We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable! (pardon the pun)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Remarkable! (pardon the pun)”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

From beginning to end the service was outstanding. This hotel takes care of everything for you and you feel really well looked after. The room was impeccable with heated bathroom floors, spa bath, lovely shampoos, expresso coffee machine, and an amazing view of the remarkables from the window. Breakfast was parisian inspired so limited compared to other sofitels i've stayed at but suitable however with really yummy fruit smoothies, brioche and belgian waffles. Even when we had checked out the concierge offered tea and coffee while waiting for a taxi. Really special stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bonjour Jerss,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    283
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
228
933
60
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this property! The location is superb, you can't get much better and the view we had from our room of the lake, town and mountains was stunning! All staff were great but Weonsuk (reservations) Lorenzo and Jamie (F&B) made our stay that extra bit special by taking an interest in us and having a conversation with us the three days we were there. Thank you for a wonderful welcome and stay in beautiful Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvynandnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bonjour ChristchurchTiadog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities and location of our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days as it was our 1st visit to Queenstown and wanted to be somewhere within walking distance to all eating places etc. Have stayed at Sofitel in Auckland so knew the "high quality" of the Sofitel hotels.
One of the deciding factors for us being Winter was the large spa bath to warm up in!
Right from our arrival the service, friendliness, quality of rooms, and ambience was exemplary, you could be in any European high class hotel as all staff are foreign and have that X factor making you feel like YOU are SPECIAL and nothing is an effort for them. It didn't matter when it was during the day/evening you were ALWAYS greeted with a "Bonjour" or similar greeting.
The car parking and having your car ready whenever you needed it superb.
If you want to go away, DREAM you're in another country surrounded by the STUNNING vista of Queenstown, and feel SPECIAL with warmth both emotionally and physically this is the place to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bonjour ElsaMiro,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Comfortable rooms, warm and friendly service. Delicious pastries in the cafe. The heated floors and spa bath were fantastic to come back to after a day in the cold.
Location is ideal - two minute walk from top restaurants. Look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bonjour Cameron S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the service provided by our Ambassadors and the facilities of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved this hotel.It is well located and is a perfect base for skiing all mountains in the area.The staff are what makes it stand out from other hotels we have stayed at in Queenstown. From arrival to departure the service was impeccable.The ski valet service was my husband's favourite!! You simply drive up to the front of the hotel and your skis and boots are taken care of and your inside the confines of the very cosy hotel in minutes. Bravo to Simon and the other concierges for a job well done.Oh and can't not mention Lorenzo who also did an excellent job looking after us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyanddaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bonjour Poppyanddaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that our friendly Ambassadors were able to quickly respond to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Everything the last 2 reviewers have said and more. If you are skiing - can't get a better location.
Rooms are very comfortable, the service is excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Oh and the steam room in the day spa- ''the hamman' what a glorious way to warm up after a day skiing. (complimentary to hotel guests.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bonjour Redmoor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you had a relaxing & comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing