We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
194
180
43
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
194
180
43
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake facing shared balcony minute walk easy walk into town enjoyed our stay bus stop new zealand off street parking laundry room good size stay there again rooms are spacious milford sound stayed here for nights amazing views south island motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 439 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

A really great spot with some views looking out over the lake if you are lucky enough with your room.

Just a short walk (under 1km) into the heart of Queenstown so very convenient if you don’t have a car as well.

The rooms themselves were very comfortable and reasonable for the price you pay. I didn’t have too many interactions with the staff but were always kind and helpful in the few I did

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank brettc13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

If you are fortunate enough to book one of the user rooms with a view you will not be disappointed. We spent many hours out on the balcony enjoying a few beverages after a long day touring around the area. The lodge itself is quite dated and could use a few upgrades - new bedding and a couple of dressers for you to put your clothes away if you are in Queenstown for a while. Having a toaster, kettle and microwave certainly help to keep food costs down during your stay. They could provide a bit more cutlery, especially a knife to cut sandwiches etc. There was no sink in our kitchen area but the dirty dishes were replaced daily so it wasn't a problem. We did laundry while at the Earnslaw. There are two washes and only one working dryer. We brought tide tabs and dryer sheets with us. Parking is certainly convenient and much appreciated at the Lodge. Franklin Road is very busy so if you are coming from the other direction from the hotel you have to have patience while waiting to make the turn into the property. We didn't see much of the owners but there was a young man working the front desk and housekeeping. He was very friendly. The hotel was full during our stay but it was relatively quiet. It was very warm in the room every night and there is no air conditioning. A fan would be much appreciated to move the air as there wasn't much of a breeze during our stay. We did leave the windows open. We would have left the patio door open but the balcony doesn't have any separation from all of the other rooms and folks traveling together would be back and forth on the balcony if they didn't have connecting rooms and were are no screens. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Earnslaw. It's not luxurious but you are so busy touring around Queenstown you are not in your room much.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank MeltAwayExuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

Beautiful hotel/motel - right on the lake. Stayed two nights in two different rooms [only because we didn't pre-book - our fault!]. Both rooms looked out over the lake. Both were lofty, airy & spacious. Every need catered for. Lovely all round and would certainly recommend. Lovely walk along the lake into the town or beach. The owner couldn't have been more accommodating - being a late arrival helped to sort a trip to Milford Sounds the next day - brilliant! Hopefully will return.

Room tip: A room with a view - definitely
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

Friendly, courteous, very helpful staff. Great lake view room, clean bathroom with hot water shower, heater in room. Conveniently located near bus stop and tour pickup. Walking distance to town center.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ctcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Simple room that has everything you need including own bathroom. It is an older building. It's a shared balcony and the view is amazing over the lake and mountains, particularly sunrise. Friendly staff and off street parking available.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews