We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“best service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been to many places and i have to say the two owners of this hotel provided us with the best service we have ever had!
The day we arrived we told them which activities we wanted to do on what days and they booked all of them commision free.
The buses for the ski resorts stop right outside the front which was also another benefit!
I'm a strong believer of its the people you meet that make your holidays and these two owners definitely made mine!
They even dropped us off at the airport when we were going home!
Most helpful people i have ever come across!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajanelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Laura.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. stay. We are only to happy to offer good kiwi hospitality.

Kind Regards
Lynley & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    140
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
79
170
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This motel is clean and comfortable, the lakeview rooms are basic but the views make up for it all. Its on the main road, you can catch a bus to the city or the airport or you can walk into the city if you want to stretch your legs. The balcony was shared with all the other rooms, the views over the lake are stunning, whatever time of day you look out the window. We hardly saw anyone else around, not even the receptionist! It was a perfectly adequate motel for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catfow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views of the lake and mountains from your room. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays

Kind Regards Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was clean. No frills. If you are looking for clean room at an affordable price, this may meet your needs.I got what I was promised, unlike my motel stay at Te Anau (Edge water Motel).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Manager at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for the review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wanted room on higher floor to enjoy great views of Mountains and Lake , but also wanted kitchen facilities which are only on ground floor, other rooms have fridge and microwave.

Huge room, 1 Queen + 1 single bed. Hob but no oven/grill. Fine for our needs.
Hotel a bit tired looking but in good location, 5 minute walk into centre, longer uphill climb home!!
Clean and comfortable.
Small restaurant for breakfast and bar.
Friendly and helpful receptionist.
Would recommend for location and views.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views but ground floor ones also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClioPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a motel situated on a main road with the back overlooking Lake Wakatipu. We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed in. I had paid a bit extra for a lake facing room and was ready glad I had. The view is stunning as you don’t just see the lake – there is a golf course on a spit of land in the lake which is very green with a lot of trees, then there is of course the lake, plus the mountains in the background.

This is an old style motel and although the room itself is reasonably spacious, the walls of the room are just breeze blocks painted white and quite spartan in appearance. It was simply furnished with a queen sized bed, a single bed plus flat screen TV, fridge, tea-making facilities, 2 small armchairs and a coffee table. There is a shared balcony which extends across the back of the building. (My husband was not keen on this as people were walking by our window/patio door and there was no net curtain for privacy.) Each room has their own table and chairs to sit on the balcony and gaze at the wonderful view.

Minor niggles are – no hooks in ensuite to hang up clothes and the towels are on the small side, in fact the hand towels were really very large flannels. The room was adequately clean.

Breakfast is available and we had the full cooked breakfast which was good value for money, however I was not impressed that there is a charge for wifi – one of the few accommodations we stayed in New Zealand that didn’t even offer 30 minutes free.

It is about 900 metres into town – just under 10 minutes walk

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not like most reviews we read. Our shower had a urine odor with trickling water, beds are old with sinking mattresses that make you itch for a month (bed bugs), if you dial 800 numbers from the room they charge you a dollar per minute, breakfast is stale cereal for a hefty price, the managers are an old demented couple that smile all the time but nickle & dime you for everything you got. If can stay somewhere else please do. The only positive is if you get a room facing the lake (nice views)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parmy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Director of Sales at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Tha you for taking the time to log a review after staying with us recently. We are sorry that you where disappointed with some aspects of the motel. With regards to your comment on the beds we have since requested feedback from the next two guest we had booked "your" room and both where happy - with no sign of bed bugs anywhere.
We fail to see how you can comment on our breakfast when you didn't experience it. The comment about the Management are a personal attack, and are not warranted or constructive. Age is not reflective of capability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in a Lakeview Room. The view from our balcony of Lake Wakatipu was stunning. Especially during sunrise and sunset.

The hosts were really friendly and helpful. They organized tours for all the different types of things we wanted to do in Queenstown and suggested some others which were also great.

We never had any of our meals here so I cant comment about the food. It is located quite close to the city center which has a lot of fabulous restaurants.

The room however was not that great. It had a bit of a run-down feel. The bed wasn't very comfortable either.

If you would like a reasonably priced place close to the city center, then I guess the place is ok. But you could find a more comfortable place to stay in Queenstown for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#17 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Our house bar is open from 4pm each day offering amazing views and great value drinks for our in-house guests. Lynley and Phillip are your hosts and they have years of experience in the motel industry in Queenstown, ensuring your looked after and able to make the most of your stay at Earnslaw Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing