We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain at a glance, Excellent after a stay”
Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Lodge
Ranked #3 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had almost the same feeling as the reviewer below. It looks very plain from both outside and inside. I even felt a bit sad when first getting into the room. It might because of the Pine wood made furniture and decoration.

However, once you stay, you will find everything you need is handy and perfect and thoughtful.

-Glasses, plates, forks and knife in the neat arrangement in the little chamber near desk.
-Very big and comfortable bed, lovely view outside of Mt. Remarkable. Our room just under 2 sakura flower tree.
-The floor of the bathroom was warm. everything is clean and shine.
-Besides, what's my favorite is the hair dryer, plain but as excellent as the Lodge it self. serve in a low tone but professional style.
-laundry machine works perfect.

Close to the lake side and park and main Shotover Street but hided in a quiet side.

My husband and I loved it and we will stay here again if we visited Queenstown again.
Thanks for making the wonderful Lodge.

BTW, can I purchase one of your hair dryer?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wangtaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Wangtaitai

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on your first impression you were not happy with our accommodation. I am delighted to see that during the course of your stay you found our accommodation to be excellent. It was our pleasure to help organise a hairdryer to be shipped to you in China, I hope it works out just as well as the one here in your room! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Thank you for recommending Coronation Lodge.
The Team @ Coronation Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 428 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

You may feel Coronation Lodge is plain when you see the lodge from the outside.
Your impression would change "Extraordinary", once you've stayed a night.
Rooms are cozy, clean, full of amenities, plus staff is helpful to you.
They give valuable or even secret imformation as to QueensTown from THEIR OWN experiences. Actualy, I could have a nice dinner at the restaurant in the town thanks to that.
The most "Coronationish" is breakfast, I think. Besides various cereals, dried fruits, many kinds of juices+milk with flawless dishes+glasses, they serve a cup of tea or coffee that is made after asking the guests. Having such a thoughtful breakfast at modest price was one of the pleasures of my visit. Thank you.


[Japanese]
外見からは地味な印象を与えるロッジですが、中に入り一泊すると印象が変わるのではないかと思います。部屋は清潔で温かみがあり、とても居ごこちがよいです。スタッフも気さくで、町のいろいろな情報を教えてくれたり、ツアーの予約をとってくれます。スタッフはニュージーランド人たちなので、日本語は通じませんが、ホスピタリティがある人たちなので、ブロークン英語でもきっと力になってくれると思います。このロッジで一番印象に残ったのは、朝食。シリアル中心の朝食ですが、たくさんの種類のシリアル、ドライフルーツ、ジュース、ミルク、そして、入れたてのコーヒーか紅茶を出してくれます。けっして豪華でなないけど、美しい外の景色を見ながらピカピカの食器で食べるニュージーランドの伝統的な(?)朝食は楽しみの一つでした。

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shinichiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience of Coronation Lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to share our local knowledge so that as a traveller to Queenstown you can experience the very best that Queenstown has to offer.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast at Coronation Lodge and found the price to be fair. We sincerely hope that you can return to Queenstown and Coronation Lodge again in the future.

Warm regards
The Team @ Coronation Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Clean, convenient, modern, quiet, comfortable, warm, have free wifi access, helpful and friendly hosts....my husband and I love this place! We'll definitely choose to stay here again on our next visit. I especially adore the wooden floors!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Grace Y

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The key points you have listed are fantastic and are all the things that we strive to be and deliver to our guests. I am so glad that you adore the wooden floors, we think they give the lodge a great European ski-lodge feel. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in Queenstown.

Until next time…happy travels

The Team at Coronation Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked 2 rooms in July, one of them was a kitchenette room and the other was just a normal room. There were 5 of us in our group and the room was joined so that was great. I would say the location is one of the best things about this place, it's so near the town area - literally like a 3 minute walk. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable. There were heaters to keep us warm and they provide hairdryers as well. The balcony was great, we could see stars at night and the snowy mountains in the morning. I love the fact that the bathroom tiles were heated so my feet didn't freeze after I came out of the shower lol.
There was a little bit of noise at night, some drunk people laughing and talking loudly as they walked by. It wasn't a big thing and I would definitely recommend this place. It would be good if they had more specials though, it can be rather pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 02rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Coronation Lodge and sharing your experience with others. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient and central to Queenstown. It is nice to know that the little touches such as the under-floor bathroom heating and hairdryers made your stay that little bit more comfortable. I am sorry that during the evening you experienced some noise from people making their way home past the lodge.

Thank you for mentioning specials! We actually have a great special available at the moment for September and October which includes continental breakfast! Please also contact us direct if you wish to stay with us again and we can offer a special rate for you as a return guest! We would love to have you stay with again.

Happy Travels

The Team @ Coronation Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife & I love to head for Queenstown for some chill time away from the kids,work & the daily hard grind & that time is precious to us as it doesnt come that often.We always stay at the Coronation Lodge. The staff are Excellent,The rooms are very comfortable & the location is awesome.....only a 5min walk to the centre of Queenstown...cant rate these guys high enough

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review of Coronation Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be handy for your recent stay in Queenstown. It does save the need to rent a car as we are conveniently located to all the very best that Queenstown has to offer. There can be a little noise from people walking past the lodge on the way home from town, but as you said it is not a major problem as they tend to move by quickly.

We would love to see you again, we have a great deal on for September and October that includes breakfast, or contact us direct so we can offer you a great rate as one of our valued returned guests!

Happy Travels
The Team @ Coronation Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a kitchenette room - it was lovely and spacious and very warm! Really handy location to town (no need to drive in). The staff were lovely and helpful as well. It gets a little noisy late at night with people walking past after a night out, but nothing major. Overall, a really nice stay and we'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

There was 5 in our group and we had two rooms that joined. One room with a kitchenette which was perfect. If there was any thing that we needed in the cooking department, like a salad bowl, cling wrap, ect, the girls at the reseption were onto it. Our stay was 14 nights and we were so happy to have laundry facilities. We were close to everything when it came to getting to every activity we were involved in.
Our stay was very comfortable. The beds were nice and warm, the bathrooms were great with the warm floors and very clean and neat.
One thing I would like to pass on is to book your activities with the girls at the desk as there are some events that offer a savings when you do. This we found out after all 5 of us went paragliding. Had we booked the event at the desk we would have saved $25 each on the gonala ride to the top of the mountain.
But at the end of our stay at the Coronation Lodge the 5 of us rated our stay on average at 9.8 . Good going girls, keep up the great job.
The Caldwell's

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Melani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Caldwells

WOW! What a wonderful review from such a great family! It was our pleasure to have your wonderful family stay with us during your ski holiday. We really do strive to provide personalised service to all our guests and assist wherever we can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Over your 14 night stay you really did get to do many of the great activities Queenstown has to offer and I am glad that our location was convenient for accessing all your adventures!

Thank you for mentioning our tour booking service! We have established some great deals with local tour operators and we are glad we can offer some savings to our guests. We are all passionate about Queenstown so love sharing our local knowledge with our guests to help you make the most out of your time in Queenstown.

Would love to have you guys back again for another holiday! Maybe a summer break as Queenstown is sensational in Summer!

All the best
The Team @ Coronation Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Address: 10 Coronation Drive | Corner of Sydney Street & Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $115 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished Coronation Lodge is a privately owned and operated 12 room hotel offering clean, affordable, quality accommodation close to the heart of Queenstown. With the comforts and charms of a small lodge combined with the conveniences you would expect in 4-star Hotel, including complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi, we truly are a unique property. Featuring wooden interior throughout the Lodge, a feeling of natural warmth is created complementing our friendly personalised service. With numerous initiatives in place, the small team at Coronation Lodge is dedicated to creating an Eco-Friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing