We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earnslaw Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arc De Queenstown(Queenstown)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autoline Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amity Lodge Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
181
173
38
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
173
38
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake facingshared balconytown centreminute walkno liftmilford trackbig roombit datedbus stopsuperb viewsnew zealandstay there againgood sizelaundry roomtop flooroff street parkingmilford sound
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 414 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Four of us stayed 2 nights here and felt it does not rate as five star (as rated by other reviewers). The views are amazing and the place is clean although very dated. There is no free internet which is unusual for most places these days, one bed was under a draughty window, the shower had no pressure, only enough tea bags for one cup each day, no toilet soap on arrival and the rooms were not well serviced (eg: beds just pulled up and washed cups just left to dry on bench).

Room Tip: Get a view of the Lake!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waikanaewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest thanks for your comments - we are pleased you alerted us to the draughty window.As we would not want our guests to feel uncomfortable during their stay, so will get maintenance to check it

With regards
Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and the Missus came over to Queenstown to get married in the beautiful scenery and decided to choose a place that is homely.
We definetly chose the right place, The room was massive with a queen and single bed, kitchenette and ensuite, The view from the balcony was amazing. We traveled in winter and our room was pre-heated before our arrival, where we comfortably setttled in.
Lynley and Phil were the greatest help all the time, they would go out of their way to assist us in everything, they even offered to drive us on our wedding day.
They booked us on all our ski trips and adventure activities and always provided us with updates on the weather, ski fields etc.
The earnslaw lodge is in a really goo location, just 5 mins walking to the city, even in winter we decided to walk in most times,
I will definetly stay there again and i would recommend the earnslaw lodge as a friendly homely place to enjoy QT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganDwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for the comments. We are glad that we could help with your stay and to make that special day even more special. All the very best for the years ahead. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Lynley and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Lodge offers excellent accomodation in a terrific position in Queenstown.
Owners are both friendly and accommodating and are most easy to get to know and their assistance, even to Australians, could not be bettered.My only "complaint " is that I would like to see more power outlets in the rooms.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment which was very roomy, quiet, and would sleep five people if needed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronaldthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Ron

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the motel. We have a small team of staff at the motel and are always keen to go that extra mile(even if they are Australian). I have taken on board with regards to the power outlets. Hope you had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been to many places and i have to say the two owners of this hotel provided us with the best service we have ever had!
The day we arrived we told them which activities we wanted to do on what days and they booked all of them commision free.
The buses for the ski resorts stop right outside the front which was also another benefit!
I'm a strong believer of its the people you meet that make your holidays and these two owners definitely made mine!
They even dropped us off at the airport when we were going home!
Most helpful people i have ever come across!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajanelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Laura.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. stay. We are only to happy to offer good kiwi hospitality.

Kind Regards
Lynley & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This motel is clean and comfortable, the lakeview rooms are basic but the views make up for it all. Its on the main road, you can catch a bus to the city or the airport or you can walk into the city if you want to stretch your legs. The balcony was shared with all the other rooms, the views over the lake are stunning, whatever time of day you look out the window. We hardly saw anyone else around, not even the receptionist! It was a perfectly adequate motel for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views of the lake and mountains from your room. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays

Kind Regards Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews