We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coronation Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

There was 5 in our group and we had two rooms that joined. One room with a kitchenette which was perfect. If there was any thing that we needed in the cooking department, like a salad bowl, cling wrap, ect, the girls at the reseption were onto it. Our stay was 14 nights and we were so happy to have laundry facilities. We were close to everything when it came to getting to every activity we were involved in.
Our stay was very comfortable. The beds were nice and warm, the bathrooms were great with the warm floors and very clean and neat.
One thing I would like to pass on is to book your activities with the girls at the desk as there are some events that offer a savings when you do. This we found out after all 5 of us went paragliding. Had we booked the event at the desk we would have saved $25 each on the gonala ride to the top of the mountain.
But at the end of our stay at the Coronation Lodge the 5 of us rated our stay on average at 9.8 . Good going girls, keep up the great job.
The Caldwell's

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Melani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Caldwells

WOW! What a wonderful review from such a great family! It was our pleasure to have your wonderful family stay with us during your ski holiday. We really do strive to provide personalised service to all our guests and assist wherever we can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Over your 14 night stay you really did get to do many of the great activities Queenstown has to offer and I am glad that our location was convenient for accessing all your adventures!

Thank you for mentioning our tour booking service! We have established some great deals with local tour operators and we are glad we can offer some savings to our guests. We are all passionate about Queenstown so love sharing our local knowledge with our guests to help you make the most out of your time in Queenstown.

Would love to have you guys back again for another holiday! Maybe a summer break as Queenstown is sensational in Summer!

All the best
The Team @ Coronation Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    115
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
245
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We slept one light in a double room, and had a very good time. We had breakfast in the morning at the hotel and it was very good. The hotel is just a short walk from the city center, which is great. It is a quiet place, so we had a good night. It is a definitely a good place to sleep in Queenstown

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Coronation Lodge. I am glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast and had a peaceful night’s sleep. We hope that you can stay with us again if you come back to Queenstown.

The team @ Coronation Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in one of the larger rooms with a kitchenette. Had everything we needed. Rooms are very clean, warm and cosy with lovely wooden features. With just a short walk into the centre of Queenstown, this couldn't be more handy. Rooms were serviced daily and with discretion. Sleeping in wasn't a problem, which was great for us as we went for a relaxing break away from Christchurch. Enjoyed our stay here and will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Coronation Lodge and sharing your experience with people currently considering our lodge. “Home away from home” is what we really strive to be for our guest and we are so glad you felt Coronation Lodge was just like home during your three night stay. The Kitchenette Rooms we feel represent great value, as they are larger than our deluxe rooms, equipped with the basics for making light meals and guarantee a balcony. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again soon.

The team @ Coronation Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Short walk down a ramp into queenstown. Onsite parking, ski storage area, breakfast restaurant (reasonable price), large clean rooms with king bed and underfloor heating in the bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Our room had a view of the mountains and a balcony with chairs and table.

This hotel is a good price for what you get. It's a definite good 4 star hotel. It is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neckiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your terrific review of Coronation Lodge. We are delighted to read that you found us to be good value with friendly and helpful service. The under-floor heating in the bathrooms is very popular with our guests as is our central location. We hope that you are able to make it back to Coronation Lodge and Queenstown for another ski holiday next year with lots of snow ;)

Thanks again

The Team @ Coronation Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Coronation lodge was a fantastic place to stay in Queenstown! Close enough to town to walk very easily but also quiet at night. Not many rooms so the lodge is quiet and peaceful. The rooms are massive, clean and modern with big modern bathrooms. I am definitely staying here when I go to Queenstown next.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay at Coronation Lodge. We are pleased that you found the rooms spacious, clean and modern. We do our very best to maintain the lodge and keep it clean and modern so this is very much appreciated when noticed by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown and Coronation Lodge in the future.
Safe travels
The Team @ Coronation Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Coronation Lodge is like a little winter escape, with lovely decor and comfortable rooms. We loved the electric blankets and the wall heater, as it was very, very cold at night, which kept us pretty toasty. Didn't realise how thin the walls were until one of us walked out and heard the tv and some laughing inside - oops. We tried to keep our noise to a minimum after that. Breakfast, though not included, was good. I would have thought it was a tad overpriced until I saw the price of food at the 24 hours convenience store at the bottom of the hill - over $6 for 3 tomatoes, $13 for a pack of cubed cheese.. I guess that's just Queenstown. The only issue I had was with the bathroom window, which has a completely see-through blind. One night we left the light on and walked into the car park next door to find that our whole bathroom was visible from outside. We improvised by putting my coat over the window. Loved the bathroom floor heating though. Generally, a good visit, with lovely staff, and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unwelcomeguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay in Queenstown. The prices for some items are rather expensive in winter due to seasonality; I certainly notice a change in my grocery bill! Your stay must have been during the extreme cold snap the area experienced recently, I am glad the heating in the rooms kept you nice and toasty. I really appreciate the feedback about the bathroom blinds, this will have to be addressed and improved upon. We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are visiting Queenstown.
Warm regards
The Team @ Coronation Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place was a great little find. It's just a stones throw from the main shops, bars and restaurants yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The rooms are spacious and clean and the en suite spotless. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tribesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review recommending Coronation Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the Lodge as we do agree it is ideal for visiting Queenstown. I am glad that you found your room to be spotlessly clean during your stay. We certainly hope that you are able to visit Coronation Lodge and Queenstown again in the future.
Kindest regards
The Team @ Coronation Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Property: Coronation Lodge
Address: 10 Coronation Drive, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coronation Lodge is conveniently situated near the picturesque Queenstown Gardens, only a 2-minute walk to the heart of Queenstown. Whether you are visiting Queenstown for business or leisure, Coronation Lodge is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Recommended by Lonely Planet for Queenstown Accommodation. Our Lodge features: Free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select 50+ channels, breakfast dining room, natural wooden interior, ski lockers/drying room, guest laundry, free luggage storage and free covered parking.Our rooms feature: king bed or two single beds, private en-suite bathrooms with under-floor heating, 32" LCD T.V with 50+ Sky channels, double glazed windows, Free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, free plunger coffee and cookies, fresh milk, two of our rooms have kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing