We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service, Best View, Clean and comfortable "Queenstowns Best"”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and the Missus came over to Queenstown to get married in the beautiful scenery and decided to choose a place that is homely.
We definetly chose the right place, The room was massive with a queen and single bed, kitchenette and ensuite, The view from the balcony was amazing. We traveled in winter and our room was pre-heated before our arrival, where we comfortably setttled in.
Lynley and Phil were the greatest help all the time, they would go out of their way to assist us in everything, they even offered to drive us on our wedding day.
They booked us on all our ski trips and adventure activities and always provided us with updates on the weather, ski fields etc.
The earnslaw lodge is in a really goo location, just 5 mins walking to the city, even in winter we decided to walk in most times,
I will definetly stay there again and i would recommend the earnslaw lodge as a friendly homely place to enjoy QT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganDwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for the comments. We are glad that we could help with your stay and to make that special day even more special. All the very best for the years ahead. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Lynley and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Earnslaw Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 391 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Lodge offers excellent accomodation in a terrific position in Queenstown.
Owners are both friendly and accommodating and are most easy to get to know and their assistance, even to Australians, could not be bettered.My only "complaint " is that I would like to see more power outlets in the rooms.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment which was very roomy, quiet, and would sleep five people if needed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronaldthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Ron

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the motel. We have a small team of staff at the motel and are always keen to go that extra mile(even if they are Australian). I have taken on board with regards to the power outlets. Hope you had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been to many places and i have to say the two owners of this hotel provided us with the best service we have ever had!
The day we arrived we told them which activities we wanted to do on what days and they booked all of them commision free.
The buses for the ski resorts stop right outside the front which was also another benefit!
I'm a strong believer of its the people you meet that make your holidays and these two owners definitely made mine!
They even dropped us off at the airport when we were going home!
Most helpful people i have ever come across!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajanelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Laura.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. stay. We are only to happy to offer good kiwi hospitality.

Kind Regards
Lynley & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This motel is clean and comfortable, the lakeview rooms are basic but the views make up for it all. Its on the main road, you can catch a bus to the city or the airport or you can walk into the city if you want to stretch your legs. The balcony was shared with all the other rooms, the views over the lake are stunning, whatever time of day you look out the window. We hardly saw anyone else around, not even the receptionist! It was a perfectly adequate motel for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views of the lake and mountains from your room. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays

Kind Regards Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was clean. No frills. If you are looking for clean room at an affordable price, this may meet your needs.I got what I was promised, unlike my motel stay at Te Anau (Edge water Motel).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Manager at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for the review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wanted room on higher floor to enjoy great views of Mountains and Lake , but also wanted kitchen facilities which are only on ground floor, other rooms have fridge and microwave.

Huge room, 1 Queen + 1 single bed. Hob but no oven/grill. Fine for our needs.
Hotel a bit tired looking but in good location, 5 minute walk into centre, longer uphill climb home!!
Clean and comfortable.
Small restaurant for breakfast and bar.
Friendly and helpful receptionist.
Would recommend for location and views.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views but ground floor ones also good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClioPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a motel situated on a main road with the back overlooking Lake Wakatipu. We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed in. I had paid a bit extra for a lake facing room and was ready glad I had. The view is stunning as you don’t just see the lake – there is a golf course on a spit of land in the lake which is very green with a lot of trees, then there is of course the lake, plus the mountains in the background.

This is an old style motel and although the room itself is reasonably spacious, the walls of the room are just breeze blocks painted white and quite spartan in appearance. It was simply furnished with a queen sized bed, a single bed plus flat screen TV, fridge, tea-making facilities, 2 small armchairs and a coffee table. There is a shared balcony which extends across the back of the building. (My husband was not keen on this as people were walking by our window/patio door and there was no net curtain for privacy.) Each room has their own table and chairs to sit on the balcony and gaze at the wonderful view.

Minor niggles are – no hooks in ensuite to hang up clothes and the towels are on the small side, in fact the hand towels were really very large flannels. The room was adequately clean.

Breakfast is available and we had the full cooked breakfast which was good value for money, however I was not impressed that there is a charge for wifi – one of the few accommodations we stayed in New Zealand that didn’t even offer 30 minutes free.

It is about 900 metres into town – just under 10 minutes walk

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $95 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing