We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earnslaw Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$192
$184
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$175
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$236
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$304
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$180
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$247
$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$187
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$868
$827
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
183
174
39
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
174
39
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake facingshared balconytown centreminute walkmilford trackno liftbig roombit datednew zealandbus stopsuperb viewsstay there againrooms are spaciousgood sizelaundry roomtop flooroff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 418 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Two nights here and an ideal base for our trip to Milford Sound and excursions locally. Just about the right distance from town and with a lake view stunning. Any trips book through the hosts they get you a good price and were full of useful information. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast worth the expense. All in all good value for money

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the road it does get busy
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitalruggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Earnslaw Lodge has fantastic views over Lake Wakatipu at the mouth of the Frankton arm. The rooms are spacious but beginning to need a bit of upgrading. It is a convenient 10 minute walk into town and all the facilities. You can park your car. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We would suggest making your own breakfast rather than eating the in house continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeside room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to new Zealand and visited many cities, hence many hotels/motels. this place was the worse one...let me explain: the room smelled, it's so old! the bed is like 40 years old and sinks you in! The bathroom smelled like vomit and the towels we threw on the floor to be changed were just put back on the rack for us to reuse! the bathroom seriously does not get cleaned. Every other hotel had some free or all free wifi..this one was not free of course. They wanted $7 for a continental breakfast which was some old cereal and a small yogurt and some old canned fruit. Every hotel we went to had free 1-800 number calling from their phone and so we assumed that like every country 800 numbers are free...and in fact other cities in new Zealand do have it for free...this hotel charged us $40 for the 800 numbers we dialed!!! We had like 2 very small bars of soap to use, the carpets are so old and stale...I could go on. their TV in our room was broken by the way and the front desk even told us that when we got their and did not do anything about it! The security of the hotel is terrible, they give the guests a key to the front door to the hotel which also opens your room!!! So that means everyones key is the same so someone can open your room. and this place is expensive! With all this stuff!!! The hosts seem nice at the start but they will charge you for every single little thing and they dont care. If queens town was all booked, we would have rather stayed at a youth hostel...it would have been better. Trust me, we dont require much, but this was so not worth the money!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeners M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here in early February 2012 for 4 nights.
The room unfortunately was not facing the lake, but it was quite large with 2 beds.
The bathroom was also a good size.
This is not too far from town, a brisk walk along the main road.
We were staying on a room only basis but did have a full breakfast on 2 occasions and it
was well worth it instead of eating in Queenstown. It was nice to have hot food cooked especially for you rather than eating from a buffet.
Found Lyn to be very friendly and willing to help with any bookings you needed.

Room Tip: Request a full breakfast, certainly worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February, for our wedding anniversary and to visit family. The lake facing rooms have an amazing view of the lake which is completely unimpeded by other buildings or trees. We had a lake facing studio. The studio room was large and comortable and very clean with a nice bathroom. We also had a veranda with a seat outside our french doors. The motel is an older style building.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and were always keen to find out what you had done the previous day, which was nice. Breakfast was quite good with three options available, quick bite, continental and cooked.

I would definitely stay here again. It was reasonably priced, clean, not too far from Queenstown for those that do not find a 15 min walk and in a quiet suburban location.. There is no lift though, so if you can't climb stairs this is not the place for you. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have an amazing view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews