We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS VIEW ONLY OUTDONE BY TOP-NOTCH SERVICE”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Philly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FABULOUS VIEW ONLY OUTDONE BY TOP-NOTCH SERVICE”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The location is perfect and the view from your comfortable bed is spectacular. This motel is a gem. The couple who own it are friendly and incredibly helpful!!!! They are knowledgeable about restaurants and activities in the area, and more than willing to help make reservations. The breakfast is a great value. Though the motel is small, it is cozy and frankly the best stay we had in 2 weeks in NZ. I cannot recommend it more highly for the kind of traveler looking for value, comfort and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    161
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
192
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My wife and I and her parents were in Queenstown for two nights and enjoyed the hospitality of this great motel. (We drove into town [2mins] but it would have been a downhill 10min walk, and 15 uphill walk home.)
We had a two bedroom apartment with a beautiful view of the lake and town (cnr unit).
Very comfortable, well heated, roomy unit, with full kitchen, modern (plain) bathroom, and very clean!
We saved alot of time and energy staying here, as we could have searched around for better and just wasted precious time. Its a one stop spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevagabondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived in the pouring rain and while Lynley booked us in her husband helped get the bags out of the car. Our room opened onto the balcony which looked out over the lake and we were able to see the snow fall on the mountains. Lynley helped us with all our tour bookings and advised us of any specials that were available. She even ran us up to the Gondola instead of us getting a taxi. The rooms were very clean and the bed very comfortable. The lodge is only a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre. The large heater in the room were great for getting the clothes dried on the airers they provided. Would recommend this lodge and would stay again if we returned to Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chook60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We have recently had a two night stay at Earnslaw Lodge. We were greeted by a very helpful receptionist with a very cute baby. We were shown to our rooms which were warm, inviting and extemely adaquate. The staff were more than helpful when asking about activities and local knowledge. We were unable to have a cooked breakfast as the chef was away on holiday but we were able to have a continental breakfast which was more than enough. It was a great place to chill and relax. Would reccomend Earnslaw Lodge to anyone needing accomodation and will be planning to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed here with my partner for two nights in Queenstown. The receptionist was very nice but she was the only person working there. We arrived to be told the chef was on holidays and there would be no hot breakfast in the morning. This was fine but when we went downstairs there was two half bowls of fruit, some cereal, eight slices of bread and two yogurts! We were up and downstairs at 7am therefore it was only just after being set up. Awful and $11 is a bit steep for a bowl of cereal! When we came back to our room at 12.30 it was not cleaned so we went down the town for some food as there was no food in the motel. It wasn't so much the cleaning that we needed but some fresh towels. There were only two towels and one hand towel. Bed was terrible and we the worst two nights sleep ever. My partner even defected to the small single bed on the first night but this was no better. No view from the room which opened onto a balcony. Room was very dark and is in a serious need of an updating! The only plus was the location which was about a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and the lady on reception was very helpful eventhough she was on her own. If this place was given a facelift and updated with new beds it would make such a difference. Will definitely not be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed here for 13 nights and had a brilliant time. The rooms were clean and big and importantly very warm with good size radiators. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful and always had time for a chat to see how my day had been. Would definately stay here again, great value and only 10mins walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Great little motel. Had a room overlooking the lake with the most spectacular views.
Comfy beds and clean rooms. Staff very helpful. Easy access to town centre.
Would recommend a ride on the Shotover Jet and also the Gondola. Worth booking dinner at the Gondola the buffet in the evening was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing