We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K. - you can do better.”
Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Lodge
Ranked #3 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed in a King Suite at the Coronation Lodge. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished. They are reasonably sized - a big drawback, however is very poor lighting. It is impossible to read anything other than in bed where there are direct lights. Apparently in an attempt to save money they have put low lighting in the too few fixtures that are there. Another drawback is the bathroom. There is a vessel sink on a vanity so tiny that it leaves no room for personal care items. Nor is parking guaranteed - if you don’t get one of the few spots early, you are on the street. None of this is a disaster - the room was clean and O.K. but they charge a premium price. Not a chance I would attempt to put together a meal with the accoutrements supplied or in the area provided. If you don’t feel you need to be right downtown, book one of the apartments farther out.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooterbNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 415 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

Coronation Lodge was minutes away from town. The lodge was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful, and very accomodating as we were traveling with 6 adults and 2 small children. Was wonderful and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goUNC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

On arrival we where greeted by Reception & given our details - nothing extra, but nothing less.

The Lodge (Hotel come Motel) was clean. Also great location, with a great price - reason why we choose this place over others.

Room was nice & large, with a balcony. Bed comfortable (we had no trouble falling to sleep or noise). Usually tea/coffee making facilities, along with small fridge. There was a breakfast room available, but we didn't use at all. Also had Sky, which was another key seller as my partner didn't want to miss the All Black game. Lovely decro of wooden floors, etc.

Bathroom was tidy & clean, nice heated floor which was really lovely. Only problem was that due to it being an open shower, it tends to spray the water out further, so you have to make sure you don't leave any towels/clothes on the floor.

Right across the street was a path that lead right into town - which was lovely.

We didn't have a car during our stay, but if you did there is car parking. Only problem is that if your bags are heavy & you wheel them you need to take them outside up the pathway, into the entrance that way.

This Lodge meet exactly what our needs where & delivered on what we had booked for. Would recommend & use again for future travel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelObession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed in five hotels during my New Zealand trip, and the Coronation Lodge was easily the best. I had studied up on Queenstown before my arrival and made a list of 10 things I wanted to see and do -- and all were in walking distance of the Coronation. The hardwood floors add a simple, classy touch to the rooms, the staff was great and friendly, and the breakfast was good value. It's always a gamble to book a hotel online -- every one of them looks good in the photos, but photos can be deceptive, and virtually every hotel has rave reviews as well as warnings from grumpy travelers. But this one more than surpassed my expectations. I loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in this hotel. It was a brief 5 minute walk into the town centre, so location was nice, just enough away from it all to be quiet, but close enough to easily walk into town for dinner, etc. The rooms were nicely put together, great bed, heated floors in bathroom, small balcony, fridge, coffee plunger, tv, etc. There was laundry in the car park area, and parking was great.

We were slightly hesitant on booking because of the previous mentions of potential noise from the floors, but saw a good amount of rugs around, the wood floors look very nice and are inviting. We did book on the top floor and had no problems with this.

The staff were helpful with booking activities, and they also really went out of their way to save our trip from disaster. We left our passports in the room (they fell out of our bag and under the bed - I think) And we received an email right away notifying us that they were found while cleaning the room. They then went out of their way to arrange shipment of the passports to one of our next destinations before we had to get on a plane home! This was a lifesaver for us and we really appreciated their prompt attention to this matter.

We've already recommended the place to friends who just stayed there a few nights ago.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twogooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The main advantage of this hotel is that it is really close to the town centre, just a short stroll through the park and you're there, which is really convenient. You can also park your car in the basement - but it's really small - so if you're late you just have to park along the street.

It's an okay place, but a bit overrated. The rooms are clean, quite tastefully decorated, but quite small. Also, in comparison to other places a bit expensive, especially because you only get a room - breakfast is extra. A 'one bedroom apartment' proved to be just a normal room, whereas everywhere else we stayed during 3 weeks in NZ this meant you had a seperate bedroom.

Also, the hotel is not really quiet - you can hear other guests quite well, which means they can also hear you quite well - which is a bit of an issue when you are staying with a small child.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

The Coronation Lodge has a nice all wood lodge type atmosphere while being located very close to Queenstown. Despite the location, it is generally quieter as it is up a hill from downtown. Service was fine and you can get a cooked breakfast there. A good value with good location. If that is what you are looking for, I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#9 of 58 in Queenstown
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Address: 10 Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $124 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished Coronation Lodge is a privately owned and operated 12 room hotel offering clean, affordable, quality accommodation close to the heart of Queenstown. With the comforts and charms of a small lodge combined with the conveniences you would expect in 4-star accommodation, including complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi, we truly are a unique property. Featuring wooden interior throughout the Lodge, a feeling of natural warmth is created complementing our friendly personalised service. With numerous initiatives in place, the small team at Coronation Lodge is dedicated to creating an Eco-Friendly environment and warmly welcome like-minded guests: Continental and cooked breakfast Free unlimited wifi in rooms and public areas Central location Super king sized beds Feather underlays and electric blankets Complimentary tea,coffee, fresh milk, and cookies Free guest car park Free secure luggage storage and heated ski lockers Guest laundry Free booking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing