We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earnslaw Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$151
$144
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$245
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$148
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$844
$802
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
183
174
39
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
174
39
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake facingshared balconytown centreminute walkmilford trackno liftbig roombit datednew zealandbus stopsuperb viewsstay there againrooms are spaciousgood sizelaundry roomtop flooroff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 418 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This motel is clean and comfortable, the lakeview rooms are basic but the views make up for it all. Its on the main road, you can catch a bus to the city or the airport or you can walk into the city if you want to stretch your legs. The balcony was shared with all the other rooms, the views over the lake are stunning, whatever time of day you look out the window. We hardly saw anyone else around, not even the receptionist! It was a perfectly adequate motel for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views of the lake and mountains from your room. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays

Kind Regards Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was clean. No frills. If you are looking for clean room at an affordable price, this may meet your needs.I got what I was promised, unlike my motel stay at Te Anau (Edge water Motel).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Manager at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for the review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wanted room on higher floor to enjoy great views of Mountains and Lake , but also wanted kitchen facilities which are only on ground floor, other rooms have fridge and microwave.

Huge room, 1 Queen + 1 single bed. Hob but no oven/grill. Fine for our needs.
Hotel a bit tired looking but in good location, 5 minute walk into centre, longer uphill climb home!!
Clean and comfortable.
Small restaurant for breakfast and bar.
Friendly and helpful receptionist.
Would recommend for location and views.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views but ground floor ones also good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClioPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a motel situated on a main road with the back overlooking Lake Wakatipu. We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed in. I had paid a bit extra for a lake facing room and was ready glad I had. The view is stunning as you don’t just see the lake – there is a golf course on a spit of land in the lake which is very green with a lot of trees, then there is of course the lake, plus the mountains in the background.

This is an old style motel and although the room itself is reasonably spacious, the walls of the room are just breeze blocks painted white and quite spartan in appearance. It was simply furnished with a queen sized bed, a single bed plus flat screen TV, fridge, tea-making facilities, 2 small armchairs and a coffee table. There is a shared balcony which extends across the back of the building. (My husband was not keen on this as people were walking by our window/patio door and there was no net curtain for privacy.) Each room has their own table and chairs to sit on the balcony and gaze at the wonderful view.

Minor niggles are – no hooks in ensuite to hang up clothes and the towels are on the small side, in fact the hand towels were really very large flannels. The room was adequately clean.

Breakfast is available and we had the full cooked breakfast which was good value for money, however I was not impressed that there is a charge for wifi – one of the few accommodations we stayed in New Zealand that didn’t even offer 30 minutes free.

It is about 900 metres into town – just under 10 minutes walk

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrumatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not like most reviews we read. Our shower had a urine odor with trickling water, beds are old with sinking mattresses that make you itch for a month (bed bugs), if you dial 800 numbers from the room they charge you a dollar per minute, breakfast is stale cereal for a hefty price, the managers are an old demented couple that smile all the time but nickle & dime you for everything you got. If can stay somewhere else please do. The only positive is if you get a room facing the lake (nice views)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Parmy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Director of Sales at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Guest
Tha you for taking the time to log a review after staying with us recently. We are sorry that you where disappointed with some aspects of the motel. With regards to your comment on the beds we have since requested feedback from the next two guest we had booked "your" room and both where happy - with no sign of bed bugs anywhere.
We fail to see how you can comment on our breakfast when you didn't experience it. The comment about the Management are a personal attack, and are not warranted or constructive. Age is not reflective of capability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews