We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottage feel”
Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Lodge
Ranked #3 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

No lake view but the rooms are nicely sized, clean, and quiet. The lodge is a pleasant but slightly uphill 5-minute walk from cafes and restaurants. You get free parking and WiFi too. Overall, great value. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Karabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Karabau,

Thank you for your review of Coronation Lodge.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with a 'cozy cottage feel'. We do our best to make sure the lodge is warm and welcoming for our guests.

Due to our location next to the Botanical Gardens, there are unfortunately no lake views, however, we do have views of the stunning mountains surrounding Queenstown from most of our rooms. With only a 2 minute walk to the lake front you're able to enjoy the lake easily.

We are so pleased that you felt that your stay was great value.

We hope to welcome you back to Coronation Lodge in the future.

Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed at this lodge twice. First in 2007 and again in 2013. It is a very clean motel. It has wood floors and excellent location. It is only a few blocks from the CBD. Nice walk thru a park. I stayed there the second time because I knew my wife would like it. She was delighted and complained that we did not stay long enough. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. There is a car park under the motel so you don't have to park on the street. It is only a block from the local park which is great for a relaxing or power walk. Lots of huge trees and flowers surrounded by water. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rldgrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear rldgrm,

Thank your for your lovely review of Coronation Lodge.

We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here (again). We love our location right next the the Botanical Gardens, it's so relaxing to walk around and also makes us feel away from the CBD, despite only being a couple of minutes walk away.

We hope you can welcome you both back at Coronation Lodge in the future.

Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

we only got 1 night (due to availability) ... awesome place.. as unexpected! Loved it... no cons whatsoever. Best part of it was the parking! we stayed in Novotel before that, parking was a pain. Book this place before hand, apparently it gets packed a lot..don't let that fool you, the rooms are ultra clean and extremely well maintained!

Room Tip: Room 5 .. if you have a car! (right in front of the parking/laundry access door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear ray1802,

Thank you for your great review of Coronation Lodge.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry you were unable to stay for longer as you had wished, you are right, we are very popular and tend to get booked up well in advance, especially around the busy months.

We do offer covered parking under the lodge, which is available on a first come, first served basis.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Coronation Lodge in the future.

Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel, travelling as a couple in early May.

It is affordable compared with other QT places, and quite conveniently located – less than 10 minutes walk to town center.

The room was huge, and the king-size bed very comfortable. Electric blankets never hurt when it starts getting near freezing at night.

Bathroom was clean, functional, and also quite big.

Free wireless internet reception in the room as spotless, but we were just opposite the lobby so it might not be like that everywhere.

Overall, the room was fantastic, except that it is was on the ground floor and looked out onto the street, which is busy.

There is quite a lot of traffic, and also quite a bit of pedestrians walking up through the park opposite, so by no means a silent environment. Wouldn’t call it noisy, but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room upstairs or away from the busy road!

Continental breakfast in the morning was delicious, with everything you would want on offer. There are also options for cooked breakfast if that is what you go in for.

All in all, good value, would gladly stay again and recommend for everyone except very light sleepers!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Shadowwisps,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry that you found the room slightly noisy, unfortunately at some times of the year there is more foot traffic across the road than others, being located across the road from the Queenstown Botanical Gardens means that people often use the footpaths opposite as a scenic walk into the town centre. We hope it didn't distract from your otherwise enjoyable stay too much.

We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms large & well equipped.

We hope we can welcome you back to Coronation Lodge in the future.

Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great little lodge. Proximity to the centre of Queenstown (2 mins) is ideal. The room was warm, comfortable and really well equipped. Unlimited free wifi was a real boon. Big TV with a range of mainstream and Sky stations was a plus after a busy day working. Add friendly staff, only too willing to be of help and this place is a real gem. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Queenstown - for work or leisure

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Gavin O,

Thank you for your review of Coronation Lodge. We are so glad that your trip here was so good.

It's great to hear that we cater well for corporate guests as well as leisure guests.

This year we have upgraded our WiFi to enable us to offer 1GB per day free, which has been received very well. We also upgraded our Sky package to be Sky Guest Select offering 50+ channels in every room.

We are so glad to hear that we were all friendly & helpful, we all love working at Coronation Lodge, and enjoy being able to get to know our guests & offer them any assistance we can during their stay in Queenstown.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coronation Lodge in the future.

Kind regards,
Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A big thank you to the staff for making our stay a wonderful experience and accommodating to our requests. You were all really helpful in pointing out places to go and the booking of trips. We will definitely be returning here for our next trip to NZ, and look forward to the experience again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteTxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear LynetteTxh,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found the staff at Coronation Lodge created such a wonderful experience for you, we love helping people book the right activities and restaurants for their desires. Between us, over the years, we have experienced almost all of the activities Queenstown has on offer, and also dined at all the restaurants, so can generally help guide our guests to the most suitable activities for their ambitions and adventure levels.

We hope to welcome you back at Coronation Lodge for your next NZ trip.

Warm wishes,
Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The room was great, location fantastic with an easy walk to town center and lake, off road parking and service very friendly and helpful. Breakfast cooked just as we like it. We can recommend Coronation Lodge if your planning to stay in Queenstown area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megm956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hi Meg M,

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you had a great stay at Coronation Lodge & found our location so handy, alongside the friendly & helpful service.

We are so happy you liked the breakfast, always an important meal with so many adventurous activities to try in Queenstown.

We hope to welcome you back at Coronation Lodge in the future.

Jane Frooms
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Address: 10 Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $125 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished Coronation Lodge is a privately owned and operated 12 room hotel offering clean, affordable, quality accommodation close to the heart of Queenstown. With the comforts and charms of a small lodge combined with the conveniences you would expect in 4-star accommodation, including complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi, we truly are a unique property. Featuring wooden interior throughout the Lodge, a feeling of natural warmth is created complementing our friendly personalised service. With numerous initiatives in place, the small team at Coronation Lodge is dedicated to creating an Eco-Friendly environment and warmly welcome like-minded guests: Continental and cooked breakfast Free unlimited wifi in rooms and public areas Central location Super king sized beds Feather underlays and electric blankets Complimentary tea,coffee, fresh milk, and cookies Free guest car park Free secure luggage storage and heated ski lockers Guest laundry Free booking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing