We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have just stayed here for a couple of nights. I had been a little concerned when I read some reviews about saggy beds but this was not the case. Great bed. Very comfortable. Friends were in another room and clearly some rooms had been updated and others not. Great views and plenty of space. Rooms are big and because of block walls between rooms very quiet.
Suggestions: bed side tables wouldn't go a miss by ALL beds not just some, some hooks on the back of doors are needed, power points needed by ALL beds so electric blankets can be plugged in, power point needed in bathroom for hair dryer, net curtains (or similar) in bedroom facing shared balcony is needed for privacy.
If the owners REALLY wanted to spend some money on upgrading this place, it would be great if something could be done so the balconies are not just one long walkway. If you are sleeping in a room facing the balcony, you can not feel safe leaving the window open more than a few millimetres at night, so there is not much air flow.
These are all small things that did affect the overall quality of my stay, just things for the owners to consider when revamping the place. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone on a budget wanting clean, comfortable and handyish to town. Cheaper than many Queenstown places.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobs60nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    161
    36
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
191
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only stayed here one night as we were just passing through Queenstown. The location was excellent, a bit of a walk to the city but a very short drive. The rooms were clean and spacious, the breakfast was satisfying and the owners were kind and helpful. The views from the Lakeview rooms were awesome, so we will stay in one of those next time! Great hotel, reasonable rate and friendly people. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter and a few days later my with stayed here with our other daughter before meeting up with me at the end of the Milford track. Great location for Airport, Town and Lake. Staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms large, clean and quite. Short walk into Town centre either via park or footpath.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brummie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night en route to Milford Sound last week.

We had the lakeview studio and the view was breathtaking :)
The room were clean and spacious and located within walking distance to town centre.

The owner were friendly and informative.
It was also the first time I checked in a hotel using an ipad :)
My only regret is that we stayed at this hotel for only 1 night

I now know why Earnslaw Lodge had a really good review on Trip Advisor !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Although hotel is not in town center, you can take bus just in front of hotel.it takes 5 mins from Hotel to town center by bus. Price is reasonable,nice and friendly staff. Will consider to visit earnslaw lodge next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Did stay at Earnslaw lodge during our Queenstown visit. Room was clean and tidy with comfortable queen bed. We also booked cooked breakfast to have hassle free morning. Eggs, bacon, tomatoes etc. all cooked well. Once we are back in Queenstown we are definitely going back to Earnslaw. I do recommend this place to stay in.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rene_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed three nights in a lake-facing studio and were overwhelmed by the view. The room was spacious and comfortable, but spartan. We expected this, as it was clear from the booking that little more than tea and coffee making facilities would be provided. However, Lynley and Phil were very accommodating in providing us with a microwave, crockery and cutlery when they became available. We were at Earnslaw Lodge for New Year's Eve. We were able to see the fireworks from the balcony, but without the fuss of going into town. We took advantage of the track along the shore of Lake Wakatipu to walk into town, and away from it. We would recommend staying at Earnslaw Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing