We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay”
Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Lodge
Ranked #3 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in a large double room for two nights before moving to a bigger room with kitchenette. Both rooms were excellent - spacious and with good size balcony for outside coffee, watching the world go by and admiring the views.

Great location - just outside/5-min walk (small hill) to the central area of shops, restaurants and lakeside.

Staff were very friendly - offering advice and help with 'what to do' in Queenstown. We'd booked an excursion for the day we were to change rooms ... staff were happy to move our luggage between rooms during the day.

Queenstown is a great place to visit with lots to do and see - even for the seasoned traveller. Would definitely stay at Coronation Lodge again if (when?!) we find ourselves heading to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdsandjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Kdsandjms

Thank you for your lovely review of Coronation Lodge. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for mentioning our location and its convenience to Central Queenstown and the lakeside. Customer Service is very important to us and I am happy to read that we help make your stay that little bit more enjoyable by helping you move rooms whilst you were out enjoying Queenstown for the day.

We would certainly love to have you stay with us again, and we hope it is sooner rather than later! Queenstown really is a remarkable destination with beautiful seasons and stunning alpine scenery. We certainly all love living here!

Many thanks!
Melissa Bowles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. It was within walking distance of the central town, gondola rides, the Ernslaw and shopping. 2 minutes walk at the most. At night we slept with the doors open onto the balcony, due to the summer heat, and apart from one or two revellers we slept incredibly well. It was surprisingly quiet, even though it was so close to the central township. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The shower and bathroom facilities were lovely and very spacious as was the whole room. The closeness to activities and quiet was what sets this accommodation apart from the rest. Highly recommended and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi Sjam7!

Thanks so much for writing about your stay here in Queenstown. It has been a really hot summer here and I am glad that you were able to sleep comfortably in the heat. Fully opening windows are a real advantage in the hotter months, and most rooms have balconies or patios to allow for additional air flow which has been a real bonus lately!

All our rooms have great big King Beds and I am glad that you found them to be comfortable. All our beds are fitted with NZ Fairydown feather mattress toppers; which I 100% recommend for anyone at home needing some extra comfort on their beds. I actually have one at home and they are just divine!

Thank you for pointing out how convenient our central location is to all that Queenstown has to offer. Sjam7; we would love to have you stay with us again when you return to Queenstown. Let us know if we can help plan any activities prior to your return, or if you need any advice about other times of the year to visit. Winter is fun!

Thank you for recommending us!
Melissa Bowles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Coronation Lodge for 1 night while we were driving through the South Island. The Coronation Lodge is just a few blocks from the main streets of town. Right across the street, there is a staircase with access to the street below. We loved the location and walked everywhere from the lodge.
The hotel was at a great price point; the room was clean and had everything we needed. At check in we even received a little bottle of milk for tea. The small balcony was great for getting some fresh air and looking out onto the street. There is also parking spaces underneath the building.
I highly recommend Coronation Lodge!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkTravelBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've stayed at Coronation Lodge several times over the past few years, and every time it has been a joy. The accommodation is comfortable and very well maintained. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's good value for money, and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genevra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would highly recommend Coronation lodge. We have just arrived home after travelling for the last 4 weeks staying in lots of different places and, Coronation Lodge is right at the top. It has everything you need, starting with very friendly and efficient staff, who made all the bookings for our activities such as the Canyon Swing, Bungy jump, Zip wires, and white water rafting. Mel was able to give lots of advice as she had already done most of the activities herself.The rooms are beautifully decorated, exremely comfortableand perfectly clean. The Kitchenette was very well equiped and everything was of a very high standard. We were able to wash our clothes in the very neat and tidy laundry. The location is perfect and within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. We loved Queenstown from the moment we landed at the airport to the moment our very friendy taxi driver took us back to the airport after our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location and very comfy rooms with nice view from veranda. Rooms were modern, clean and spacious. Only complaint was that the owner decided to throw all his rubbish in the outdoor bin at 630 am making a huge racket and woke us up. He then proceeded to hose down the driveway right under our room for the next hour and since there is no AC it was quite noisy since the windows were open. But hey, who wants sleep when on holiday so we got an early start to our day but more consideration would have been nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trippytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really nice spot close to botanical gardens and town centre. Rooms are spacious and clean and some have a nice balcony overlooking gardens. Big beds with lovely crisp sheets which were super comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful and stored our luggage even before we had checked in while we were on a four night hike.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Address: 10 Coronation Drive | Corner of Sydney Street & Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $110 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished Coronation Lodge is a privately owned and operated 12 room hotel offering clean, affordable, quality accommodation close to the heart of Queenstown. With the comforts and charms of a small lodge combined with the conveniences you would expect in 4-star accommodation, including complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi, we truly are a unique property. Featuring wooden interior throughout the Lodge, a feeling of natural warmth is created complementing our friendly personalised service. With numerous initiatives in place, the small team at Coronation Lodge is dedicated to creating an Eco-Friendly environment and warmly welcome like-minded guests: Continental and cooked breakfast Free unlimited wifi in rooms and public areas Central location Super king sized beds Feather underlays and electric blankets Complimentary tea,coffee, fresh milk, and cookies Free guest car park Free secure luggage storage and heated ski lockers Guest laundry Free booking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing