just a motel room and not a honeymoon suite it would be have been fine, but advertising it as a luxurious suite does increase the visitor's expectations. You can get much better for the same price in Queenstown, and I wouldn't honeymoon at this motel in a million years.

Lastly, a very minor gripe coffee lovers will understand: Why on earth provide enough coffee for two people when you only equip the room with a tiny little one-cup plunger? I don't understand. This means one person gets to enjoy their nice hot cup of caffeine while the other waits patiently for theirs to brew. Provide a plunger big enough for the daily coffee supply. How hard can it be!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutramania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Very disapointed to see we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay at Quality Inn Hurley's.
This motel is annually marked by Qualmark and we meet or exceed there standards.
We welcome comments and could have resolved many issues had you rung or approached reception.
The housekeeping staff pride themselves in their work and it was overlooked in replacing the tea camndles.
The initial gift of wine was overlooked as the manager was absent on your arrival. We are going to improve this gift thanks to your comment.
Hope you have enjoyed your stay in NZ.

Ann & Allister Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hurley's, staff were friendly, room was nice and was away from the noisy town centre although a little bit of a walk. It was well heated and had everything we needed for our 7 night stay. The only down side was the cost of washing clothes was a bit exy as were the cost of the sheets as we got a little bit of sauce on them and were chared $40 NZ for dry cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Owner at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to make a comment on your recent stay with us at Hurleys.

I spoke to the housekeeping staff regarding the extra charge. This was for stained sheets and under blanket that had to be send away to be cleaned. The bedding is changed mid stay but this was an extra change. The housekeeping staff pride themselves on their work and always change the bedding when a problem occurs.
The extra charge is displayed in the room compendium.

Hope to see you again in Queenstown and Hurleys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The rooms were very comfortable and allowed us to fully self cater which is important when on a ski trip. the staff were more than helpful, booking our mountain transfer every day and recommending great things to do. When our flight was cancelled, Anne at the front dest phoned the airline for us and allowed us to call our insurance company, no phone charge. In addition she managed to put us into our room for an additional two nights before we could fly out again. Was very comforting in a stressful situation. The ski room was extremely helpful and the suana's were amazing after a long day skiing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quality088, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks for you comments it was a pleasure to be able to help out with your situation due to snow closing Queenstown airport.
Hope to see you again at Hurleys when you return for another holiday.

regards
Ann Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurley's of Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's of Queenstown

Property: Hurley's of Queenstown
Address: 1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hurley's of Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at Hurley's of Queenstown. Rooms are spacious with either king or queen size beds. All rooms are self catering and at the end of your day relax in the spa bath located in all bathrooms. We have a gym, internet kiosk and sauna all on site for your use. Decor is fresh, chic and in relaxing neutral tones. We're located only a 5 minute walk to CBD and have easy access to the connectabus for anyone wanting to travel to Frankton shopping centre or Arrowtown. We have lots of knowledge to share with you and provide a free booking service for any activity in this area and Milford Sound. For those travellers with bikes, skis or golf club we have lockable storage for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hurley's of Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hurley`s Hotel Queenstown
Quality Inn Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing